We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driving Week plus a few extra days with a friend”
Review of McHalls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McHalls Hotel
Ranked #17 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Really enjoyed my time at the hotel, Danny and Gavin were perfect hosts. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to town and sea as well as local transport. I had a few days with a friend relaxing before taking my driving lessons and test. I found that Danny was very encouraging and good company the second part of my holiday when i was on my own. He always checked I was ok and chatted away keeping me company. The food at the hotel is to die for thanks to Gavin I cannot priase him enough if I could have boxed him up and taken him home with me I would have. The hotel is very clean and very relaxed you would be hard pushed to find such a good hotel in the area. We will definately be returning in the future. Thank you Danny and Gavin for such a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allycat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here whilst taking a local intensive driving course and to be honest I was not sure what to expect. McHalls turned out to be ideal accomodation.
The hotel is colourfully decorated (I especially liked the theatre posters in the dinning room), friendly, in a very practical location and offers generous portions of homemade food. The breakfasts were especially good. Thank you Gavin!
My room was very clean and pretty. I had forgotten a hairdrier but I was able to borrow one from Danny.
As a woman travelling on her own it was good to be staying somewhere which felt secure and the owners looked after me well. I was even able to order a packed lunch to take on the driving course.
I had everything I needed during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed at McHalls hotel whilst she was taking an intensive driving course in Blackpool. I just wanted to thank Danny and Gavin for their contribution to my daughter passing her test first time!!!
The hotel is wonderful and the hosts superb.
Full marks for cleanliness, locality, food, well stocked bar and beautifully decorated bedrooms with en suites.
The bistro is open to non residents and a must, as Gavin the chef, is fantastic. His dishes are all home made and his chocolate brownie is to die for!!
Sunday lunch is spectacular and many people seem to eat there regularly for this super lunch.
Breakfast is well cooked and available from 8.00am served by Danny, who is on hand to answer any questions about the local area or anything else, in his own innimitable style!! He has a wicked sense of humour and helped the drivers relax whilst providing that attention to detail that makes a stay at McHalls memorable. I would recommend staying at this hotel for business or holiday.....try it, you will enjoy it. Thanks a million Danny and Gavin.
Jan Crowe :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is the first time staying at this hotel, due to our usual Blackpool Hotel being full. We couldn't have choosen better from start to finish our stay with Danny and Gavin was a joy, nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and spacous. Breakfasts great with plenty of coffee and extra toast flowing, unrushed and morning papers included. We had an evening meal which was delicious. The lounge and bar area were comfortable with TV, radio, games and papers/magazines. Both Danny and Gavin chatted and were interested in us as people not just as guests and we now consider them to be friends. We will definately be returning to this hotel. Carol & Chrissy Throssell

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolThrossell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We keep coming back to this fabulous hotel, because it is unique. Its better than other hotels in hundreds of ways. The hosts Danny and Gavin are so skillful at providing a warm, comfortable, pleasureable and memorable experience they can't be bettered. Danny at the front of house has time for everyone and is carefully attentive without being obtrusive and Gavin is a master cook, a real tour de force in the kitchen. Everything has been thought of and nothing is too much trouble for this happy hardworking pair. I guarentee you will love it!

Be sure to take away some of Gavin's home made chutney, it is such a treat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassiesouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Dan & Gav are truly fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they made me and my friends feel really welcome. Rooms were lovely and the food fantastic. Location is perfect and I couldn't fault the hotel or Dan & Gav. Me and my friends will definitely be gong again! They made our stay magical by helping out with our theme orientated trip and providing fabulous food. Can't wait for the next trip there in August!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniemation75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Well, talk about being made welcome by the friendliest proprietor you could meet, Danny. How nice! A whole gang of us descended, bags everywhere, starving and ready for a knees up. Danny and his husband, Gavin, made us soooo welcome, and pointed us in the right direction for all the things we wanted. Delicious food too, all homemade. We are defo going back, in fact we booked for another weekend in July whilst we were there! Can't recommend it highly enough. Go, see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 863 in Blackpool
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 863 in Blackpool
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 863 in Blackpool
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 863 in Blackpool
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHalls Hotel

Address: 7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — McHalls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your McHalls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing