We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is cheap to stay in and very functional but that it about it.
Breakfast self service but selection limited and my evening meal purchased from the adjoining restaurant undercooked ( I had a burger !)
If you just want somewhere to sleep then fine, otherwise it may be worth spending a little extra

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We acknowledge receipt of your review for your stay in May last year, guest feedback is always appreciated as this helps us to monitor our service and standards. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    342
    198
    69
    45
See reviews for
169
199
56
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Cannot add to those reviews below except to confirm that this Hotel has one foot firmly planted in the 1970's. It is very tired. We had a nice large room but when the temp was -5C outside the bedroom heating was virtually NIL - an old wall mounted fan heater with the heat of a candle.

Breakfast was the real eye opener.. it was like a meeting of the United Nations...with hoards of little children charging in all directions all of them wearing pyjamas.. it was quite a shock. Add to that the food was only about 50% available as queues of people waited for a range of missing stuff.

Will I stay again? Not a chance.

Room Tip: This a noisy Hotel on a roundabout. Seek a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartalec1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear smartalec1954,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here last week for 3 nights whilst at a conference and found the hotel to be great. It's a short 5-minute walk from the start of the main shopping street and 15 minutes from Curve Arena.
It was fairly busy, which meant long queue times for the lifts but I had an executive room, which was very spacious and comfortable, clean and had a huge, comfy bed (although bizarrely the mini bar was empty so maybe they knew it was me staying!)

The thing that made the hotel was the staff. They were always super-professional and polite but cheery and those that ran the breakfast in the morning were run off the feet but were only ever helpful and super-efficient.

My only grumble is that the iron provided wasn't a steam iron so looked slightly like Crumpelstiltskin in my evening dress!

I had a preconception about Leicester but was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We acknowledge receipt of your review and are extremely pleased to note that we contributed to your positive experience of Leicester. We do hope we may welcome you back on another occasion and hank you very much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last month as well. Returned to find everything just as nice. Lovely staff excellent location and nice rooms. We left a piece of jewellery in room worth nothing but sentimental value, staff were great when I rang and they located it immediately for me will definitely be back again .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are extremely pleased to note that we were able to locate your lost property and that you will be returning to the hotel again due to the service you received. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel is on a busy 3 lane roundabout so rooms are very noisy. Heater is a fan heater which managed to drown out the sound of the tv. Rooms are large but with stained carpets and tired furnishings.Staff however are very efficient and friendly and the restaurant food quality was generally good especially the breakfast. If you need a good nights sleep find somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear ANDREW L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the loud heater and the stained carpet. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartrettes, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hotel encircled by busy roads. My room was located on the 7th floor, the water pressure was so low that I cannot imagine how the people on the last floor were able to shower.
Parking at £10 a night in Leicester!
£16 for Wifi connection, even in London I could not find such outrageous price.
Telephone £3+ per minute.
There are certainly better values in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilles_DG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Gilles_DG63,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience the water pressure may have caused during your stay. As for the miscellaneous fees, we provide a competitive fees in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of a large traffic roundabout. I was fortunate enough to have a room on the 7th floor but I imagine that traffic noise could be a problem on lower floors. My room was also next to a lift shaft, but to be fair I heard nothing from that. The room was rather oddly laid out with the (good) bathroom having a door almost next to the bed. The decor is definitely sixties, and there is no air conditioning, only an antiquated blown air heating system, which did work once I had turned it on and warmed up the room which was very cold when I arrived. The computer linked TV did not work when first switched on and had to be rebooted. Why can't hotels just provide ordinary TVs?. The double bed was as usual two linked singles but was comfortable enough and I had a good night's sleep. I did not have any breakfast. The receptionist was very helpful in getting a taxi. This is definitely a place for overnight and business stays rather than a holiday.

Room Tip: High up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussex1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for posting your review and appreciatet your honest and constructive feedback, and although you would not wish to holiday with us we hope we may welcome you back should you have cause to visit Leicester in the future. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Property: Holiday Inn Leicester
Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing