We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Funky Towers
Ranked #270 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We have just returned from a three night stay at funky towers, Blackpool. On arrival we (myself, husband, three children 12,10 & 6 and my father) were met by the owners, Adam & Becky and straight away they made us feel very welcome. When we got to our room we were amazed at the decor, cleanliness and wonderful view. We stayed in a family room that accommodated 5 of us and my fathers room was equally impressive.
The dining room was spotless and breakfast was very good.
All in all nothing was to much trouble for Adam & Becky and funky towers comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co.durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

funky towers is a wonderful bed and breakfast located on the seafront we stayed in the red family room with seaview i took my 19yr old 13yr old 2yr old and myself ,the room was very spacious and very clean beds very comfortable ,breakfast was lovely ,they were very helpful always there to ask if you needed help also helped us in and out of hotel with buggy and bags ,always on hand if you ring the bell for the bar we sat in the lounge and watched the world go by ,i would highly recommend adam and beckys funky towers they are wonderful people and we will certainly be returning and telling all our friends and family about them for years we have gone to blackpool and have never returned to any of the hotels and now we have no need as we have found the perfect place many thanx

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Discovered Funky Towers four years ago and was impressed by the care and attention given by the delightful hosts, Becky & Adam. Have returned to Blackpool every year since then and have rebooked Funky Towers without hesitation, last year with family friends too.
The rooms are always spotless, the breakfast is well cooked, nothing seems too much trouble for the hosts and the beds are comfy (important to us!)
A fantastic situation on the front within easy reach of the Tower and Pleasure Beach. Adam provided us with discount vouchers for whatever he had available without being asked and was also a fount of valuable local knowledge.
The family room for FIVE people (hard to find in Blackpool) has views over the prom and out to sea. Really, what more could you want?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

Stayed here 1 night for my birthday, stayed in the top room with 4 Poster bed, room had the best view ever of Blackpool Promenade.

Funky Towers is very clean and we were made to feel very welcome. Becky & Adam couldn't have been more helpful, recommending restaurants and booking taxis for us. They even kept our bags for the whole day after we checked out to allow us to spend the day at the Pleasure Beach.

Would definetly recommend and will return next time we are in Blackpool!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishChicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We've just come back from 2 nights at Funky Towers. We stayed in the big room for 6 people with the funky shower. I really wanted to try this shower, so I called to see if they would do us a discount because there was only 2 of us not a family of 6. They dropped the price from £160 to £100. The only negative thing about this hotel is that £100 is still quite a lot for a Blackpool room. But it was big and the shower was really good. I know you can get a double room in blackpool from £40, but they are usually rubbish. If you want comfort and cleanliness, then go here. They do cheaper rooms if there's just 2 of you, so there's not much difference in price to other hotels. But you don't get the ace shower then! They are wanting to put more of the showers in the other rooms though, so you could call to see if they've done that.
The couple who runs it are really nice and offer to take your bags up and things like that. They put sticks of rock on our bed! And gave us a box of chocs when we mentioned it was our anniversary. You wouldn't get that at most Blackpool hotels. It's a nice personal touch. They're only young and cleary put everything into the hotel and really try hard to make it a friendly, quality place to stay.
Plus it's on the promenade so a good position. A ten minute walk to the bars at the north and 15 mins to the pleasure beach at the south. Its near the central pier.
Blackpool is having some work done to make the beach front nicer and to stop flooding. The area outside Funky Towers has been done already, so there's no building site as a view.
The breakfast is full English and cereal 8:30 to 9:30.
The couple are happpy to help and advised us of good places to eat and gave us leaflets of attractions.
They said that they don't mix hen do's with family bookings, so if you are a family, you know you are not going to get woken up with lots of noise. And if you are a hen do, you can enjoy the bar with the Blues Brothers before meandering to the main pubs.

A good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Well what can I say about this hotel, first of all Adam & Becky are the most welcoming and thoughtful people we have ever met, the hotel is is fantastic, very clean and its a brilliant location for every attraction in Blackpool, Breakfast was lovely and the Blues Brothers were fab !
If anyone was thinking about staying in Blackpool I would highly reccommend The Funky Towers
On a personal note Good Luck with the Wedding will be thinking of you and thanks for a fantastic weekend your hotel was the cherry on top of the cake love Vicky and Ryan xx

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel7729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

My partner and I decided to treat my kids to a couple of nights in Blackpool in order to take in 'the lights', after trying to get booked into The likes of 'The Hilton' and 'Herrons Reach' we stumbled over 'FUNKY TOWERS' and it's super website.
I spoke to a very polite and accomodating young lady on the telephone, who offered me a 'great' deal, and was very easy to talk to.
We stayed for two nights, the 'RED' room was huge in comparison to other 'family' rooms I/ we have recently stayed in (we had 3 year old boy 5 year old boy and 7 year old girl) and I am 6ft plus with 'BIG bones' so room is an important factor to us all !
The room was also clean with a lovely TV in, a most enjoyable shower and a stunning view overlooking the illuminations, the tram lines and of course the sea!
We were Bed and Breakfast, the beakfast was not buffet, which to be honest did worry me, as we are all good eaters, but in fairness, the breakfast we were given was more than enough for any set of troops to start their day on !
Bacon, sausage, beans, tomato, egg, mushroom as much toast as you could eat and a plentiful supply of various cereals were on offer, fresh juices and tea and coffee were also free flowing, what more could a family ask for?
The eating area was spotless, and the tables were very well spaced out (this dissapointed our little lad - he likes putting things from his breakfast in unsuspecting guests handbags !!)
The bar was again very simple with a pool table, dukebox and slot machine in, but the most enjoyable part of the lounge/bar area ,are the more than life sized wax work characters of Elmore and Jake...THE BLUES BROTHERS!
If you walk along the seafront of Blackpool you see some weird and wonderful things....but THE BLUES BROTHERS IN A B & B LOUNGE...I ASK YOU ???

Different and entertaining!

Well, that's about it, I feel compelled to tell you (TOTAL STRANGERS) that if you are looking for a clean, large family Bed and Breakfast ON THE SEAFRONT with great breakfasts then you can not beat FUNKY TOWERS....SUPERB!

PS The hoteliers ADAM and BECKY are young, vibrant and so helpful and friendly they deserve every success that comes their way, we wish them the best of luck in this current 'horrible ' economical climate and hope that they are able to survive and flourish in times to come, you have made 5 new friends with 'us lot'....can't wait to see you again (and we have only been home 2 hours !!!!)
Lee Walker, Ali ,Liam, Tom and Ella x

  • Liked — The hosts !
  • Disliked — The stairs!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ellatomliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#19 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#219 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutchman Hotel
The Dutchman Hotel
#100 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Towers

Property: Funky Towers
Address: 297 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Funky Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky Towers is a nationally accredited AA 3-star family-run seafront hotel with great views out over the beach and Irish Sea. Why come to Blackpool and then choose not stay on the seafront? It is on the seafront in the ideal position for everything that Blackpool has to offer including the Illuminations, the Tower, Piers, Winter Gardens and Pleasure Beach. All rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making facilities, and television and some have 'Funky Touches'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Funky Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Towers Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing