We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star stay in blackpool”
Review of Glen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Guest House
Ranked #18 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have spent weekend in blackpool the highlight of our weekend was our wonderful accommodation at glen guest house which I can not recommend enough our room was beautifully and tasteful decorated and spotlessly clean breakfast was first class and nothing was to much trouble for our host John even when one of our party asked for scramble egg in stead of Frayed when preparation was well under way thank you John for looking after us as if we where your friends staying in your home.

Room Tip: Lower floor if reduced mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Chris & Gina,
Well I suppose I could just copy and paste what I've just written to Robert & Sharon.
Thank you for your kind words, It was a pleasure to meet you and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Next time I will ensure the cabaret we want to see is actually on!!
Come and see us again soon.
Kind regards
John xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from this guest house ...it was excellent... breakfast was first class the rooms were very clean the bed was so comfy it was like home from home nothing was a bother to john I would highly recommend this guest house to everyone carn,t wait to go back thanks john

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet & clean full of all your toiletries ,dressingrown,slippers every think you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank robertscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Sharon & Robert,
Some guests check in and you know straight away that you are going to get on. It was almost like friends had come to stay and you were definitely friends by the time you left.
Thanks for coming out on the town with us on Saturday night (even if we didn't see who we were supposed to!!!).
It was a pleasure to meet you both and Christopher & Gina also.
Come back soon.
Kind regards
John xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we had fantastic hosts in john and his team..he certainly knows how to make his guests feel at home.fabulous breakfast and plentiful.he went out of his way and made us feel as if we had known him for years.very clean guest house.we certainly will visit again knowing that we will be well looked after.top man, top staff. thanks john. 5*

Room Tip: whichever room your in you will enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ian,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I must agree I felt I had known you for a long time when you left.
It was my pleasure to look after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed the food at the Swift hound.
Please do come back and visit again soon.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fantastic boutique guest house .warm welcome from john awaits you the beds are very comfy and of very high standard.breakfeat was first class nothing was too much trouble for john great host .will defineitley be returning soon .

Room Tip: All rooms are very high standard would be happy to stay in all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Belinda,
Thank you for your review. Your words are very kind and I am pleased that you enjoyed the weekend at the Glen. It was my pleasure to look after you and I think a good weekend was had by all.
Once again, many thanks and hope you will be back for the illuminations.
Kind regards
John xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a nice weekend at The Glen. Very tasty and plentiful breakfast and lovely coffee.
High standard of cleanliness. Would recommend to family and friends.
John provides a good concierge service and arranged theatre tickets for our party.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Helen & Keith,
I am delighted that you took the time to write a review after your stay at The Glen. It was a good weekend and I am glad that you enjoyed Funny Girls and Mama Mia.
Hope to see you for the illuminations.
Kind regards
John xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Returned to glen with rest of my family and they insisted that I should again inform prospective guests of this gem in Blackpool.john is a charming host,very helpful in directing us to places to eat and makes the most tasty breakfasts.we had the same room as last time made more comfortable by the new revamp,lovely colour scheme.
Will be returning and have recommended the glen to other friends and family.high standards remain at the gen,congrats john ,love to molly and barney
Sue, jem and ant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Sue, Jem & Ant,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write another review. I am delighted that you feel I am offering a good product. Guest accommodation in Blackpool is very competitive so to get confirmation that I am doing something right is very much appreciated.
Hope to see you for the illuminations later in the yeay.
Kind regards
John xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose The Glen for our break in Blackpool, based on its reviews and we were very happy with the accommodation, the room was lovely and very very clean. The breakfast was, as my Hubbie remarked "A really, really good breakfast!" (which from him is very high praise indeed!)
John was a fantastic host, nothing too much trouble. He has obviously worked very hard to achieve a very high standard Guest house and it was a pleasure to stay there.
I just hope that for our next stay in Blackpool he has room for us!
Vicky and Paul

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Glen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Vicky & Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with me, It was a pleasure to meet you both.
I hope you will come back and see the illuminations later in the year.
Kind regards
John x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,239 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,059 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 863 in Blackpool
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#16 of 863 in Blackpool
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 863 in Blackpool
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Guest House

Address: 25 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Glen Guest House. Visit England 4 Star quality accommodation in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are an Adults only Guest House. The Glen Guest House is based in a quiet location in the South Shore of Blackpool. We are just off the Promenade, ideally positioned between The Tower and the Pleasure Beach. There is free on site parking facilities for every room, covered by 24hr CCTV. All rooms are en-suite and have been decorated to a modern high standard with stylish furnishings and decor. The rooms are well equipped with fresh bed linen, hand and bath towels and a selection of toiletries, bath robes and slippers are also provided for your comfort. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and flat screen TV's with freeview and built-in DVD players for your entertainment. There are a selection of books DVD's available if required. There is also free Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing