We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the food”

David Ferguson at The Belmont
Ranked #269 of 1,153 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: US$0 - US$86
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester
Level Contributor
232 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch on a lovely sunny day. It's a nice place to eat both inside and out. That said, the food took a long time to arrive which isn't great if you're on a lunch break from work. Also, two of us had the Brazil nut burger which was awful. It disintegrated on the plate and was therefore really hard to eat without making a huge mess and so dry. We had to keep searching at other tables for more mayo to try to make it edible. The rest of the party seemed to enjoy their food though although it was noted that the portions of chips were very small for the price. I was disappointed that no one came over to check if we were happy. That said, one of the bar staff was very friendly and helpful when I needed a bottle warmed for my son.

Helpful?
Thank Lawyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leicester uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Windows on New Walk”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Service was excellent, atmosphere very pleasant, interesting new menu, very good wine selection (we prefer Old World wines.)

The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doraluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, lovely food, great value and service.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The food was very tasty, portion size was generous, veg etc included in price. 3 courses for £18 was excellent value. One of the best places to eat/drink and relax in Leicester.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 79jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Delicious food in a beautifully refurbished restaurant. Highly recommended. Good value for money and great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xoelerixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with a friend”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

On the way to De Montfort Hall we called for lunch. We had the 2 courses for £14.94 and really enjoyed it. The young lady serving was attentive and pleasant, the food (spinach roulade followed by raspberry and almond sponge) was gorgeous and beautifully served. My friend's steak was spot on! There was only one other table occupied that day so they were not under pressure but I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Ferguson at The Belmont also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to David Ferguson at The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing