We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and Great Value”
Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #65 of 1,155 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Great Value”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my first visit here, but hopefully not my last. Although downstairs appears to cramped for space i found the atmosphere to be nice and relaxed. With the decor giving it a lovely spanish feel. We felt and were made to feel at ease by the friendly manner of the staff.
The menu had more than enough variety for most peoples pallet. All i can comment on is what we choose to eat and we found everything to be cooked just right and delicious with just the right amount. We were full up and it was also great value for what i had paid.
I would highly recommend the Barceloneta to everyone, it was a good place to have a relaxing evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased to hear your first (and hopefully not your last) visit with us was to your satisfaction, we apologise if you felt our downstairs was a little cramped but glad the atmosphere and friendly service made up for it. We are always more than happy to seat customers upstairs on request if at all possible.
We pride ourselves on making all of our food from fresh and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your selections from our wide choice of meat, vegetable and fish dishes, we are equally pleased you found the value of your food to be great.

We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future and hope you try some of our other fantastic dishes and even our varied range of specials we have on offer.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    111
    54
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average food and friendly service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is very noisy and very busy. We went on a Friday night and found the service a bit slow. However the service was very friendly.
Good atmosphere though. Very wide menu selection and great for vegetarians. The food was a not overly hot and I found a few items a bit too oily. Creme Caramel desert was lovely though. Not a cheap place to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We would like to thank you for your mixed reviews on the restaurant, we take all comments (good or bad) very seriously and hold regular meetings to discuss these comments and see where we can improve.

We can only apologise for the restaurant being noisy, we are a very busy restaurant especially on weekends, but pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere.
We also apologise if you felt the service was a little slow, as I am sure you can appreciate on our busy weekends we try our best to give our customers the full attention and service they deserve. We hold regular staff meetings to discuss ways we can improve this.
We do check backs on all our tables at least once, giving the customer the chance to let us know if they have problems with any of their dishes, at which point we will always try to rectify the problem, It is always difficult to do this after a customer as left and not reported a problem.
Thank you for your kind comments about our crème caramel which we make ourselves from scratch.
We do hope you will dine with us again and maybe even try one of our other freshly homemade desserts.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times, never been disappointed. Service is okay but the place is very busy so it can be forgiven. The food is great value though ans is consistently high quality. Never left not feeling full up either so don't let the idea of tapas fool you. Very cramped though so may be worth booking ahead. Great for a date but due to the size not so ideal for larger groups. Also the bar is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to know you have dined with us on several occasions and have never been disappointed.
We constantly review our prices and always use fresh produce in all of our dishes from our freshly made daily vegetable paella, made from rice, Mediterranean vegetables and cooked in our own vegetable stock with olive oil, saffron and seasoning through to our homemade desserts, and believe (like your self) we are great value for money.
We apologise if you felt our tables are a little cramped we will always where every possible try to seat customers at larger tables or in preferred area of the restaurant on request.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Enjoy the atmosphere, it's something different”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Mixed reviews left us wondering what might be at this busy, lively tapas restaurant. We went in at first sitting (6.30) with a bunch of other diners inc. a hen party and yet the service we had was very friendly, the right pace and they knew their menu when we asked about the food.
The tables are small but you get a Tapas table as well so there is enough room really and the staff help you not to "over order" from a huge menu. Have 3 small Tapas or 1 large and 2 small, enjoy meat, fish or veggie menus to choose from...we sampled 11 dishes between 4 of us inc. pork and chorizo kebab, stuffed squid, cheese balls, Asturian casserole, salad, mussels, scallops in ham and all were of a reasonable size and well cooked. The star was the casserole.....brilliant.

With beers etc. to start and 2 bottles of average priced wine, desserts and coffee the bill was £30 a head so not bad and we were full!

So if you like sharing and trying out different foods give this place a go with its busy ( and noisy) atmosphere. If you like quiet relaxed table food then maybe not?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and are very happy to know you enjoyed your first visit with us and hope there will be many more.
It is always nice to know customers appreciate our wide range of freshly made dishes and our service, it shows us our hard work and dedication is paying off.

Thanks again,

We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Tapas, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a local to us so we frequently visit as we enjoy the relaxed casual dining experience. The entrance to the restaurant is through the main entrance to the adjoined Dos Hermanos Bar, excellent for a few drinks or cocktails, but highly recommended for its breakfast & brunch menu served until late afternoon.

The tapas is good, recommend the deep fried goats cheese served with honey, excellent if your not concerned about over indulging! All the meats & cheeses are top notch, as is the wine & the atmosphere is great if you go on a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again, where you could perhaps try one of our monthly changing cheese board selections, sourced from not only the finest Spanish cheeses but also locally produced cheeses and more.

Once again thanks,

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing