We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot be faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
grantham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cannot be faulted”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

friendly staff and perfect location add that to free parking and you have a perfect location for a holiday in leicestershire

Room Tip: the view from the 9th floor is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vespapx200e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    441
    92
    31
    27
See reviews for
258
330
117
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I came here on business, arriving at around 4.45pm. It turned out that, while my employer had paid for the hotel, they had not faxed a copy as well. While this was no doubt due to my employer not reading the smallprint and the staff were sympathetic, they were certainly inflexible. With it being just minutes before every member of the finance team back at the office went home, it took me a while to get something sorted. Again, not the hotel's fault, but their inflexibility did prolong the process.

When all this was over, I got my room card and headed up to a far corner, only to find my card didn't work and having to haul my luggage back down to reception as there were no phones on my floor (except in rooms).

When I did settle the room was excellent, though there were some attention to details issues (a hair in the sink, no soap in dispenser, no decaff coffee or herbal teas by the kettle). Certainly it was conformable and I got an excellent nights sleep.

I was disappointed that the WiFi charges were so extortionate. I already subscribe to plans that allow me to use O2, TheCloud, BTOpenzone and other providers, but only an Orange package was available here at entirely unaffordable prices.

The evening meal was appalling. I was staying on a value deal which meant I had to pick from a reduced menu. Despite the menu as a whole catering extremely well for vegetarians, the deal menu included only one choice. The food was average, mainly having the appearance and quality of something you'd get in a chain pub for a fraction of the price. I suspect most of it was taken out the freezer and either deep fried or nuked on my behalf. The only thing worse than the food was the service. It took nearly five minutes from me being seated to even being offered a drink (and it wasn't exactly busy), I was then able to drink my class of wine before the starter arrived. I asked for a glass of tap water when my main arrived, reminded them when they collected it and again when I ordered desert. Finally, having got bored of waiting, I left.

I made these remarks on my comment card, leaving contact details, but have heard nothing.

I should add that the breakfast did not follow the experience of the night before. It was excellent, and I couldn't say a bad word about it.

All in all, I suppose I shouldn't moan. It was a relatively cheap stay at a very good location and I've not slept that soundly in a hotel in years and, ultimately, that's what I (well, my employer) were paying for. However, having had a look round Leicester, I realise that there were many, many better places to eat, several better places to drink and, possibly, equally good places to stay. The problems weren't huge...they were just small things. But when they all add up, you leave disappointed, knowing things could have been much better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The hotel is located a couple of minutes walk from the train station so it's nice and handy. The staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean, of a good size and equipped with everything you need. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is nice and the food from the restaurant in the evening is good too. Only minor gripe is the bedroom windows can't be opened so there is a very slight musty smell. Overall a really really good stay. So much better than the ramada in Leicester and cheaper too. I'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toferbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Had never stayed in Premier Inn before but needed somewhere close to railway station and where I was visiting. Didn't expect too much as it only cost £52 for the night but was very pleasantly surprised. Room was large, modern, well equipped and the bathroom was spotless. As advertised, the bed was large, comfortable and the linen very good (definately not budget as some other chains are). Didn't eat there but breakfast looked quite good. Despite being on first floor and just set back from the main road it was surprisingly quiet. Not the best end of town but okay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Very easy check-in service and friendly staff. The room was very clean nothing too fancy but was great for the price we paid. No iron in room but called room service and a staff member brought it straight away to my room. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Close to Shopping Centre, restaurants and clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilac1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel.The location is perfect for the railway station and the shops.The staff are very helpful and friendly, and immediately gave us a map of the area to enable us to locate the local amenities.The room was very clean and presentable,with a comfortable bed and extra pilows if we needed them,with adequate storage and hanging space. The bathroom was of the highest standard in decor and cleanliness.The room also offered tea/coffee making facilties, and a tv.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catswhiskas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I have stayed at Premier Inns before and always thought they were really, really good and this one was no exception. Clean in both room and communal areas, staff friendly at reception and at breakfast, excellent breakfast choice and location excellent, too (just a few minutes walk from city centre). We easily found a parking space at hotel but be warned that parking spaces are limited - we arrived at around 1.00 pm but later in the day, especially evenings, you may have to park in the public car park opposite the hotel. The room itself was very basic (as with all budget hotels) but sufficient for our needs and I do agree that it was difficult to see small writing on the TV screen from the bed. We did not find it all noisy as regards noise from within the hotel but as it was Friday evening, we could hear a few revellers to the level of background noise and a few police sirens but things calmed down totally by midnight so very good. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again, should I come to Leciester in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Address: St. Georges Tower 1 St. Georges Way, Leicester LE1 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leicester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#6 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city of Leicester and the tale of the infamous king at the King Richard III Visitor Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing