We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October 2013 weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Boston Hotel
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“October 2013 weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our first visit to The Boston hotel was a pleasant surprise. Having stayed in a variety of hotels in Blackpool some years ago we had come to expect tiny rooms, grubby wall coverings and indifferent staff - well the Boston has none of these. Our room was (recently) decorated in a modern style with a very nicely finished en suite shower room. The lounge and dining rooms were very clean and attractive. The dining room was bright and very smart even though the tables were close together (by necessity). The food was of excellent quality with a small, but reasonably number of choices. The staff were possibly the most friendly and efficient we have ever come across in any of the many hotels we have stayed in - and helpful with a smile too (even from the manager). As a bonus the evening entertainment reached a standard we had no right to expect in this size of hotel. The included bus and tram pass was well used and meant that we had no difficulty with the hotel being a little further from the town centre than some ( a tram stop right outside ). A (very) small lift does the job in helping more elderly guests transport their luggage to higher floors. The only improvement we could mention would be the inclusion of a plywood sheet beneath the bedroom carpet to solve the creaking floorboard problem. All in all - if you want a good value stay with good food, pleasant staff in a clean hotel you could not go wring with The Boston. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Cooperstours

The team would like to thank you for submitting such a wonderful and informative review of you recent stay with us at The Boston Hotel. ( Even the manager) :-)

Your kind words truly are appreciated

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    229
    55
    10
    17
See reviews for
248
276
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

we stayed at The Boston Hotel 25th October for a 4 day break. Myself or husband had not been to Blackpool since we were very young so both excited and apprehensive about going as our opinions were made from those on the television, so we were very pleasantly surprised with our stay at The Boston Hotel.
The location of the hotel is on the promenade but furthest away from the pleasure beach this made it a quieter area, but with a tram and bus stop outside it was a perfect location for us.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with the evening entertainment being of ex ellent qualoity the singers were amazing! and bingo was a must every night, although I never won!
The only thing to let our stay down was the room, although recently decorated the shower and sink plugs were faulty no safety mat was provided in bathroom and the towels were not changed. The light in the wardrobe was missing and the kettle didn't stay on without being held. I would have liked the cutlery washing or replacing daily and the bed made.
The other problem was the heat at the hotel it became unbearable at times and made me feel unwell at times.
The food was lovely although did run out of desert one evening and husband got different amount of breakfast each day. On arrival we were shown our table for dining it wasn't a table for 2 but a table for 10! I asked to be moved but told couldn't I wasn't happy but luckily this turned out well as the people we were with turned it into an enjoyable, social event.
On departure we were due to be picked up from the coach station and the manager arranged a lift to take us which was very nice.
we will definitely be visiting Blackpool again but cant guarantee this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laura2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear laura2407

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

It was nice to hear that you have left Blackpool with a much more positive view of the town as it really does have a lot to offer with some world class attractions.

The latest to be unveiled is a stunning multi-million pound indoor illuminations spectacular which is set for the Winter Gardens complex.

The “world class” attraction, which will see a huge lights show staged over five floors inside the Olympia Arena from next year, will be the first of its kind anywhere in Europe.

Laura, we do wish you had reported any problems you found at the time of your stay as all could have been resolved within a few minutes but not reported.

We where pleased your seating arrangement in the dinning room turned into a positive one and that you enjoyed the food.

We do hope you will return and wish you well.

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Went as a couple with sister and her husband, Had a great weekend once again, great hotel, friendly helpfull efficient staff, good food, cleaning staff also do great job, hotel is kept clean and tidy at all times, nothings too much bother for staff, great location away from the hustle n bustle, great transport service from hotel and back again, cant wait for next visit :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holibag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Holibag

The Team was pleased to hear you find the service consistent.

Our housekeeping team really do appreciate your kind comments as they work tirelessly to insure the cleanliness of the hotel is kept to a high standard at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bathroom fitting loose -toilet holder, glassholder,behind toilet tiles not sealed poor workmanship' broken caster on bed next window,desk in formed, no action taken.It was still a good break, we will be back.

Room Tip: depends on when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charles193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
charles193

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear you will return and apologize for the delay with the broken caster.

Look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo ontario canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I visited the Boston hotel in October of this year primarily to see the famous Blackpool Illuminations. The hotel is situated right on the promenade with easy access to transportation. The hotel itself is older as are most hotels in Blackpool? The rooms were very clean and well equipped. the maid service was prompt. The food was excellent with plenty of choices for each palate even a vegetarian option each evening. The entertainment was good with lots of songs and jokes. What really makes this,hotel is the staff with a special mention about Lisa the barmaid who went above and beyond making us feel very welcome. She even performed a dance routine one night .I would recommend this hotel to families with small children and older adults as it is situated in the quieter end of the promenade and does not have a pool. All in all a nice place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayfield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Bayfield7

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Boston Hotel on TripAdvisor

The team was so pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including Lisa's dance routine and that you found them all to be friendly and helpful.

We hope you return again soon!

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel with my mum sister daughter (5yr old) and my son (1yr old). On arrival the staff were very welcoming and were very polite and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was very clean n tidy also the public areas in hotel were clean to. All the waiting staff in the dining room were friendly and helpful to. Having 2young children with me I didn't want to be out to late at night so we came back for the entertainment which was good to. The only thing was the location of the hotel it is located away from the tower and pleasure beach etc however there are trams into town and taxis are reasonable. The hotel location suited me as my kids could get a good night sleep away from al the noise of people out on the town and being drunk. As a whole i couldnt fault the hotel itself but if i was to complain about something id say the lift was an issue as it only holds 2 people and i was struggling for me and my pram to fit in the lift. This hotel would be most suited to families, couples and older travellers, wouldn't recommend to stag, hen, or young groups of adults.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane dickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear diane dickie

Many thanks for posting a review of of your recent stay, your comments truly are appreciated.

We where sorry to hear that you struggled with the pram in the lift, especially when we have an allocated storage area in the hotel reception for prams, wheelchairs etc..

Please except our sincere apologies as you should have been informed on check in.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel which has been refurbished since our last visit. Bar area & reception are spacious and modern. Rooms have been redecorated and en suites refurbished. Some rooms are quite small, but are clean, with tea & coffee making facilities. Rooms are cleaned every day, but towels are only changed on a Friday & Monday, so bear this in mind. The meals were excellent, with a nice choice for breakfast and dinner. No complaints about the food. Entertainment was good, with a couple of singers/comedians on every night, as well as bingo. Tram passes are available at reception for a £10 each person refundable deposit and are invaluable, as the hotel is in the quieter north side of the resort. They can also be used on the local buses.
All staff were very friendly, helpful and are a credit to the hotel. Only one small complaint was the heat in the hotel! I realise it was October, but it was mild and the bar area & restaurant were quite uncomfortable after a while. A lot of people commented on this, and even the non smokers were going outside to cool down! Maybe just turn it down a bit, please? All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ann008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonManager, Manager at The Royal Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear ann008

Many thank for taking the time to post such a detailed review,this will help others plan their holiday at The Boston.

For the time being we have kept the heating on but turned down the radiators on the ground floor which still allows all our guests to control the heating in the rooms with the radiator thermostat.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Best Wishes

The Boston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Boston Hotel

Property: The Royal Boston Hotel
Address: 34 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Boston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool, is located on the Queens Promenade North Shore. This Blackpool hotel is well known for great food, great entertainment and for it's quality accommodation. Trams and bus stops are only a few steps away so you will have no problems reaching other parts of this great resort. The Royal Boston hotel has friendly staff who always go that extra mile to ensure your holiday stay will be something you will remember. The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool has top class entertainment each evening with Bingo, Disco's and Karaoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing