We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See for yourself !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“See for yourself !”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stay at a lot of HI's/CP's and they do vary considerably. I stayed here for the first time recently and it wasn't too bad at all. As a Platinum Member I received an upgrade and the room was very pleasant. The check in staff were very courteous and efficient as were all the staff. The restaurant menu was varied at hotel prices. Breakfast is usual buffet style. Yes you have to pay for parking but its a city centre hotel!!
I am staying again next week so try it yourself?

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We acknowledge your constructive and encouraging review; thank you and we look forward to your continued loyalty as a Priority Club member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    361
    210
    71
    47
See reviews for
180
205
57
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Tired and poorly maintained yet everything overpriced. Lots of extra charges: e.g. parking £10
wifi £5/hr with poor service/signal. Quite a good location but noisy at times as it's on a main road.

It has two elevators but only one works, causing a long waiting time. The stairs are not easily accessible and very narrow plus you have to exit on the second floor to find the next set of stairs down to reception.

Rooms - Basic, noisy due to location and beds/pillows are hard (despite being labelled as either "firm" or "soft").

Gym/pool - pretty good with a varied selection of cardio equipment but less variety with weights. Also has a pool

Food - typically very overpriced (£12 for a burger) and very average. Breakfast is your average UK buffet selection but poor quality.

Room Tip: Check parking charges before travel; cheaper to pay in the car park than in the hotel if arriving &g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear superbaker,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I am pleased you enjoyed our facilities during your stay. It is with deep regret that we were not able to deliver an exemplary hotel stay experience. I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to look for areas to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to host you again.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I dont normally stay in Holiday Inn's while away on business however this seemed the logical choice for the area in which I was staying. I wasn't expecting much in the way of the actual hotel, it has everything you need for a few nights and is really close to the city centre and about a 5 minute walk from the Highcross shopping centre. If your heading a way for a shopping weekend then this is most definitely the hotel for you.

What stood out the most for me was the staff, they were extremely nice from the moment I walked through the door and couldn't do enough to help me. The restaurant was a good find as well, I wasn't going to stay in for dinner, however I decided to give it a go and I was not disappointed.

Leicester would not have been on my list of places to visit however it is a great place for shopping. This hotel and the surrounding area would be great for a weekend shopping get away. I would really consider coming back for some christmas shopping.

For a business person it is basic but has all the essentials. I will stay again if I need to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMcCollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We are pleased to note you enjoyed your weekend away and that we exceeded your expectations, particularly gratifying is the positive reference to the service you received. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Old furniture in a fantasy deprived room. Minibar turned off, empty and moldy. Just one elevator working, causing long waiting time in the (very noisy) lobby. Insanely high price for slow wifi internet, rooms overpriced as well. I will never sleep here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Le_Oiseleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
We note your review - please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced. Refurbishment is ongoing and our lift replacement programme will be complete at the end of the year. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

A quick drop in stay on business, received a free upgrade to executive suite which was spacious and clean with a huge TV. Bar area was good and breakfast was standard fair. I would stay again with no issue, staff were very friendly

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
We acknowledge receipt of your recent review and thank you for taking the time to post this.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Clean, quiet, professional. The Hotel is close to the center of Leicester. Staff is helpful and very kind. I had two stays and nothing went wrong.
WiFi is a bit expensive, but fast and reliable.
I surely will return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabrizioMal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Leicester - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booked our one night stop over via a 'secret rooms' facility. Great value for money on the deal we had, although I would have been disappointed at full or even half price.
Rooms are very clean, spacious and equipped as standard, beds are comfortable.
The corridors are very tired in terms of decor and they are in need of new carpets and an upgrade of decor. As a previous reviewer has stated, only one lift working and both workmen thought this was really funny - as we were on the 8th floor, we could not agree!
Staff are friendly, food is good and service is attentive. We did attempt to use the pool facilities on two occasions, however it was very overcrowded and a very small pool.
Overall an average stay, but the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallybWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
We acknowledge your review and thank you for the constructive feedback, refurbishment is ongoing and the lift replacement works are scheduled for completion at the end of the year. Thank you once again and we hope we may welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Property: Holiday Inn Leicester
Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing