We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #69 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sharonloveshols
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'm astounded by the mixed reviews this place receives! Two of us went for a birthday meal, this time we sat upstairs which is definitely nicer. The sangria is lovely. Between us we ordered the vegetarian paella, pork kebabs on skewers, stuffed aubergine, chicken stuffed with goats cheese and sun dried tomatoes and a scallops with sage in parma ham. We couldn't fault it, the food was all very tasty and plenty for the two of us . The stuffed chicken was off the specials board and lush, shame it's not on the permanent menu! Loved all the food and overall ambience. This was my 2nd visit and I can't wait for a 3rd time.
Only small downside was the wait for orders to be taken, but it was a busy Saturday night so forgivable

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear your evening with us was a success.
We believe that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and find it very disheartening when a customer leaves our restaurant not completely satisfied, we constantly review our menus and staff training and always try our best to improve and go that extra mile. So it is very pleasing to know you enjoyed it all.
We are happy to know you enjoyed our specials range and look forward to serving you again where hopefully you will find our new specials equally (if not better) as the last.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    109
    54
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Took my son and daughter in-law Saturday 31st May. Booked the table in the week and requested a table with a bit of room as my daughter in-law is pregnant, as I know the tables can be pretty tight with no space. This was not acknowledge and I had to ask again and did get a decent table.. The service was poor, the food was poor and expensive for what is was. Some of the dishes were not quiet right to the menu & when questioning the staff the could not give a proper answer.. Felt sad and embarrassed for taking my son & daughter in-law there. I have been here many times before and always had good food. It seems it has either changed hands or the chefs have been changed. Will not being going back !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your recent review.
Also many thanks for being a regular customer when previously you have all ways had good food.
However, on this occasion, you felt very disappointed and that has disappointed us.
You booked on a Saturday night (our busiest night) and requested a 'roomy' table as your daughter in law was pregnant.
We all ways make a note of such requests and, even on a busy night, do our best to fit in with our customers needs.
The table was originally booked for three and, although we do have tables for three, we allocated to your party a table for up to four people to meet with your request.
On the night itself one extra person had joined your party. At your request we moved you to a table more to your suiting.
I personally dealt with your queries regarding the food you had ordered, in particular Salchichon Iberico and Patatas Bravas.
Salchichon is a cured pork sausage (a Spanish Salami), and ours is of the highest quality as it is made from the Iberian pig native to Spain (hence Salchichon Iberico).
It should always be served in thin round slices and at room temperature, as we do.
We are sorry you did not like it served in this way.
The potatoes in our Patatas Bravas are par roasted then fried off in olive oil. We find this gives a softness to the inside of the potato, combined with a very flavoursome golden brown skin.
We then top this with a combination of spicy tomato salsa (a recipe from Burgos, northern Spain) and allioli, (a garlic mayonnaise recipe from Valencia).
We will not toss the potatoes in the sauce (rarely found in Spain except in cheap tapas bars) and find our customers prefer to choose between the sauces, and to choose the amount they wish to load onto their potato pieces (difficult to do if tossed in the sauces). It is nice to see that the BBC good food guide does their Bravas in exactly the same way.
You were not happy with the way we did either of the above dishes and so we were happy to take these off you bill.
The food we provide is always accurate to the menu description.
Following the initial comments about the table and food, I made sure we checked back on your table to ensure that all was well with the other items you had chosen.
In leaving a gratuity (which our staff are all ways grateful for) when the bill was paid I assumed all was well.
In spite of costs greatly increasing over the past year, we have not increased our prices for the past eighteen months in the hope that our customers visit us on regular basis.
Our head chef has been with us for eighteen years and our two second chefs have been with us for over six years each.
The owners established the restaurant in 1989 and to this day continue to play an active hands on roll.
We do hope that you will consider dining with us again in the future, and we very much look forward to serving you should you decide to change your mind.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Looks like a buzzing restaurant. Service was really slow and when the food came it was barely warm. The tapas themselves were disappointing and it was expensive for what it was. I will not be going back in a hurry.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are sorry to hear your evening with us was not up scratch and we can only apologise for this.

We always carry out at least one check back on every table to give customers the opportunity to comment on our dishes and service.
It is always difficult for us to rectify the problems if nothing is said to us on the night.

We do hope you wont be completely put off from visiting us again.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice tapas, quite expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Food and atmosphere are good, managed to get a table on Friday evening without booking. Certain days of the week they do a 3 tapas for £12.99 plus a drink. The selection on the menu is very large and quite a hard choice to decide what to have! Hard to tell how much food will be on a dish though until it comes out, some dishes had a lot more food on the plate than others, despite being a similar price. We got 3 tapas each and a drink which came to £50 total, I thought this was a lot just for tapas. However the food all tasted good with maybe 1 or 2 of them being over flavoured. Would recommend but on a night where they have the offer to avoid spending too much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BradM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate your comments and have taken them on board.
We always buy our fresh ingredients from local suppliers and this can sometimes cost a little more than buying in frozen, we do however always charge our customers what we believe to be a fair price.
We know our menu is quite large but with so many fantastic tapas dishes available (meat, veg and fish) and being so popular it is hard to narrow it down. Our staff are trained and encouraged to help customers where possible with suggestions on what and how many dishes to order. This can sometimes be difficult due to customers preferences to certain dishes and also how hungry they are.
Once again thank you for comments we really do appreciate them.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice food. a tad pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a meal here.

Let's set the scene. It is a Friday night before the bank holiday weekend.

We booked for 2115 and were seated immediately. We were seated upstairs and it seemed that we were the only table of 2 there. There were a number a larger tables, and that created a lot of noise, but we were all good with that.

Our order was taken and we then had a bit of a wait (45 minutes) before our food arrived. When it did, it was exactly what we expected

We ordered 7 dishes between the two if us, and me being a greedy plug, finished everything (apart from the mushrooms as I don't like them!!)


Everything ewas really tasty.

Our only surprise was the bill, as it came in at £52. Bear in mind that this was just 2 of us. The big sucprise was that a pint of San Miguel cost £3.70 ( which I thought was a lot)

Nonetheless, this is the best tapas in Leicester and we will go again but no might just have soft drinks and salad next time!!

7 L

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gavvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very competitive with our prices and believe we are in line with the rest of the area (if not slightly cheaper) on our beers and spirits.
We buy all of our fresh ingredients from local suppliers which sometimes can cost a little more than buying in frozen. We constantly review our prices and always look to charge what we feel is a fair price.
We very much appreciate that you had a bit of a wait for meal and hope this will not put you off coming to visit us again.
Once again thank you.

Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing