We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Guest House
Ranked #7 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fab place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is a brilliant guest house, me and my husband stayed for our anniversary when the firework competion was on. Rooms are very clean and modern- a welcome change to the old fashioned rooms you see in many places. And extra's if you want them such as wine in room and chocolates are very reasonably priced. The owners cannot do enough to help you, they make such an effort to make you welcome and know who you are and even give a card our anniversary, you wouldn't see such a personal effort in a large hotel. We paid 50 a room, it has just gone up to 60 but it is still worth it as you would pay that for a hideous b&b and have a horrible time. Breakfast is very nice and freshly cooked. Car parking is good. The only downside is the bathroom is small with no bath but it did not ruin our stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaoroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
310
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed at the Glen for 4 nights last week and I don't have a single complaint. Mick and Connie are excellent hosts and clearly take pride in their business. We looked at a number of places but none came close to The Glen. Location is mid-pointish between the Pleasure Beach resort on one end and the Tower on the other.The room we had on the top floor was just right, albeit the bathroom was a tad small to cater for our young kids. Having a car parking space is a big plus. The service we received was faultless also. For example, Connie offered to print out my Pleasure Beach reservation details so that I could take advantage of discounted entry (i.e.£20 instead of £30 entry charge). Not a big deal but it's the small things which make the difference. All in all, well worth the money! Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just arrived back from a 2 niight stay here in the family room which is adequate and very clean with some nice touches, the toiletries and tea/coffee and biscuits.
Its not a place to let your hair down too much, the bar is lovely and quiet, as befits a first class guest house, go to a lively hotel if thats your thing.
As mentioned before, the owners are helpful and polite, in fact when we arrived and parked up, (so handy) we were greeted at the door by Mick, who knew straight away who we were, putting us at ease right away, giving up tips where to go for food etc.
We found the Buccaneer fanily bar perfect in the Coral Island complex, as the food was good and value for money, and although busy, very speedy with bar service and food, perfect for us while the 2 lads aged 12 and 11 explored the vast indoor entertainment area. Knowing they could come and go as they wished was great for us, and kids are allowed in there until it closes after 11pm
Went to the Sandcastle on the Sunday for the afternoon, plenty water slides etc to keep them amused, as well as us adults. A good tip when it might get busy, book your tickets online to get a discount and beat the queues to enter, worth it.
For adults try the casino next door, instant membership, no need to gamble, a vast air conditioned smart complex, where I went for an hour or two, a peaceful time for me watching the football on the big screen, plenty of seating and the soft drinks (Coca Cola etc) and tea/coffee are free, just go to the lovely bar and order, plus if you want a flutter or a proper meal this is the place.
Back to the Guest House, and the breakfast room is superb, the tables and chairs are so comfortable and smart.
Food is just spot on, usual cereals and toast with orange juice and lovely pots of tea or coffee, then the English Breakfast cooked to perfection, I have found a place what cooks fried eggs how they should be cooked, its just so fresh and tasty, thanks Mick and Connie, see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley,Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at the Glen with 2 children for 4 nights last midweek. I got allocated a parking space at the front door and a room on the 2nd floor. The room was immaculate and had an en-suite toilet/shower albeit it was quite cramped for a family. Breakfast was perfect witha choice of anything you wanted and set you up for a day out in Blackpool. The guest house was in a very quiet locale and even with the window open a good nights sleep was had by all. I would certainly recomment The Glen and will consider returning whenever I am back in Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJTS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed at The Glen and found the service, cleanliness, location, hospitality and location all EXCELLENT! Mick and Connie (and puppy Roxy!) give a very warm welcome and we would recommend this Guest House to anyone and everyone. Having spent a huge amount of time online to try to find somewhere to stay, we are so pleased we came across The Glen. We have stayed in Blackpool before and experienced B&B at the other end of the scale - The Glen was a pleasant surprise! Could not fault breakfast either, top class. The entire hotel including our rooms were immaculate and very well decorated, it is obvious there has been a lot of time and attention spent on the finer details. Car Parking on site was also very handy. We will definitely be back!

Thank You Mick and Connie!! xx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcCafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This place is so modern and clean only opened in 2009. It has an excellent location and everthing is in walking distance. It also has its own car park. The owner are very friendly and helpful. It is much better than some of the cheaper hotel in blackpool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mini9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We picked this guest house after spotting some fantastic reviews. It was refurbished and opened 1 yr ago and it really looked great compared to many of the tired looking places. The room was very clean and the linen, towels and soft furnishings were spotless. The guest house is centrally located to the Promenade so easy access to both ends. The hosts (Connie & Mick) are a lovely couple and made us all feel very welcome and really couldn't do enough for us. On arrival we were presented with discount vouchers for places to eat and taxis. We celebrated the 1 year opening with free drinks at their bar. Breakfast was great and the dining area was immaculate. The kids were made to feel so welcome with lots of friendly chat and DVDs supplied for bedtime viewing. Finally, we were treated to a lift to the train station by Mick to avoid us getting wet in the rain! Overall, we'd highly recommend this guest house and can't see how you can go wrong when the hosts are so happy to help!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSimkinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Guest House

Property: Glen Guest House
Address: 25 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Glen Guest House. Visit England 4 Star quality accommodation in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are a couples only Guest House for that adult only relaxed escape. The Glen Guest House is based in a quiet location in the South Shore of Blackpool. The Glen is just off the Promenade and ideally positioned between The Tower and the Pleasure Beach. We are 10 to 15 minutes walk from Blackpool Tower. There is free on site parking facilities for every room which is covered by 24hr CCTV. All rooms are en-suite (en suites have just been upgraded with electric showers and new decoration)and have been decorated to a modern high standard with stylish furnishings and decor. The rooms are well equipped with fresh bed linen, hand and bath towels and a selection of toiletries, bath robes and slippers are also provided for your comfort. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and flat screen TV's with freeview and built-in DVD players for your entertainment. There are a selection of books available to read and DVD's available to watch if required. There is also free Wifi available.I have also reinstated the bar which is now fully stocked with very reasonably priced drinks. So pop in for a drink before going to explore what Blackpool has to offer. New for 2014 is a discount card that is free to guests and offers a huge variety of discounts, from restaurants to clubs to Funny girls , etc. Just ask for your card on check in. I look forward to welcoming you to The Glen Guest House, Blackpool. Kind regards, John ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing