We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for what you pay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I spent only a few hours in the hotel, since I made the check-in at 2 am (late check-in), but I could say that it's a very good hotel. It's very clean, and the staff was very welcoming. The room had a big TV, hair dryer, a bath, European standard sockets, and the bed was very comfortable. I also made use of the luggage room, since I arrived in Leicester before the check-in time. The location is pretty good as well, only a few minutes walking from the bus or train stations, and in the city centre area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoGuilherme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the product quality and service you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here in November last year. In a good location as was doing some christmas shopping! Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the shopping centre.
Room was clean and a good size. I booked via their own website and got a early bird deal, was very pleased with the price I paid. We even got 2 double beds in the room.
Food and drink in the hotel was reasonably priced.
The car park was a bit of a con! As we took 2 cars we had to pay separately for both and for the 2 nights we were there.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and it was worth the price!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We acknowledge receipt of your review from your stay in November last year and are pleased to note you found this a pleasant and enjoyable experience. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Pleased with all aspects of this hotel . The swimming pool was a bit bleached but else ideal for town . Breakfast and dinner was off good standard but town is so near for other diets though if you want value for money best eat else where . Room was off good standard though my soft pillow was far softer than theirs

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1OKVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for taking the time to complete the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you like shopping this hotel is overlooking Leicester's High Cross shopping centre and a 5min walk to the Lanes, market and other shopping areas. A 3min walk to the Cathedral and if you like a drink then you only need cross the road and your night begins with loads of choices. There is a great choice of restaurants and take aways only a 2 min walk away.
I have stayed here a few times now and each time I can't fault the place. Bedrooms are always clean and spacious, the last two times I have been given an upgrade. I only stay on a bed and breakfast basis but the food is always fresh and the staff are very helpful. The hotel is in the centre of a main roundabout but you wouldn't know until you look out.
Great location, lovely staff and a very clean hotel.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have some great views over Leicester.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

As a return visitor we welcome your positive feedback, particularly regarding the quality of food and staff service. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The corridors smell musty, the bar smells of BO and if you are a veggie, you get to eat a sort've chilli pie with mash that could render walls. The rooms are OK and the bed was comfy. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear LFM52,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found our staff friendly and helpful. However, we regret our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Don't be put off the fact that this hotel is in the middle of a roundabout, as it is centrally located and ideal for the town. The food was good, particularly the selection for breakfast. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Your positive reference to the service you received from the staff is particularly appreciated. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Yes, I know we stayed at this hotel on a really good deal for a two double bedded room including breakfast buffet and I know we only stayed one night but having taken all of that into consideration, the advertised price for some rooms was over £200 and if I had paid that much I seriously think i would have complained.

The staff were all lovely, check in welcome was friendly and very quick, the bar staff were polite and smiley, the restaurant staff at breakfast were very good, running here there and everywhere to get what we wanted quickly. Just one small point, lemon flavoured green tea, which we were given every time we purchased a drink is not the same as green tea, which was what we asked for.

So, the staff were great, what about the room? In a nutshell, grubby and depressing. Rather than relax in our room after a long journey we actually went to watch a film because we just found the room so depressing.

The room was old and tired, the decor was almost prison institution yellowy off cream with streaks of grime and ingrained dirt on the edges and corners where years of hands had rubbed across them.

The furniture was dark wood, scratched, tired and best suited to a bric a brac store. The bathroom was also grubby with the previous occupants whiskers and hair still evident around the sink, tiles and grout discoloured and dirty, even the shower was so old and feeble it was more akin to a demonstration of a prostate condition, managing a fairly weak dribble of a flow. The rack on which the towels were stored was hanging off the wall and only held on by the fact that the plaster, which had come away, was being retained by the wallpaper strengthened by numerous layers of paint. Luckily it was under very little strain due to the threadbare state of the towels which were a rather depressing shade of light grey rather than white and, in any case, had the towel rack fallen we could have lashed it back in place in a seamanlike manner using the loose threads hanging off the towels.

We were on the 8th floor. Luckily I spent many years serving in submarines so I am not claustrophobic. I am also a mere 5 feet 8 inches tall (handy if you are a submariner) but even then, in the passageways my head wasn't that far from the ceiling. Anyone of 6 feet or more would have had to stoop while walking the gloomy passageways, much resembling a prison landing, en route to their room.

The room service was very quick and although I feel a bit aggrieved at paying almost £15 for a cheese and tomato sandwich, a beef and horseradish sandwich and a few crisps, that was my choice. I could have walked to the Subway sandwich shop just down the road had I not been suffering from a dose of severe laziness after a 200 mile drive.

The breakfast was reasonable although, to be honest, I would expect more of a choice than just cranberry or orange juice, more of a choice than just muesli or crunchy nut cornflakes and my wife really would have liked her plain green tea instead of lemon flavoured green tea - again.
The pancake maker was a bonus I hadn't seen elsewhere but the cooked food was fairly aged and a bit dry with the exception of the fried eggs which the cook fried in front of me, The bacon and sausages had been sitting under the heat lamp for some time and the scrambled eggs were pretty much inedible due to having dried out after so long under the heat.

The hotel is in the middle of a roundabout which contains only the hotel and a car park. It's fairly noisy with the road on all sides.

Finally, parking is in the adjoining NCP car park which is the only place to park unless you want a considerable walk. This costs you £10 for 24 hours which is below the normal cost but still exorbitant for hotel parking.

This sounds like a real diatribe against this hotel but we had a comfortable night's sleep and, if the owners would only take the time to redecorate and give the hotel a through refurbishment it could be an excellent place to stay due to its location right on the edge of the city centre. For the price I paid it was a reasonable deal, for someone paying the full price it would, I imagine, be very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oberon1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Oberon1957,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. As customer service professionals, we strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.

While we are pleased to hear that our staff went above and beyond to provide you with exceptional service, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to your guest room. I have taken note of your comments and suggestions and these have been shared with our management team for review.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing