We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet and Pat”
Review of McHalls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McHalls Hotel
Ranked #15 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose this hotel through the internet. What an excellent place to stay. Our room (although a few stairs) was so beautifully clean and fresh, beds were really comfortable. The food was well presented and cooked beautifully by Gavin. Daniel gave us a most warm welcome when we arrived and this was the case throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will most certainly be going back there. Thank you Daniel and Gavin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I had never been to Blackpool before and wasn't really looking forward to a weekend of hens,stags and kiss-me-quick hats!
After two nights at McHalls I wish we could have stayed a week.
We were in the smallest double room, (well somebody has to have it! :-) ) but it was delightful. Cosy and snug,with all you could possibly need. Tea,coffee and biscuits. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer even earplugs, but these were not needed. The bed was so comfortable and we had no disturbance from other guests.
As others have mentioned, Danny is a superlative host, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served smoothly with no waiting and the food well cooked and served piping hot.
The only downside was that the bistro was fully booked when we arrived so we couldn't sample Gavin's cooking in the evening. Not to worry, we will make sure to book a table next time, because we will certainly be back! !
P.S we never did see any kiss-me-quick hats! :-)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sponjmonki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I booked McHall's due to its amazing reviews and it did not disappoint!!! Daniel (owner) gives a warm and friendly welcome and even went out of his way to arrange our room when we arrived to check in early. The hotel is spotless, clean and tidy with fragrant oil burners and scented candles, very welcoming. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfy and even come equipped with an ipod docking station, amongst other facilities e.g. ironing board, kettle etc
The chef prepares everything from scratch and even makes his own sauces which are available to buy for just £2.95, i recommend the whole grain mustard, yummy.
It's location is a stone's throw away from the train station, night life and just a £2 on a tram from the pleasure beach fair.

Can honestly say i would never stay any where else on my return trip. I literally couldn't fault this hotel.

Thank you Daniel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJA89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Myself and 3 friends spent the weekend here, and we have decided that we NEED to go back!! So welcoming, the food is amazing and the beds are lush, in walking distance to town centre and pier!! 4 very happy girls!! Thank you again, and we'll see you next year!! Xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just got back after another stay this time to watch Joseph and his Technicolour Coat,Winter Gardens 5 min walk.Hotel not changed since last reviewed. Gavin and Danny are fab hosts Danny runs front of house with a permanent smile and remembers each guests first name ,Gavin does the cooking to the highest of standards.This IS the place to stay in Blackpool I promise you will NOT be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend this place.
It ticks all the boxes.
Danny is the perfect host welcoming, efficient and charming!
Gavin's cooking is out of this world also.
All the details are covered to make the stay so comfortable, I can honesty say I've stayed in 4/5 star hotels and felt that something was missing but not here.
Do not overlook this awesome Blackpool Diamond!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaneykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Danny is the most welcoming host and does all he can to make your stay enjoyable. Gavin s food is sublime. Breakfast is always good but dinner off the scale .Go just to eat if you cant get a room , I went with 3 friends and we had single en suite rooms which were spotlessly clean and very comfortable I would definitely recommend Mc Halls and will be making a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 864 in Blackpool
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 864 in Blackpool
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 864 in Blackpool
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#13 of 864 in Blackpool
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 864 in Blackpool
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHalls Hotel

Address: 7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — McHalls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your McHalls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing