We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best chinese for years”

Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 780 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lancashire-based Michael Wan's Mandarin was established in 1961. The purveyor of Cantonese cuisine is lauded as "superb," "fantastic," "delicious and consistent," with "fabulous food," by the critics on TripAdvisor, landing it a spot as one of the top 3 Chinese restaurants in the UK based on customer reviews. Signature dishes include Twice Cooked Pork, Gon Siu Crispy Beef and Huan San Fish and Tofu Stew.
Reviewed 23 September 2017

i had no intention of visiting here on a windy rainy friday night but was knocked back for the last time at the ita;lian across the road.even though it was busy we were greeted by the lovely lady owner and told we could have a table for just over an hour.what followed was brilliant.quality chinese cuisine great service and very reasonable prices.loved all the dishes and banana fritter to finish was lovely.cant wait to go again. my italian days are over,,,,

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sirge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Glad we could put a smile back on your face Sirge, let's hope your Chinese days are here to stay :-)
Hope to see you again soon
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 196 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

This is the second time I have eaten here on a trip to Blackpool, and the experience was even better than last time. The food is beautifully presented and very tasty, the service is impeccable and friendly, and you are not rushed through the courses; we were asked how long we would like to leave before the next course arrived. The owner Pauline took time to talk to us and I was pleased to inform her that the particular bottle of wine we were enjoying is twice the price in a certain high end restaurant chain. Delighted with our evening. You do need to book however, this place is packed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks Callum, we're pleased you enjoyed dining with us and it's great to hear you even came back a second time during your Blackpool trip :-) Pauline will enjoy knowing her wine list i appreciated as it's taken some time to perfect, if you have any suggestions please mention it next time as we're always looking to try new alternatives.
We hope you'll return next time you're in town.
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Firstly thanks Tripadvisor, without the positive reviews we would not have looked for, or found, this.

Staff, very friendly and attentive. The waiter explained in some detail each of the menus. (We were asked if we wanted crackers! Possibly a reaction to a previous review?). Service was generally faultless.

Food, (the most important bit of the visit). Lemon chicken and a chicken satay, both meals excellent. Nothing more to be said than that.

Drink, I tried he Chinese lager. I can only say it was better than a lot of the other beers I tried this week.

Prices, were okay, (but for this kind of quality you should expect to pay a bit more).

If you enjoy Chinese food and are visiting Blackpool, pay a visit here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewandhelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for your kind words and recommendation, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and that our staff looked after you.
We hope to see you again next time you return to Blackpool.
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Well worth a visit when in Blackpool. Food and service was amazing. Will definitely return here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks Kay, look forward to seeing you again :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal. Best lemon chicken I have ever had and all the food was lovely. Will definitely visit again when we are in Blackpool

Thank Mhairi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks Mhairi! See you again next time :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing