We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel in history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Leicester
Ranked #19 of 23 Leicester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2010

i stayed in the same room as the review below , normally i read all the reviews on trip advisor before booking , but this time didnt as the photo on late rooms .com looked ok, we only stayed for one night as we were going to a concert, one night was enough all the things that were wrong in the room were still the same when we arrived the plumbing in the bathroom was just copper piping running up the mouldy filthy shower cubical, the tiles were hanging off the walls and there was a glade air freshener that must have been there for years, on the top of the shaving light, we didnt have a shower, and certainly didnt go down for breakfast,when we arrived we asked about parking and was told by the receptionist desk why do you drive such a big car ? the parking is for 2 cars if you park on the other side of this so called hotel you get clamped as half of its let out to sudents, when we were leaving there was blood all over the banisiter, doors bangin all night ,its the only time i have ever shoved a chair under the door and there was 3 of us in this room, DONT GO ANYWHERE NEAR THIS HOTEL ***

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank father
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

We booked this hotel, well i class it far more worse than an B&B. We booked it for 1 week, as soon as we got to the front step i felt sick. The black steps looked like as if some elephant had walked over it. As the steps were wonky, me and my mum got up and down the steps witout no problem, only problem was - My dads on a wheelchair. Before we booked they told us they had no steps. Ok so for 2 days i carried my dad up and down the steps (inc his wheel chair - weight of chair 17 - 19kg). We checked in which was swift. The they said as we looked a decent family we will give you one of our VIP rooms which was behind the check in desk and down a flight of steps. Again my dad was problem + the wheel chair. So down these mucky steps to our room. Huuuh he said vip room felt more like some cardboard box in a junk yard. The owner came across as a good guy, but deep down i clocked him as i lie and a rip off. Ok, the room - Disgusting, pipes hanging of ceiling. No heater, as my dad is old he was shouting at me to get the heater working. No water in room hahaha the wardrobes, hahahaha they are like some rocky train. Go see for yourself. My gosy the windows are so small that even yur cat wont fit through. The service all the way upto the stay is a NO NO GOOO!!! The breakfast was so yuukkk, that i took my mum and dad to a breakfast cafe across the road. Was bit pricey but was better then junk yards. Ok 2nd night i had lost all respect for these guys, phones the Sky Plaza Hotel in Leicester. Next to the Cop Shop. £55 a night for 3 people + free breakfast. Woowwww, that hotel was just like an 3 - 4 star hotel. Even though it was not classed in the stars. The customer service and the hotel was a full on 5*****. So we checked out at 2am in morning. I told the guy at night return my money before i show the video i took off a rat in the hotel in the kitchen walking all over food and given to some poor guy in the morning. He gave my the whole money back inc the 2 nights. Ok but i still did hand that vid over to Health Inspectors. Ok off the the other hotel, told them about our late night exp. They were so kind and understanding they even payed for our taxi fare. Bless them. We only stayed at that hotel as some rat burned down the house next door and ours lit up with it to. So we had to get the cheapest option possible. But if this or any kind of incident was to happen again id go to the Sky Plaza and reccomend all you guys to try this hotel. The Park is known to attract council members of the public who have been evicted from their council houses for various reassons many of them drunks and druggys.

I could go on with this in much more detail, but i might bore you. So i'll stop here. If or not you take or dont take my word for it. All i ask you is stay 1 night at the Park and you will run!!!

Thanks very much for those of you that have read this, and im sorry for any spelling or grammar i have made any mistakes on.

PS. I have the video of the rats but im not sure if Trip Adviosr Management wont accept that and i respect there choice -_-

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1stReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I booked online for this hotel for 2 nights in June and emailed a request for a parking space as instructed in the booking instructions. When we arrived the hotel looked very badly maintained and nothing like the pictures used to advertise the hotel on the website. The parking area was tiny with room for only 2 cars. When I entered the hotel I asked the man on reception about the parking and he said the vans would be gone in the morning and I could park there then. When I asked him about parking in the area he shrugged his shoulders and told me parking was a problem in the area and he didn't know where I could park. He gave me the key to the room on the second floor and left me to find the room.
When I entered the room, there was a musty/mildewy smell in the room. There was a single mattress left against a radiator at the side of the room and the double bed had no headboard. It was situated in front of some large windows overlooking the high street and the windows were filthy. I pulled the curtains to hide the windows and one of the curtains was hanging from the pole and couldn't be attached. The light in the ceiling was a fan with 3 light bulbs underneath - I had to climb onto the bed to put the light on as there was no wall light switch and only 1 lightbulb actually worked. The bathroom had mildew around the base of the shower unit. I went downstairs and the man at the desk wanted to know if I would pay for the 2 nights but I said I would only pay for one night because wouldn't be staying again. The next day I gave my key in at the front desk and told the man at reception that I was checking out. He took the key and just nodded. I have just had payment taken from my account for the 2nd night that I cancelled when I arrived - taken from the credit card I had used to book the rooms with online - and from the reviews I have read I don't expect I will be able to obtain a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DansHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Quote on website - 'Finest B & B in Leicester' - this has to be the most disgusting hotel in the country - I was unable to bring myself to stay there, the website displays pictures which seem to be of its sister hotel - the Stoneycroft which is where they move you if you complain. Rooms were filthy wouldnt have been able to step foot in the bathroom, one of the rooms had a few threads of wallpaper hanging off, there was a drunk blocking the entrance so door was locked on arrival, had to listen to a particuarly unpleasent man shouting to get in whilst was looking at rooms, and to top it all off got a £60 parking ticket for parking outside the hotel where the car park had been blocked off.,,,,,by the hotel staff. Have complained to trading standards and the health inspector. Stay here at your peril!!! I will never be so naive not to check hotel reviews before booking again. Only wish I had taken some pictures, you have to see it to believe how bad it is.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_travellermaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

This "hotel" is one of the worst I have ever seen in the UK!

I stayed for some time (purely because of it's convenient central location - which I think the management "exploits" in being able to get away with shoddy service) - so experienced how this place truly works. Most of the other "residents" are of the long-term variety.

First having been showed an example room I then nipped out to collect my luggage and upon returning to reception desk (a few planks of wood stapled together) the manager with the attitude of "controlling the guests" promptly told me that the room I had seen was "one that I had seen but I would be placed in another - with no option to change". After this uninspiring start I experienced 3 ceiling collapses because of incompetant plumbing in bathroom of room above me. The bathroom floor was filthy and sheets changed every 4/5 days. Laundry is unavailable and a complete joke (as you have to use the public laundry in adjacent street) and service revolves around control of guests - very similar to a DSS hostel or something similar.

As said before the location is convenient and if you're used to travelling in third world locations then it is bearable solely and I stress solely because of the excellent location - which the management exploit to the full in providing a control orientated service geared towards "lifers" staying in the "rooms" between the 4 or 5 floors.

Avoid at all costs for anyone who expects anything other than 1star service at most and who doesn't mind useless plumbing, incompetant management, and frequent ceiling collapses.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlantic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My wife, daughter and my self stayed here for one night recently.
The first problem was that the radiator in the room was on at full power and because the control knob had been broken off previously, there was no way to control the temperature, apart from opening the window. Not ideal as it was snowing outside.
We then had the problem of the wash basin drain being blocked. My wife went to brush her teeth and grey gooey stuff started to fill the sink from the drain. We ended up at 1:30 am, with the receptionist trying to plunge our sink, which needless to say, did not work.
At 4:20 am, the fire alarm went off, this had been caused by one of the more perament residents smoking in their room.
In the morning, we were faced with the blocked toilet. I managed to get that working by shredding one of the bars of soap into it and using the shower hose and kettle to get it moving.
If you ever get the opportunity to stay at this hotel, do yourself a favour and choose somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#37 of 41 in Leicester
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#25 of 41 in Leicester
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Leicester

Address: 125 London Road, Leicester LE2 0QT, England (Formerly Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range: £37 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Hotel Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing