We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Albans Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
St. Chads Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lyndene Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Colonial Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Queens Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
75
33
8
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
33
8
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoastsea viewfriendly ownersb bfull englishmy partnergreat hostsbit datedwell stocked barsee you soonfeel so welcomeset us up for the dayparking spacedown to earthbreakfast was amazingbrilliant locationwarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked into the st albans for 2 nights,28th and 29th of october 2011,we were welcomed by carole and all seemed well,went up to our room which was just a bit bigger than a matchbox and not very clean,my partner pulled sheets back and found hairs on the bedding,on the 2nd night we were moved to another room which was smaller than the previous one if that could be possible and it still wasnt very clean though luckily there wernt any hairs to join us in bed that night.In the evening after a lovely day at blackpool we returned to hotel ,got ourselves ready and joined allen and carole in the bar for drinks and cards,later that evening allen and his brother phil had arguement about football and had a fight right there in front of us,both coming away with there glasses broken,feeling slightly uncomfortable we went outside and after nearly an hour of more arguing we went up to our room.Next morning at breakfast we didnt even recieve an apology,infact the only time i was spoken to was at 9.30 am asking me to remove my car off the car park..would i recommend this hotel??no,never!!!

Room Tip: heres our tip..find another b&b
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

These guests were shown the room prior to booking in, and were told the room was quite small but was still very happy to take the only room available.As for hairs in the bed this is a complete lie and to say the room was not clean an insult to me and my staff .Im sure our other reveiws will show this.As for the fight night do they not know the difference between fighting and banter.I had a coach of older people that have come back every yearfor nine years and they have rebooked the same weekend next year and I think this explains their over exageration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been coming to St albans for as long as Carole and Allen have owned it and now see them as friends. Brilliant value for money and food is absolutely fantastic. Kids love coming and we look forward to it yr after yr. Situated just below central pier you have a tram stop and bus stop outside and it's not too much of a walk up to the tower etc. We sleep well and the hospitality is second to none. Carole, Allen, Phil can't do enough for you. There is a free car park and considering what you would have to pay to park elsewhere and the security of your car this makes the hotel more of a pearler. We visited as a group of 8 adults and 6 kids this yr. I even brought the mother in law this yr who is quite particular so surely this means you can't go wrong staying in this brilliant cosy family run hotel. We will see them next yr!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Fancied spending some time in Blackpool with friends, so the four of us booked in this Hotel, as my wife andI had stayed there several years ago. What a pleasant surprise we had on arrival. The owners made us feel at home straight away. We wre given our rooms which were simply, yet well furnished and spotlessly clean and pleasant to be in. A little small--yes, but in Blackpool that is the norm. We found out quickly that the owners went "the extra mile" for all the guests willingly,pleasantly and with a smile for everyone.
The ambience here has to felt, as words do not do it justice. As for the breakfast--it has to be one of the best in town. Almost impossible to stand up after it.
Surprisingly the Bar prices here compete very favourably with those in the pubs, and they are quite well stocked.
Overall a lovely stay with nice people. Would I suggest that you try it?--if you want "snob value"--no. If you want good honest value in a lovely little Hotel, then please form an orderly queue. I will certainly be going again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckmanBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for this lovely reveiw ,see you next time regards Allen &Carole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I don't return to many Hotels year after year but Carol and Alan are the perfect host and make you welcome from the minute you step out of your car! The bedrooms are spotless and very comfortable with a good shower! As for the breakfasts they are simply fantastic as you get to choose what you want and they are always Hot! The atmosphere is also great, made loads of friends while I was their again, but also noticed alot of people returned again from the first time I visited St Albans, that speaks volumes! With the attractions being within walking distance this is definately a Hotel for you as your bang smack in the middle, one way of Blackpool Tower and the other way is the Pleasure Beach. Across the road if you don't fancy the walk is the Tram and bus stop.Carol and Alan are the nicest people you can ever wish to meet and I look forward to returning next year. Its only a shame my break had to end!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun1968red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Arrived at St Albans not impressed. We had kids with us and couldnt get buggied from car to front door of hotel and car park was very tight and straight in front of door entrance. The "hotel" was clean but run down. This is classified as a hotel but from experience of living in Blackpool this is just a bed & breakfast with on suite. There is no hairdryer, no shampoo etc towels are not even changed each day. Would not stay here again for the price we payed.

Room Tip: All rooms are very small
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

THIS GUEST came with his daughter who had booked a single room but two people occupied the room and he was not happy because she had booked a seaveiw but we dont have any seaveiw single rooms.,if she had booked for two people as was in the room anyway she could have had a seaveiw.The writer of the reveiw was asked three times if everything was alright and he replied everything was fine on all three occasions.I suggest the readers of this reveiw check out our other reveiws on this and other sites.We are 3*** Visit Britain but were marked as 4**** for cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews