We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit 7th June 2014”
Review of The Avon Hotel

The Avon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avon Hotel
Ranked #380 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a group of 8 of us travelling down from Scotland for a one night stay. We found the owners to be very friendly and accommodating, letting one of us have an early check-in and we were allowed to leave our bags after check-out to collect later. Rooms albeit up a few flights of stairs were clean and served the purpose. Breakfast was great, food fantastic and plenty of it. Great value. Xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank charliebobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Only thing I can complain about is no bar, which would finish this great b&b. The breakfast buffet is brill with good products served, I am in room 6 with big en-suite. If your coming to Blackpool give the avon a try you won't be disappointed, don't know about the other rooms but room 6 has plenty space, can be a bit loud outside on weekends but that's expected with stags and hens.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1985born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We go to the Avon hotel every year and going again this year . the hotel is clean and then breakfast is the best I have ever had. The family that own and run the hotel are the best . try it and then you know what I mean

Room Tip: Give the hotel a try and then you wouldn't want to book any other hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 152jenny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you're looking for a lovely place to stay, offering great value and with a good location, then The Avon must be a consideration. It is clean, comfortable and has a cracking breakfast, which is just what is needed after a long night out! Nice hot showers, all en suite, tea,coffee and other nice touches. Only a sort walk to the tower and the other attractions between central and north piers, it offers a real alternative to box rooms like the traveldoge and premier inns, whilst costing a lot less too. Be aware there's lots of stairs so if you're not great on your pins, get a first floor room. It didn't bother the four of us and we'll be staying there again, soon. Lovely hosts, they can't do enough for you, like sorting us out a car parking spot with an adjacent.hotel; thanks for that! Have I mentioned the breakfast??!! You'll be lucky find a better one anywhere in the town at a similar place, superb. I hope you give Avon a try as I know you'll love it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelizard1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at the Avon overnight as we had come to Blackpool for a Bob Dylan concert. The hotel is NOT a back street boarding house as one visitor has written it is a Main Street which leads directly up from the promenade and all of the properties on the road are hotels.
We were greeted by Jeanette and both her and her husband were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and clean, warm and cosy and nicely decorated. We had a comfortable, what seemed like, a king size bed 2 comfy chairs to sit in the big bay window and if we had needed it a decent sized flat screen TV with plenty of free view channels, important for my husband as he needed to catch up on all the football updates!!!!
There was also tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities with plenty of supplies including milk and biccies. The bathroom was spotless and again with plenty of supplies of soap, shower gel, shampoo tissues and nice fluffy white towels including a nice big wrap around towel for after a shower. There was also a decent hair dryer in the room and enough electric sockets.
Sleep a bit disturbed occasionally by outside noise, but hey ho we were in Blackpool on a Saturday night staying on a main road, it would be naive to expect total peace and quiet !!
Breakfast was really good. Fresh toast that was made for you, selection of cereals, a jug of chilled fruit juice on the table, jugs of tea or coffee brought to your table and a self service cooked breakfast which was delicious. :)))
The location was excellent for us it was less than a 2 minute walk from the opera house where we were going and a 5 minute walk (max) to the promenade. There are plenty of car parks around the area, the majority of the hotels in the road do not have parking and there are double yellow lines both sides of the road.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you contact the hotel prior to your stay as it is a four store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vivs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

just had another brilliant stay at the avon .. we stay here every year and wouldn't stay at any other hotel. Love our room . breakfast is lovely and hot with plenty of choice every morning. owners are lovely and kind and nothing is too much trouble . not a long walk to tower and town and lovely to return to a nice warm room after a cold day by the sea...for a lovely hot chocolate.. brilliant

Room Tip: is a lot of stairs to get to some rooms but as out most of the day its not a chore really. our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlinswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lovely Overnight stay owners friendly and made us very welcome rooms nice and clean complimentery tea/coffee in rooms breakfast very nice self service which was very enjoyable very well positioned for all activities/shows etc would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshlady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#104 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 861 in Blackpool
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#271 of 861 in Blackpool
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Hotel

Address: 112 Albert Rd, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is Situated in the heart of Blackpool.A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at our family run hotel, which is ideally located just two or three minutes walk from the Winter Gardens, Tower, Promenade, the Beach and Central Pier.We provide late keys for those who wish to sample the vibrant nightlife.Many of our guests return to the hotel year after year.It is important to us that all our guests have a pleasant stay, with friendly personal service and attention to detail at all times.Whether visiting Blackpool on holiday or business, from the moment you arrive at The Avon. Our aim is to deliver a service to inspire you to return and a place that you will be confident to recommend to friends.The Avon offers free wireless Internet connection for guests wishing to use their laptop computers.At The Avon, we really have tried to think of everything to make your stay with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We have even provided an iron and ironing board and whilst we know you’ll be only too happy to leave the household chores at home, it’s there if you need it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing