We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but breakfast was disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Ranked #343 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location but breakfast was disgusting”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel was in a great location, close to all local gay bars and Funny Girls. Bar area was nice, lively and clean. Friendly bar staff on arrival. Very disappointed with breakfast. On check out we were asked how was our stay by what looked like the manager. We told him the room was fine but breakfast was disgusting, very cheap produce used, before we could even finish our sentence he jumped on the defence. I will not be returning to this hotel and I would recommend that if you do stay here, plan to go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy that you found my accommodation acceptable to your very high standards except for breakfast which had cheap produce. Firstly you spoke to me on checkout, I had a full bar with guests that had been in the hotel for three days, you came up to me whilst I was holding a broom too clear up the broken glasses you dropped on the floor whilst carrying your clothes, your shoes and everything else you had with you, lets tell the people reading this that you did not have a suitcase or handbag or even a shopping bag to put your own quality clothes in. Back to the glasses that you shatterred over the floor I was trying to avoid anyone causing injury to them selves and I have you who couldn't even be bothered to apologise or wait until I had finished clearing your mess up telling me breakfast was poor and would I eat it, before waddling out with your I would say bags but you didn't have any, you walked out with your clobber over your shoulder.

So now that I have time to respond to you here is my reply to your questions, would I eat breakfast here. Look at me I am about one to two stone over weight depending on who you ask of course, and I am over weight because I EAT THE BREAKFAST everyday. second question you use cheap Black Pudding really, I'll inform Bury Black Pudding Company probably the best in the country that you think their product has no taste, I'm sure they'll be bothered. I'll also inform you that we recently retained our star rating from Visit England who ate the breakfast and we were given good grades for the quality of the breakfast.

So when you try to review a property remember the owners of the property will probably review you. My review to you is wouldn't have those two with back here ever, perhaps look into purchasing luggage not cheap mind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    79
    21
    9
    31
See reviews for
14
143
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here with 5 friends for a night out at Funny Girls. We all had a great time, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are exceptionally clean. All three rooms were spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and drawers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had a great few days at mardi gras 1 and 2 rooms were very clean and was very spacious too! The staff were very friendly and helpful and Luke was a star and very helpful. Shame we never tried the breakfast as we were to hung over to get up lol!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great place would highly recommend excellent all round place for all . Great location within walking distance to good night clubs and bars. Very friendly staff and very clean. Thanks for a great stay. room was clean beds ok and good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenanthonytonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for two nights and loved it! The staff were very kind, especially LUKE behind the bar! The rooms were very clean and spacious and the breakfast was good too. The location is good too, only a 5 minute walk to the town. Definitely recommend it here it is a lovely hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica94walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Manager at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in September. It was lovely and clean.We had room 107 which was for 3 people, it was a fantastic size of room. The bed was really comfortable and it was a full sized wardrope and 2 sets of 4 drawers for our clothes.
The lounge area is very modern and clean and gloria meets all guests and makes them feel welcome.
The bar staff are very friendly, and helpful. All the staff make you feel welcome and relaxed. Breakfast was well executed and everything that you need is there. Its only a couple of minutes from most bars and clubs.
Would definitely stay here again, its a gem of a B&B

Room Tip: Room 107 was at front of B&B and a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzisiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My friend and i booked this place because of the low price and didn,t expect much but what a lovely surprise we got. The staff are all so lovely so i was very much at ease (not gays) rooms spotless and a really good full english breakfast. Would certainly recommend anyone who is looking for great place at cheap prices to stay here.Thanks to all xx

Room Tip: 2 mins from train station and short stroll to town centre. Smoking rooms are top floor as u would ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathysteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Scala Hotel
#314 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#458 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#17 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#465 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peerless Hotel
The Peerless Hotel
#592 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation

Property: Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Address: 41-43 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the largest gay run accommodation providers in Blackpool. We cater for the individual guests and groups numbering up to fifty plus. All of our rooms are en-suite and spacious and we offer smoking and non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately our hotel does not accept children under the age of 16. The Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation is situated in the heart of the gay scene of Blackpool, and less than a 100 metres to the night life of Blackpool’s gay complex of Funny Girls, Funny Girls 2, The Flying Handbag, Flamingo’s, Buzz, Kaos, Lucy's @ Tabago, and the Mardi Gras Nightclub. We are literally two minutes walk from the town centre for your shopping trips, and just a short tram ride to the fun of the Pleasure Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Guest Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing