We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #65 of 1,155 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times, never been disappointed. Service is okay but the place is very busy so it can be forgiven. The food is great value though ans is consistently high quality. Never left not feeling full up either so don't let the idea of tapas fool you. Very cramped though so may be worth booking ahead. Great for a date but due to the size not so ideal for larger groups. Also the bar is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to know you have dined with us on several occasions and have never been disappointed.
We constantly review our prices and always use fresh produce in all of our dishes from our freshly made daily vegetable paella, made from rice, Mediterranean vegetables and cooked in our own vegetable stock with olive oil, saffron and seasoning through to our homemade desserts, and believe (like your self) we are great value for money.
We apologise if you felt our tables are a little cramped we will always where every possible try to seat customers at larger tables or in preferred area of the restaurant on request.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    111
    54
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Enjoy the atmosphere, it's something different”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Mixed reviews left us wondering what might be at this busy, lively tapas restaurant. We went in at first sitting (6.30) with a bunch of other diners inc. a hen party and yet the service we had was very friendly, the right pace and they knew their menu when we asked about the food.
The tables are small but you get a Tapas table as well so there is enough room really and the staff help you not to "over order" from a huge menu. Have 3 small Tapas or 1 large and 2 small, enjoy meat, fish or veggie menus to choose from...we sampled 11 dishes between 4 of us inc. pork and chorizo kebab, stuffed squid, cheese balls, Asturian casserole, salad, mussels, scallops in ham and all were of a reasonable size and well cooked. The star was the casserole.....brilliant.

With beers etc. to start and 2 bottles of average priced wine, desserts and coffee the bill was £30 a head so not bad and we were full!

So if you like sharing and trying out different foods give this place a go with its busy ( and noisy) atmosphere. If you like quiet relaxed table food then maybe not?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and are very happy to know you enjoyed your first visit with us and hope there will be many more.
It is always nice to know customers appreciate our wide range of freshly made dishes and our service, it shows us our hard work and dedication is paying off.

Thanks again,

We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Tapas, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a local to us so we frequently visit as we enjoy the relaxed casual dining experience. The entrance to the restaurant is through the main entrance to the adjoined Dos Hermanos Bar, excellent for a few drinks or cocktails, but highly recommended for its breakfast & brunch menu served until late afternoon.

The tapas is good, recommend the deep fried goats cheese served with honey, excellent if your not concerned about over indulging! All the meats & cheeses are top notch, as is the wine & the atmosphere is great if you go on a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again, where you could perhaps try one of our monthly changing cheese board selections, sourced from not only the finest Spanish cheeses but also locally produced cheeses and more.

Once again thanks,

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharonloveshols
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'm astounded by the mixed reviews this place receives! Two of us went for a birthday meal, this time we sat upstairs which is definitely nicer. The sangria is lovely. Between us we ordered the vegetarian paella, pork kebabs on skewers, stuffed aubergine, chicken stuffed with goats cheese and sun dried tomatoes and a scallops with sage in parma ham. We couldn't fault it, the food was all very tasty and plenty for the two of us . The stuffed chicken was off the specials board and lush, shame it's not on the permanent menu! Loved all the food and overall ambience. This was my 2nd visit and I can't wait for a 3rd time.
Only small downside was the wait for orders to be taken, but it was a busy Saturday night so forgivable

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear your evening with us was a success.
We believe that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and find it very disheartening when a customer leaves our restaurant not completely satisfied, we constantly review our menus and staff training and always try our best to improve and go that extra mile. So it is very pleasing to know you enjoyed it all.
We are happy to know you enjoyed our specials range and look forward to serving you again where hopefully you will find our new specials equally (if not better) as the last.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Took my son and daughter in-law Saturday 31st May. Booked the table in the week and requested a table with a bit of room as my daughter in-law is pregnant, as I know the tables can be pretty tight with no space. This was not acknowledge and I had to ask again and did get a decent table.. The service was poor, the food was poor and expensive for what is was. Some of the dishes were not quiet right to the menu & when questioning the staff the could not give a proper answer.. Felt sad and embarrassed for taking my son & daughter in-law there. I have been here many times before and always had good food. It seems it has either changed hands or the chefs have been changed. Will not being going back !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your recent review.
Also many thanks for being a regular customer when previously you have all ways had good food.
However, on this occasion, you felt very disappointed and that has disappointed us.
You booked on a Saturday night (our busiest night) and requested a 'roomy' table as your daughter in law was pregnant.
We all ways make a note of such requests and, even on a busy night, do our best to fit in with our customers needs.
The table was originally booked for three and, although we do have tables for three, we allocated to your party a table for up to four people to meet with your request.
On the night itself one extra person had joined your party. At your request we moved you to a table more to your suiting.
I personally dealt with your queries regarding the food you had ordered, in particular Salchichon Iberico and Patatas Bravas.
Salchichon is a cured pork sausage (a Spanish Salami), and ours is of the highest quality as it is made from the Iberian pig native to Spain (hence Salchichon Iberico).
It should always be served in thin round slices and at room temperature, as we do.
We are sorry you did not like it served in this way.
The potatoes in our Patatas Bravas are par roasted then fried off in olive oil. We find this gives a softness to the inside of the potato, combined with a very flavoursome golden brown skin.
We then top this with a combination of spicy tomato salsa (a recipe from Burgos, northern Spain) and allioli, (a garlic mayonnaise recipe from Valencia).
We will not toss the potatoes in the sauce (rarely found in Spain except in cheap tapas bars) and find our customers prefer to choose between the sauces, and to choose the amount they wish to load onto their potato pieces (difficult to do if tossed in the sauces). It is nice to see that the BBC good food guide does their Bravas in exactly the same way.
You were not happy with the way we did either of the above dishes and so we were happy to take these off you bill.
The food we provide is always accurate to the menu description.
Following the initial comments about the table and food, I made sure we checked back on your table to ensure that all was well with the other items you had chosen.
In leaving a gratuity (which our staff are all ways grateful for) when the bill was paid I assumed all was well.
In spite of costs greatly increasing over the past year, we have not increased our prices for the past eighteen months in the hope that our customers visit us on regular basis.
Our head chef has been with us for eighteen years and our two second chefs have been with us for over six years each.
The owners established the restaurant in 1989 and to this day continue to play an active hands on roll.
We do hope that you will consider dining with us again in the future, and we very much look forward to serving you should you decide to change your mind.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing