We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms and got bitten by bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms and got bitten by bedbugs!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have stayed at many Premier Inn's before and enjoyed the luxury, however, this room was tiny! It was really high up, and although the building was easy to pick out when we were walking, it was a complete eyesore - more of a travelodge standard than premier inn.

The receptionist was very nice, and the service of the bar staff was again, good. However, after waking up in the morning, I had a series of three bite marks on my thigh, and one on my foot - a quick visit to a medical confirmed these were 99.9% likely to be bedbug bites. Bites were very itchy for several days afterwards - wished I'd inspected under covers now!

Wall by TV was all damaged and marked, and the carpet had a nasty brown stain.

Didn't pay for the room after complaining about bed bug bites, manager said they've never had bed bugs there, but I've found one other review stating they have. Will never go there again, and in the future, will stick to the Hilton, especially thanks to the good deals you can get sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Determined_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were let down by the room standards. Since your stay, our rooms have been checked over by an external specialist company, who confirm that there are no traces of bedbugs. We do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    442
    92
    33
    27
See reviews for
260
331
118
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

stayed here last week for three nights!wasnt sure what to expect as didnt no the area and when u look at the building from outside its not the prettiest looking!But we checked in and all was fine receptionist was very helpful!parking was fine in underground cat park lots free spaces luckily although we were told that if there wasnt any free spaces then we would have to pay to aprk in the other ones which are 6.00 for twenty four hours!!but we had no trouble parking here altho got bit buisier near the weekend!!
The room was a quad room which meant we had a double a single and a pullout bed as well!!All fine room was large enough for a family!very clean and decent bathroom!had tv,kettle hairdryer etc altho no iron so maybe if we asked they would provide one!
one great bonus was air conditioning especially as we were there in the very hot weather,it kept the room lovely and cool!!
we had breakfast with our package deal it was eat as much as u like and it was a great choice of usual cooked breakfast foods plus crossiants,muffins,crumpets,yogurts,cereals,fruist etc etc!!lots and lots of choice!
We also chose to eat in restaurant each evening and again you could do a meal deal if wanted!food was lovely no complaints plenty choices for adults and children alike!
The staff in this place are amazing they are all so helpful and friendly and nothing is too much troublle for them!they asked you how day had been etc ,what we had done etc!all so nice as people are so impersonal these days!
was a bit concerned about the hotel as was right in city centre on main road but once inside there was no noise at all!!didnt hear a thing outside at all whilst in bed!
Only thing i can say was not good for us was the bed was far too hard which surprised me as thought premier in beds were comfy but maybe thats just personal taste!!
All in all it was a great stay and would def use again for our short stay to the area to visit family!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jems21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here recently for a night away.
Hotel is easy to find, and is in a great location for the centre.
Not the friendliest of welcomes upon arrival at reception as a lot of rooms weren't ready, even though we didn't check in until gone 3.30pm, its not the customers fault, eventually another room was found for both our groups.
Room was clean and tidy though.
Lifts are very very slow, and often ended up using the stairs, but when on the 6th floor that can be tiring.
We didn't pay for breakfast as we went to the nearby pub for that. The bar also shuts very early for a hotel too, we got back around 12.30 and wanted a drink but were told it was shut and locked up.

Overall, for its location only, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSwindon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed one night for daughters graduation .Excellent and very friendly stafff. Room was clean and well kept and we had a good nights sleep.Good breakfast with a good choiceof food.
Excellent location for train station ( Couple of hundred yards).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel,and all I can say is great budget hotel,
Yes the guaranteed good nights sleep was very welcoming(as I am not known to sleep well).
Pilliows were perfect and the bed was so comfy I didnt want to get up.The bathroom was clean and spacious lots of hot water the room was clean and spacious but rather dark no matter p.lenty of lighting.Cannot praise the staff enough so helpful and friendly.
good breakfast plenty of choice and you could go up as many times as you like.
The on.ly downside was the evening meal steak was not up to much and a long wait for it
but the waiter really looked after us and offered us a desert on the house!
So all in all a great break and we will return

Room Tip: ask for high floor and quiet room not much of a view but very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed for a single Thursday night for business and was very impressed. Having previously writted off budget hotel chains in the past I am finding myself increasingly changing my attitude towards them as this is the second great permier inn I have stayed in recently.

The hotel is very close (stumbling distance) from the train station and it cannot be missed when finding your way back after a night or day out as it sticks out like a sore thumb (looks nothing like the pictures on here......is a multi-coloured tower block)
We were very warmly welcomed at reception, advised about the 'great sleep guarantee' etc. My room was on the 7th floor and was enormous. I also had the strange boxed-in beam in the room but it didnt bother me. Very very clean, air conditioning and massive bed- perfect for a single night for business.

We visited the bar after a conference dinner and the girl serving could not have been more friendly or helpful. Was much appreciated.
Breakfast was the same friendly service and usual permier inn breakfast, plenty of it and as much as you would like!

If I had to have a bad point it would be that the following morning in the rain we booked a cab with reception. After 30 minutes we gave up and went to get a bus where we found about 40 cabs waiting for passengers at the train station, so that might have been a good tip, but its really a small complaint as the young guy on reception might not have known that was the case.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazza900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here for one night with my gorgeous boyfriend who was working in Leicester.
The room was particularly dark but the bed was very comfortable as would be expected from Premier Inn. The parking is underground and free which is great for a city centre.
Centrally located so you can easily walk out to the restaurants etc.
Good if you need to be in central Leicester, I wouldn't choose to go here just for a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexyrobsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Address: St. Georges Tower 1 St. Georges Way, Leicester LE1 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leicester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#6 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city of Leicester and the tale of the infamous king at the King Richard III Visitor Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing