We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem just off the prom”
Review of Glen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Guest House
Ranked #7 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wee gem just off the prom”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Many thanks john

Needed a hotel close to the football stadium for the Rod Stewart concert and found this gem near the prom and a short walk to the trams

A wonderful break made to feel welcome immediately on arrival this six bed roomed guesthouse offers bed and breakfast with prompt service and exceptional value

The breakfast offered is full and varied , the hotel also has a bar which is fully stocked and room service can be provided if requested

Friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms. a wee gem off the prom

John fife scotland

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hn7561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear John,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with me at the Glen. You are welcome back anytime.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
328
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at glen guest house for 2nights and had a fantastic time.We had family in blackpool at the same time who stayed elsewhere. We were pleased with the location but even more so with the standard of the accommodation and the service. The rooms were very well decorated and had excellent touches that would rival some 5 star hotels we have stayed in, robes, slippers and toiletries. I suppose the addition is the excellent standard of service from John- very welcoming and couldn't have done enough to accommodate his guests. If you are looking for somewhere a little more upmarket than your average Blackpool guest house then look no further!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsaylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Linda & Archie,
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry for the delay in responding but it has been a little manic over the last couple of weeks.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Glen. It was my pleasure to meet you both and I really hope you will come back and stay again.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently stay at The Glen and I cannot wait to return. From the moment I walked in I felt completely at home. It is so beautifully decorated, so welcoming and I loved it straight away. I stayed in room 5 which was amazing. I really felt pampered, it was an effort to even leave the room. The shower was fab plus all the toiletries were on par to staying at a spa. The bed was so comfortable and the duvet/pillows/covers etc were just luxurious. It really was hard to leave and go home. I'm saving the best till last...John. Wow, what can I say. He is an amazing host. So genuinely lovely, welcoming, helpful, funny and gorgeous. Makes you feel at home straight away. You can see how much he loves what he does and he must be so proud. Thank you John. I can't wait to return. Annie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Annie,
I don't know what to say except thank you so very much for your kind words. I actually blushed while reading your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your few days at the Glen and Blackpool. It was my pleasure to look after you and I really do hope you come back to stay again soon.
Again, thank you so much.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here last year and had a great stay , we returned last weekend and The Glen was even better than before (which to be fair took some beating!) The rooms are lovely and John has thought of everything from slippers and robes to handy toiletries including make- up remover wipes and toothpaste! The breakfast last time was nice but this time it was even better! fresh butchers meat with all the trimmings all serve piping hot! We will be back and really believe the Glen is first class!
louise and Ric x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Louise & Ric,
When you said you were going to write another review I didn't expect such kind words.
Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am delighted that the little touches are appreciated. It was lovely to see you both again and I hope you will come back again for a longer stay.
Kind regards
John x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everything about the Glen was fantastic, we arrived before check in time as we caught the train there, I gave John a call who was at the gym and within 5 minutes he was there to let us in.We went to our room and it was very welcoming, chocolates on the bed slippers and robes. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was brilliant. I chose to stay at the Glen because of the reviews about Johns breakfast and it didn't disappoint. Where going back to blackpool in October and if there's rooms available I will certainly stay at the Glen.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lufc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you so much for posting a review on Laterooms and on Tripadvisor for me. It is very much appreciated.
I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at the Glen, even if you did drag me out of the gym!!!
It was a pleasure to meet you both and I really do hope you return in Oct with the family.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Yet another brilliant stay. John is an amazing host. Goes out his way to help you. Bedrooms very comfortable. Breakfast brill. Best b and b in Blackpool. Will difo be back. Close to my strip but far enough so you dont get alot of noise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Lesley & William,
Thanks a million for you review, It was a real pleasure to welcome you back again and lovely to meet your Grand Parents, I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the summer in Scotland and maybe see you for the illuminations.
Kind regards
John xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for two nights over the Bank holiday.Lovely B&B. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. John is a fabulous host and makes a great breakfast :-)
All the little extras in the room are very thoughtful and the parking was really useful
Barney and Molly are so cute and John is a star in the B&B world.
Would highly recommend and would stay there again.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvitaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, As you can see I read and reply to all reviews because it is very important for me to know how my guests feel about their stay at The Glen.
I pride myself in offering a very clean, comfortable house with a great breakfast and I thank you for acknowledging that.
I do hope you will both come back and visit again soon.
kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
757 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 856 in Blackpool
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 856 in Blackpool
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Guest House

Property: Glen Guest House
Address: 25 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Glen Guest House. Visit England 4 Star quality accommodation in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are a couples only Guest House for that adult only relaxed escape. The Glen Guest House is based in a quiet location in the South Shore of Blackpool. The Glen is just off the Promenade and ideally positioned between The Tower and the Pleasure Beach. We are 10 to 15 minutes walk from Blackpool Tower. There is free on site parking facilities for every room which is covered by 24hr CCTV. All rooms are en-suite (en suites have just been upgraded with electric showers and new decoration)and have been decorated to a modern high standard with stylish furnishings and decor. The rooms are well equipped with fresh bed linen, hand and bath towels and a selection of toiletries, bath robes and slippers are also provided for your comfort. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and flat screen TV's with freeview and built-in DVD players for your entertainment. There are a selection of books available to read and DVD's available to watch if required. There is also free Wifi available.I have also reinstated the bar which is now fully stocked with very reasonably priced drinks. So pop in for a drink before going to explore what Blackpool has to offer. New for 2014 is a discount card that is free to guests and offers a huge variety of discounts, from restaurants to clubs to Funny girls , etc. Just ask for your card on check in. I look forward to welcoming you to The Glen Guest House, Blackpool. Kind regards, John ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing