We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaited us, as always. Highly recommended”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #703 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We are yet again relaxed and happy after our recent stay at The Derby Lodge.

The Hotel is a lovely small hotel, and we have been visiting this Hotel at least once a year for the last 5 or 6 years and have no reason to complain.

We have always found the owners to be accomodating and friendly, and nothing has
ever been too much trouble for them. I have travelled to many many places throughout the world and the Derby Lodge is like going home.

The only changes we notice with the Hotel when we visit are positive ones. The
owners have spent time and money, careful thought and consideration to peoples
comfort and are constantly upgrading the rooms and the changes are really
fantastic.

I have not stayed anywhere else in Blackpool since discovering the little gem that is the Derby Lodge. The Breakfast Buffet is unlimited and is freshly cooked and has a good choice for even the fussiest of eaters. The Bistro menu also has a wide range of foods for all tastes , and the food is gorgeous, freshly cooked to order, well presented and value for money, in fact we never manage to finish our meals as the portions are so generous.

We will certainly be going back, in fact we have already booked again for the
New Year celebrations, as there is nowhere else we would rather be.

We are regular clients of the Derby Lodge Hotel and Restaurant and will continue
to be so.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

I booked and paid for this hotel in septemember 2010. as soon as we arrived we was met by an overwhelming smell of dogs and not so nice smelling lady who was not very friendly. We was taken to our room which was very small. You could bearly walk around the bed. The room looked tatty and old fashioned, we was really not happy with the room so we went to complain and get a refund. The lady said she would give us it back through the bank. We have still not recieved this, we have emailed and rung and they have 'decided to not give us our money back as we used the room', we was in there for around 15 minutes, hardly used anything. Overall this is one place i will not be returning to and recommend you dont also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerbyLodgeHotel, Owner at Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Many thanks for your review, criticism is always welcomed as it helps us improve our service to guests. however, due to the circumstances of your stay and the fact that the damage done to the property was far in excess of the monies you had paid, I do fgeel that this review is particularly unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Dont know about other guests and wont speak for them, but you get what you pay for.
We enjoyed our stay very much, good food both breakfast and evening meals and plenty of it x 5 days.
Rooms were basic but clean, warm, with everything in working order.
The owner could not do enough for us, advised us on where to go /see.
We would stay at the Derby Lodge again no trouble.
Value for money

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niceandeasy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

decided to book a late break online and came accross the derby lodge, which sounded ok for the money i had to spend. I was taking my daughter aged 22 my daughter aged 14 and my daughters friend aged 14 so i booked a family room for 1 night for 100 quid. we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a dog yapping and an overpoweing smell of dog. the owner came through and the 1st thing she said was" those girls are over 14" to which i replied" yes they are 14" she then started ranting saying i should read the small print as it states they have to be under 14 to be classed as children and i would have to pay a further 20 quid on top of what i had already paid. i felt i had no choice but to pay as i would have lost my money. she then showed us to our room right at the top of the house ( a family room at top of house? god help families with small kids!) the room was shabby with a door missing on the wardrobe, a telly that was from the 70s and old rickety bunk beds that looked like they might fall down any minute! the lady then told us to be quiet as there were children downstairs. so although i paid the extra 20 quid we didnt get anything more than we would have if the girls had been younger. the place and the owner were just terrible, her attitude was appaling i have never witnessed anything quite like it and hope i never do again......... awful awful awful thats all i can think to say!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynn499569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The female owner is clearly shattered and living on her nerves as she seems to do everything, hence she comes across as very abrupt. In the meantime her husband/partner insists on smoking in the public areas of the hotel and admits to not wanting to be a hotelier at all!

The whole place stank of stale cooking fat & cigarettes.

Overall a pretty awful experience although I do have a bit of sympathy for the female owner

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed for our wedding anniversary but failed to mention that to staff at the guest house. On finding out the owner gave us a mock telling off as she would have liked to have surprised us with something - she told us tales of chocolates, cakes and champagne that other honeymooners etc had been surprised with from her. She was a wonderful host and very knowledgable about things to do in the area if you didn't just want to see the tower etc. Breakfast was self service, but all steaming hot and overall a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aocred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We only stayed one night, but found the proprietor (Landlady) to be lovely.
We had two rooms, both were clean and had everything we could need.
Breakfast was good ( lots of it!)
Blackpool can be very hit and miss, I would say this B n B is a safe bet!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#146 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 137 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Derby Road, Blackpool FY1 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing