We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #17 of 1,124 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“New Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went on Sunday lunch time to try the new menu and had a very good meal. The place was full and the restaurant's service was a victim of its own success in that the gap between courses was a bit uncomfortably long. We did get an apology from the floor manager, and the food itself was excellent. It is very good value as well
A word of advice about parking, which can be difficult in central Leicester even on a Sunday. Do not be tempted to park in the loading bays opposite the restaurant entrance. We did, then thought better of it, and the fellow who took our place got a ticket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre94Leicester, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service being slower than expected on your recent visit. This is not our normal service and I can see you have reviewed us previously without issue. I would like to assure you that on your next visit the service will be back to it's normal high standards. Newark Street car park is 1 street away and is multi storey, giving great accessibility to our restaurant and the city centre and we always recommend this as a suitable parking area.
We look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards,

Daniel Thom
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    284
    81
    36
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend took me for lunch here last Saturday as she has been a few times and said it was perfect for 'ladies that lunch'. 3 courses for £12.95 was amazing value and the wine list was good too with some bin numbers on offer as well. The food wasn't fine dining by any means but it was really tasty and I particularly liked the veg, had just the right crunch to it. The service was excellent and they were all very friendly. It was busy but a great intimate atmosphere. I think they do a loyalty card as well. All in all, had a lovely lunch and excellent value for money. will be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre94Leicester, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on us. It's great to see you'll be coming back to visit us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Daniel Thom
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Leicester doesn't seem to have many choices of places to eat. This was reduced further by the bank holiday weekend. However, I stumpled upon Le Bistrot Pierre.

I had the veg risotto to start, which was very tasty, but a little dry. I had the sea bass main which comes on asparagus, peas and snow peas. It also has veg and potato dauphinoise as sides. I didn't eat the sides as the starter and fish filled me up. The fish was nicely cooked but needed more salt.

I'll definitely come back when I'm visiting family.

Helpful?
Thank GarethWEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre94Leicester, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on us. We look forward to you dining here with your family soon.

Best regards,

Daniel Thom
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Restaurant decor pleasant without being fussy. Menu choice good several but not too many dishes to choose from and all tastes catered for.Food well prepared and presented.Found it to be very good value and comparable to more expensive restaurant chains on the high street. Well worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank Santobruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre94Leicester, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for this review of us. Although we are a small chain of restaurants we try our hardest to keep the character and individuality of each restaurant and to make each of our sites it's own. Unlike larger chain restaurants we cook as much of our food fresh in-house and it is this that means we can maintain our high standards and levels of quality.
We greatly look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Daniel Thom
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good quality food and good service and value for money for what you get. Do different offers every month which is very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre94Leicester, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts in this review. Our special offers are a 6 course set menu, served on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month for £22.95 as well as our Dine with Wine evening, 2 courses (£22.95) or 3 courses (£27.95) served with a glass of specially selected wine to match each course. All details of these one night only menus are available on our website.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Daniel Thom
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing