We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent enjoyable stay”
Review of McHalls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McHalls Hotel
Ranked #17 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Danny and Gavin made us feel at home and welcome throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. This is what we really wanted from our stay - a warm, friendly atmosphere. It's not all about "star ratings" and facilities: customer service is much more important!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mikeyfreed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    68
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
299
82
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in for many years. Danny is brilliant, looked after me brilliantly. I am visually impaired,but his superb attitude really made my stay perfect. He upgraded me to an en suite room at no extra charge, and was consistently pleasant. Gavin's cooking is brilliant,I had a Sunday dinner, which was by far the best I had eaten for a long time. Very clean rooms, and a very happy atmosphere. I am already working out when I can go again. Well done to you both. Didn't want to go home - john

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wonderful greeting from Danny who gets to know everyones' name which is a lovely personal touch. Rooms are spotless and food was lovely. Great location for Funny Girls which is literally across the road, and Blackpool North Station is just round the corner

However, to echo what a previous rater said, you have to be as quiet as mice. There were 4 of us in the room at 11.30pm and we got into trouble for being too noisy. Yes we were talking and laughing, but we had no music on and weren't jumping about

So if you do want to stay here, I would recommend as long as you are prepared to keep extremley quiet as the room are paper thin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank fimfc .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

lovely friendly host really lovely hotel. i would recommend this place to anyone. great location very clean and tidy. the bed was lovely and comfortable had a fantastic sleep. i didnt make it to breakfast so i cant comment on the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sipsNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Mchalls- wkend 10-12th April, I must mention how nice the hosts are, very welcoming and friendly, always greeted with a smile- what lovely people. The hotel is nicely decorated with a small bar and dining area which was again tastefully decorated- very homely. On arrival given choice of rooms- stayed in a front room- what a lovely room, breakfast gorgeous! All the little extras offered should be noted - hairdryer, ear plugs, herbal tea! That impressed staying on for Sunday lunch. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaZ2o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the hosts could not do enough, nothing was to much trouble. If you was looking for a fab place to stay this is the place, you won't be disappointed.
Food excellent , atmosphere excellent, hosts superb.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a great place to stay. Many thanks to Daniel & Gavin for all their hard work,excellent service,food wonderful. Daniel & Gavin made our stay so enjoyable what a real pleasure to stay in a hotel that is clean well presented and have so excellent hosts. Thank-you so much .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biddy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#7 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 126 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHalls Hotel

Property: McHalls Hotel
Address: 7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — McHalls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McHalls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing