We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable.”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The staff were very helpful,warm and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good.
Surprisingly, it was very quiet even though we were in the centre. The train station is just next door.
We would come and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    433
    89
    30
    27
See reviews for
251
326
115
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting the comedy festival and were very happy indeed.

Although the free car parking is limited we found a space no problem, and the hotel was happy for us to leave the car there on our departure day for as long as we liked, so we could have a wander round the town without having to worry about parking somewhere else. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We'd booked a twin room, and actually got a king size and a single bed, which was great. This was definitely the best value for a city centre location and we were very surprised at how lovely and quiet the room was despite being on a main road in the city.

The en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean, as were the towels and bedding. Also, the shower head was very clean and not at all scaled up (which is my worst hotel bugbear - turning on the shower and the jets dribble and sputter all over the place) The towels were plentiful, and there was liquid soap provided in fixed dispensers by the sink and bath/shower. I was pleased to see that little bars of soap, shower caps etc were not provided, as this helps keep the cost down, but they were available to buy if you needed them.

I was especially pleased with the extra pillows provided, giving you a choice of firm or soft pillows. What a really great idea.

The location is brilliant - It's no more than a 10 minute walk to more restaurants, pubs, bars and clubs than you can shake a stick at, and there are plenty of food and drink options within a couple of hundred yards. However, because it's just the other side of a main road from the city centre, it isn't surrounded by noisy pubs or bars. We didn't think the breakfast was particularly good value at £8.25 a head (although it is 'all you can eat'), so we ate breakfast at The Reynard in Market street (about 5 mins walk away) which at £1.99 for a cooked breakfast was a lot more like it (There's also a Wetherspoons about 100 yards away from the hotel that does good value breakfasts and evening meals)

All in all an excellent experience and we would recommend it and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Only_Tyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Wifi is reasonable, £10/week.
Very comfortable bed. Clean, spacious room.
Room was a bit nippy without the heating on, but it was slightly loud.
Altogether a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price.
Very close to the railway station (rooms very quiet).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We went to Leicester to celebrate my wife's graduation. We found that many of the city centre hotels had seemingly hiked their prices for that week. So we chose the Premier Inn. It was central, just round the corner from the station and nearby to the Curve Theatre where we needed to be for the ceremony.
Building looked like something out of East Germany. It was hideous. Minor point was, they hadn't cleared or gritted the path in front of the hotel. It was like a skating rink. Check in was reasonably efficient. We went up to the room and, while it was very small, not helped by a concrete pillar in the middle, it was of the standard we had come to expect of a Premier Inn. Comfortable and functional. Although one bugbear of mine was storage space was limited. Particularly annoying were the lack of drawers to store things like tickets or paperwork, and the lack of areas to hang clothes e.g. a posh suit needed for such a ceremony.
Breakfast was reasonable on the first day, although the quality of the food on offer was second rate. Standards of catering at Premier inns are clearly in decline. We didn't dine the first day but did the second night. Service was slow, orders confused and there was a general air of chaos and staff completely out of their depth. Possibly they were short staffed.
The second days breakfast could have been a scene out of Fawlty Towers. They couldn't keep up with demand and kept running out of all foods, but particularly eggs and bacon were constantly running low. We were kept waiting for ages for fresh supplies. This is the fundamental flaw in the self-service buffet system, particularly as, so it seemed they were once again short staffed in the kitchen. The breakfast we did get wasn't worth waiting for. I overheard several guests demanding refunds on the breakfast. If we had been in a hurry we would have probably done the same.
All in all the main virtues are location and constant pricing, i.e. they don't hike it for special events. But for future visits, if an economical alternative is available we would take it. Even if, as we head many seemed to fo for the graduation, it meant staying outside of Leicester.

Room Tip: Try and ask for one without the concrete pillar in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The check in was easy and quick. The rooms were nice and spacious. The breakfast choices were fantastic. The only there is no on site parking so you have to go in the multistorey but that is ok because it was really cheap

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Six members of our family stayed for one night in 3 double bed rooms. All the roomswere very clean and tidy. Each room had tea/coffee facilities, a hair dryer and a large flat screen TV. Loads of hot water and clean towels. It's right in the city centre and there wasn't any noise. The underground car park is free, but is very tight for larger cars, with lots of concrete pillars in random places. The aircon kept us toasty whilst it was -2c outside. I found the bed rock hard but the other members of our party said that they were OK ? Overall for £29 a night for each room very good value.

Room Tip: We had rooms on three different sides of the building on the 5th floor and they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

superb hotel breakfast five star dinner three star rooms clean comfy bed didnot want to get up all staff where ok car parking is abit of a sqeeze handy for trains next to the station also only five minuetes from centre of city

Room Tip: higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
899 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Address: St. Georges Tower 1 St. Georges Way, Leicester LE1 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leicester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#6 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city of Leicester and the tale of the infamous king at the King Richard III Visitor Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing