We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers part II”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #703 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Extremely disceiving, and the smell just made us want to physically vomit!
We arrived, got checked in after squashing into the lobby! We were welcomed by the owner who seemed pretty helpful until we were forewarned about noise before we had even put our bags down! From walking through the front door the overwhelming smell lingered all the way through, a mixture of dogs, foist, cigarettes and damp... disgusting! The room was not big enough to swing a cat never mind accommodate a group of us! I had never seen a room decorated in car boot sale items before until now! It was filthy, stunk, the carpet in the bathroom was a risk, fair enough the shower worked, great! The TV was a joke, not that we went to watch TV. The beds were ok but we had to spray the bedding before sleeping in it due to the vile lingering smell! We were told not to use the window? The dust and cobwebs were all part and parcel of this grey towelled room! We were then told by the guy, again smoking, that we should keep the noise down at night, even though we had already been warned! The breakfast was ok, I've had better in BHS though nothing flash like this lot are talking about! Hotel rating should be reviewed, how on earth it got the first star never mind the other two I'll never know?
Faulty Towers comes to Blackpool!
I do not recommend this dive to anybody!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pointswinprizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We were very impressed with the quality for a very cheap B&B in lovely Blackpool.The owners were tip-top, nothing was too much trouble for them.Very clean and tidy with a super restaurant/bistro. Breakfast was also lovely-plenty of it and cooked to perfection.....just a short walk from shops and banks as well as fine nightlife. I would not hesitate to spend time there again or to recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Close to all major amenities ....just a short wal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellydancerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Booked last minute, superb hospitalty and food from arrival. Faultless service with a smile at all times and food, drink brilliant.

Partner taken ill and owners were second to none in arranging a doctors visit and ensured that she was fine and well.

Close enough to the town but far enough away to be away from the stag and hen do area, quiet location and surroudings.

Lovely owners and exceedingly helpful and friendly.

Well serviced by local bus routes and Trams.

50yards from prom and beach!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adjen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel last october for a weekend,there were five in our party of which two were children,the rooms were a little nostalgic but they served there purpose,the breakfast is spot on which is self service although they could stop playing the theme to schindlers list in the background.
The price for our stay was very good compared to others online,the attractions were a bit of a trek away,but the trams were regular.
The landlady was very helpful and even though we checked out on the sunday morning let me keep my car there until that evening.i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robstur4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Clean rooms, good breakfast and great service. friendly satff and ideal location

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zowieandalex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We are yet again relaxed and happy after our recent stay at The Derby Lodge.

The Hotel is a lovely small hotel, and we have been visiting this Hotel at least once a year for the last 5 or 6 years and have no reason to complain.

We have always found the owners to be accomodating and friendly, and nothing has
ever been too much trouble for them. I have travelled to many many places throughout the world and the Derby Lodge is like going home.

The only changes we notice with the Hotel when we visit are positive ones. The
owners have spent time and money, careful thought and consideration to peoples
comfort and are constantly upgrading the rooms and the changes are really
fantastic.

I have not stayed anywhere else in Blackpool since discovering the little gem that is the Derby Lodge. The Breakfast Buffet is unlimited and is freshly cooked and has a good choice for even the fussiest of eaters. The Bistro menu also has a wide range of foods for all tastes , and the food is gorgeous, freshly cooked to order, well presented and value for money, in fact we never manage to finish our meals as the portions are so generous.

We will certainly be going back, in fact we have already booked again for the
New Year celebrations, as there is nowhere else we would rather be.

We are regular clients of the Derby Lodge Hotel and Restaurant and will continue
to be so.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I booked and paid for this hotel in septemember 2010. as soon as we arrived we was met by an overwhelming smell of dogs and not so nice smelling lady who was not very friendly. We was taken to our room which was very small. You could bearly walk around the bed. The room looked tatty and old fashioned, we was really not happy with the room so we went to complain and get a refund. The lady said she would give us it back through the bank. We have still not recieved this, we have emailed and rung and they have 'decided to not give us our money back as we used the room', we was in there for around 15 minutes, hardly used anything. Overall this is one place i will not be returning to and recommend you dont also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerbyLodgeHotel, Owner at Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Many thanks for your review, criticism is always welcomed as it helps us improve our service to guests. however, due to the circumstances of your stay and the fact that the damage done to the property was far in excess of the monies you had paid, I do fgeel that this review is particularly unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#148 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#336 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Derby Road, Blackpool FY1 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing