We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable overnight stay”
Review of The Avon Hotel

The Avon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avon Hotel
Ranked #372 of 857 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very comfortable overnight stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at the Avon overnight as we had come to Blackpool for a Bob Dylan concert. The hotel is NOT a back street boarding house as one visitor has written it is a Main Street which leads directly up from the promenade and all of the properties on the road are hotels.
We were greeted by Jeanette and both her and her husband were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and clean, warm and cosy and nicely decorated. We had a comfortable, what seemed like, a king size bed 2 comfy chairs to sit in the big bay window and if we had needed it a decent sized flat screen TV with plenty of free view channels, important for my husband as he needed to catch up on all the football updates!!!!
There was also tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities with plenty of supplies including milk and biccies. The bathroom was spotless and again with plenty of supplies of soap, shower gel, shampoo tissues and nice fluffy white towels including a nice big wrap around towel for after a shower. There was also a decent hair dryer in the room and enough electric sockets.
Sleep a bit disturbed occasionally by outside noise, but hey ho we were in Blackpool on a Saturday night staying on a main road, it would be naive to expect total peace and quiet !!
Breakfast was really good. Fresh toast that was made for you, selection of cereals, a jug of chilled fruit juice on the table, jugs of tea or coffee brought to your table and a self service cooked breakfast which was delicious. :)))
The location was excellent for us it was less than a 2 minute walk from the opera house where we were going and a 5 minute walk (max) to the promenade. There are plenty of car parks around the area, the majority of the hotels in the road do not have parking and there are double yellow lines both sides of the road.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you contact the hotel prior to your stay as it is a four store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

just had another brilliant stay at the avon .. we stay here every year and wouldn't stay at any other hotel. Love our room . breakfast is lovely and hot with plenty of choice every morning. owners are lovely and kind and nothing is too much trouble . not a long walk to tower and town and lovely to return to a nice warm room after a cold day by the sea...for a lovely hot chocolate.. brilliant

Room Tip: is a lot of stairs to get to some rooms but as out most of the day its not a chore really. our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlinswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lovely Overnight stay owners friendly and made us very welcome rooms nice and clean complimentery tea/coffee in rooms breakfast very nice self service which was very enjoyable very well positioned for all activities/shows etc would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuenhaus, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Avon is a small hotel in Blackpool. Breakfast is good, personnel is very friendly and in your room you can make tea or coffee. The room is clean, but there are some missing elements. I had a single room. It was a litte room and unfortunately there was no place for a single chair. I could only use the bed when I would read or write.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very nice overnight stay at the Avon. Brilliant location. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a fantastic self service breakfast. My only complaint is that Ive tried to re-book several times since our stay but its always fully booked so I guess that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

just got back after a brill weekend first time stayed at the avon hotel it was lovely room 5 is gorgeous and well worth £25 each for the night owners were lovely and friendly and left you to it breakfast was lovely to self service in which i found better cos you could have a choice defo would stay again and will be looking forwards to coming back to you time and time again x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdavid359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Well myself & my friend stayed here due to the closeness of the winter gardens & the price. Best £22 i have ever spent... Clean & tidy room, free tolietries, tea & coffee facilities, yes it was at the top of the hotel but hey they are only small flights of stairs.. breakfast was delicious, owners very friendly.. Will def be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dad27847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#218 of 857 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#309 of 857 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Hotel

Property: The Avon Hotel
Address: 112 Albert Rd, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 857 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is Situated in the heart of Blackpool.A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at our family run hotel, which is ideally located just two or three minutes walk from the Winter Gardens, Tower, Promenade, the Beach and Central Pier.We provide late keys for those who wish to sample the vibrant nightlife.Many of our guests return to the hotel year after year.It is important to us that all our guests have a pleasant stay, with friendly personal service and attention to detail at all times.Whether visiting Blackpool on holiday or business, from the moment you arrive at The Avon. Our aim is to deliver a service to inspire you to return and a place that you will be confident to recommend to friends.The Avon offers free wireless Internet connection for guests wishing to use their laptop computers.At The Avon, we really have tried to think of everything to make your stay with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We have even provided an iron and ironing board and whilst we know you’ll be only too happy to leave the household chores at home, it’s there if you need it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing