We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashfields

Ashfields
Ranked #20 of 1,127 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: LE9 7DG
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Two of us visited on Friday evening. The bar was very busy as quite a few groups appeared to have arrived at the same time. However, having said this we were not left waiting very long and drinks and menus were delivered promptly. We both opted for different versions of a goats cheese starter, which we both really enjoyed. My husband had pork stuffed with chorizo, and I had sirloin steak with a Stilton sauce, again both meals were delicious. Once again, a really great evening, with great food and friendly, attentive staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 722LeicesterLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    76
    26
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“WOW - Amazing meal - can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Having heard rave reviews about this restaurant, I have wanted to visit since moving over this way 13 years ago. It didn't disappoint, The décor and ambience is peaceful and tasteful. The service is excellent, staff are friendly and can't do enough to accommodate your request.
They offer an excellent set menu with a three course costing £32.95, with good variety. My friends who had been before really wanted Tournedos Rossini again and asked if it would be possible to have this. As the chef had the ingredients they agreed and charged a £4 per person surcharge. It was worth every penny as the fillet steak was huge and cooked to perfection. The starters were tasty, my husband particularly enjoyed the Moules Marinere. The sweets were delicious. We had around 10 pints of lager, a nice bottle of rose and a couple of G&T's and soft drinks between 4 of us and the total bill was £205. I feel this was exceptional value for the quality and choice of food with such obliging service. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWykesLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a special meal out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited at lunchtime to celebrate a friends birthday. We ordered a drink in the bar area and chose our meals here before being seated in the main restaurant, we could choose from the lunchtime, a-la-carte and also a daily specials board. They have a very good value lunchtime menu. Ashfield's has a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere.
There was fresh bread and butter before our starters were served. I had the 'Moules Marniere' off the specials board, cooked beautifully. The main courses then arrived with vegetables and potatoes served separately, again the food was cooked to perfection. I would suggest mentioning on ordering if you prefer the sauce/ gravy to be served in a jug as it comes ready served on the plate.
We finished our meal with coffee as we couldn't manage a pudding.
We used a 'Groupon' voucher for this meal (you have to make reservation quoting the voucher number) but I will happily return as the food and service were faultless.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.k
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Third visit & yet again a superb dining experience. Greeted & warmly welcomed by Dave who went out of his way to make a 'dark & stormy' and offered further suggestions for drinks. Excellent food & vegetarian choice was plentiful. Service excellent & friendly. Taxi called promptly & can't wait to return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HollesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been eating here for 14 years and never had reason to feel disappointed. The staff, food and ambience are all spot on. Enough said I feel.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Earsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashfields also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Ashfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing