We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Guesthouse in Leicester!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abinger Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Leicester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Ok, I have to admit that I haven't actually stayed at any other guesthouses in Leicester, but after staying at Abinger I won't need to stay anywhere else. This guesthouse is extremely good value for what you get (WiFi, flatscreen with Sky, clean & comfortable room, good breakfast). As a woman travelling solo, I was happy to stay in a place where I felt safe; I was even fine to walk home alone at night from the city centre because Hinckley Road is well lit and well populated. The proprietors, Bob & Theresa, were extremely welcoming and breakfast was always lively with plenty of conversation. I will be returning to Leicester several times over the next few months and I will be staying at Abinger every time!

It is a B & B, so don't expect the Ritz! But, it is a great guesthouse. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyinbritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had a great time at Abinger House. It is located in a very nice, quiet area with shops and good restaurants just a 3-minute walk down the street. The room we stayed in had a huge bed. It also had a view of a beautiful park, we really enjoyed hearing the birds in the morning. Teresa and Bob were very easy-going and helpful and provided a delicious English breakfast. We recommend Abinger house to all travellers who appreciate service with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaiRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I was in Leicster for Christmas week 22/12-29/12.We stayed at Abinger Guest House.I was there with my 19 year old son.
The guest house is very close to the centre and all other amenities.
The room was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was very spacious and comfortable.We had another shower and toilet just outside our room which we found very useful.
We were offered English breakfast everyday (with an exception on christmas day and boxing day) ,and it was excellent.The place was always very tidy and there was nothing to complain about.....
I will definelty reccomend it to everyone....great value for money...very enjoyable and comfortable...Thanks for making our stay in Liecester so comfortable...I hope to visit again in the near future......
Marie louise Galea
Matthew Galea

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLGALEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Hi Marie Louise
Many thanks for your kind words and positive review on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry I didn't get to see you during your visit, but Teresa enjoyed looking after you. (Whenever I was there you were out visiting)
We rely on the feedback of our guests to attract new customers and it's always very gratifying to know someone enjoyed the visit enough to tell future guests, also it helps us to know visitors are not disappointed with our "product".

Next time you are over, I will make sure we meet.....I may even get a chance to cook you breakfast.

Bob Welland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Travelling on a regular basis to Leicester for business, I needed a comfortable hotel accessible for the city centre. This is perfect - it has everything you need for a good night's rest without any unnecessary 'fancy frills'. The bathrooms are very modern and spotlessly clean (and I am fussy). There is tea etc in the room. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrays02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed for just one night during the weekend because I was going to a concert in The Musician. Most Travel Lodges and Premiere Inn's are just too expensive for a 'spur of the moment trip' for just a night. That's why I loved the Abinger Guest House. The bed was very comfortable, there was a nice hot shower, good internet connection and a great BOMBSITE breakfast (you'll understand once you've had it..). The service was very good and I felt right at home. All of that on top of the low price made this a great stay for me. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaKalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Abinger Guest House is a quiet place in Hinckley Road where you can stay for a few days and be well cared.
Bob and Teresa help you in anything they can. The breakfast is awsome and, in the bottom line, we feel at home.
As signed in the guest book: "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Hey Paolo, thanks for the kind words....but you didn't mention th ecrazy wi-fi!!!
We look forward to seeing you at the graduation
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
4.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#20 of 41 in Leicester
534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
668 reviews
2.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
2.7 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Plough Inn
Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Wigston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abinger Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abinger Guest House

Address: 175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abinger Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked top of the guest houses within walking distance of Leicester City Centre, Abinger continues to deliver excellent comfort, cleanliness, technical specification and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Abinger Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abinger Guest House Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing