We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fabulous weekend”
Review of Glen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Guest House
Ranked #7 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from another fabulous weekend with John at the Glen. As always, everything was just perfect. The rooms, the breakfast and the hospitality are all second to none - assured!. We are looking forward to arranging another weekend at the Glen later in the year, where perfection is always assured. Now ranked 6th out of 856 guest houses in Blackpool, this is still not enough to prove how fabulous this accommodation or the proprietor are. If we had our way John, you would be number 1!!
Till we meet again! .....

Room Tip: Any room is a brilliant room - fear not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandWendy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Wendy & Tom,
Thank you so very much for writing such kind words. It was a pleasure as always to see you both and have you stay here at the Glen.
I am now number 5 on Tripadvisor so a little closer!!!!
See you later in the year.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
317
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Me and the boyfriend stayed here the weekend before Christmas and we were actually debating to stay another night but couldn't due to work. Definitely recommend the guesthouse to anyone going to Blackpool. Very clean and tidy, Breakfast was spot on!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 898Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Stephanie,
Thank you so much for your review. Your kind words are very much appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed the weekend and hope you will come back later in the year.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here for an overnight, having stayed for a number of occasions over the past year. The place was spotless as always and the re-vamped bar and lounge area is a great place to have a drink and chat with other residents and John, the proprietor.
The room had a very modern en-suite bathroom and cool furniture with a hospitality tray, with bottled water and quality coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was spot on - beautifully cooked, with cereal and juice available while it is freshly prepared. Wifi and off road parking was free to residents.
John is the congenial host, with his friendly manner and nothing is too much trouble approach. His restaurant recommendation are superb, always good to know he has tried them out himself before he would recommend them. Even after checking out he was prepared to let me leave the car while I did some Christmas shopping. Home from home!
Great place to stay and very good value for money - Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your review. I really do appreciate your kind words. Most travelers use Tripadvisor now before booking accommodation and it is only when people take the time to reviews where they have stayed, helps us to attract new guests.
I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year. See you in 2014.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackrod, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the fourth time I have been back to the Glen over the past 14 months. John is such a warm and friendly proprietor and nothing appears to be any trouble to him.
It is wonderful to go back time and time again, throughout the season and to find that the cleanliness throughout the hotel to be first class. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the bedlinen is fresh, crisp and of high quality.
After a good night's sleep, the breakfast is always cooked fresh and is substantial - the bacon, sausage and black pudding are top quality.
Looking forward to more visits in 2014, still have a couple of rooms to try out....

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 or 3 are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Philip,
Once again, thank you for another lovely review. It is good to hear that you still enjoy your stay at the Glen. It is always a pleasure to have you stay here and I look forward to your return in 2014.
Have a great Christmas and happy New Year.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter and 2 Grandsons for 2 nights, we had a lovely warm welcome and then shown to our rooms which were absolutely spotless and very well furnished. Bed was very comfortable and the linen was top quality, after a good nights sleep we had breakfast which was a delight lovely fresh produce and lovely poached eggs will definitely be staying here again......l

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Janet,
Thank you for writing a review for the Glen Guest House.
I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. It was a pleasure to meet you all and very exciting that your daughter won here dancing competition at the Winter Gardens.
I would like to wish you a Happy Christmas and hope to see you again in 2014.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is out second time here and all i can say is yet again how perfect our stay was! John was as always very accommodating, helpful and greeted us with warmth and such a friendly welcome! We stayed in the luxury room this time and oh my what a luxury this was! Our room before this stay was beautiful and spacious but the luxury room is even better! Dressing gown and slippers were part of what you can expect in the room with a very large ensuite. Breakfasts were very hearty, ready at the times we asked and extremely nice! Do not hesitate in booking here you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Marie,
I am sorry for the delay in acknowledging your review. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Glen Guest House.
I am so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend here. It was a pleasure to spend time with you all at the bar having a few drinks.
I hope you have a great Christmas and see you in the New Year.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 days during a busy illumination period. Everything from the welcome to the goodbye was great. The breakfasts are second-to-none and a perfect way to start a busy day on the promenade. Our room was well modernised and very cosy, which was ideal given there were gale-force icy winds at the time! Parked the car right at the front of the hotel when we arrived and didn't get back into it until we were leaving for home. We even sampled one of the restaurants recommended in the guidebook! Absolutely no complaints whatsoever and we will most certainly be looking to stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Glen Guest House. You kind words are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Hope to see you in 2014.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Guest House

Property: Glen Guest House
Address: 25 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Glen Guest House. Visit England 4 Star quality accommodation in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are a couples only Guest House for that adult only relaxed escape. The Glen Guest House is based in a quiet location in the South Shore of Blackpool. The Glen is just off the Promenade and ideally positioned between The Tower and the Pleasure Beach. We are 10 to 15 minutes walk from Blackpool Tower. There is free on site parking facilities for every room which is covered by 24hr CCTV. All rooms are en-suite (en suites have just been upgraded with electric showers and new decoration)and have been decorated to a modern high standard with stylish furnishings and decor. The rooms are well equipped with fresh bed linen, hand and bath towels and a selection of toiletries, bath robes and slippers are also provided for your comfort. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and flat screen TV's with freeview and built-in DVD players for your entertainment. There are a selection of books available to read and DVD's available to watch if required. There is also free Wifi available.I have also reinstated the bar which is now fully stocked with very reasonably priced drinks. So pop in for a drink before going to explore what Blackpool has to offer. New for 2014 is a discount card that is free to guests and offers a huge variety of discounts, from restaurants to clubs to Funny girls , etc. Just ask for your card on check in. I look forward to welcoming you to The Glen Guest House, Blackpool. Kind regards, John ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing