We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? Ok positives first.. Great staff as ever and as you'd expect from an IHG hotel so good marks there. Bad points .. Rooms are in desperate need of updating. AC is very noisy, bathroom very very tired, fixtures and fittings all tired. Oh, and no towels in the room - which I discovered AFTER I got out of the shower...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Spaciecadet,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for leisure and the experience was a positive one. I arrived at about midday, earlier than the normal check-in time of 2pm. From past experiences some hotels become awkward when checking in early. However, this was not a problem here - the courteous reception lady assigned me a room and was given the key card.

The location is perfect for walking into the city centre and the Highcross Mall and Restaurants - 5 minute walk.

The room was very large with a huge queen size bed. Both the room and bathroom was clean. A 32 inch LCD TV complemented the room.

Guests also have access to the on-site Spirit gym, pool, sauna and jacuzzi which is an added bonus. All facilities here were clean.

The next morning the check out experience was painless.

Overall this was a very pleasant stay. I paid only £38 for the night, which is phenomenal value for money in a convenient location. Even the nearby Travelodge was £51 and is not even in the same league as this place. The staff were friendly and courteous.

The only negative is that the rooms could do with a refresh of decor, but this is a minor point and I will be back when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We acknowledge sight of your review and thank you for taking the time to post such positive and constructive feedback. We hope we may welcome you back soon and thank you once again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend this hotel, great location, walking distance from the shops and bars. Staff were so friendly and welcoming, not sure what our check out time was - we were probably late but didn't get disturbed. There is a free to use pool and gym which I thought was a nice luxury for the cheap price we paid! The room was a nice size, clean, air con, tv and shower was fine. Great stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroberts5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for posting your five star review, and the time you have taken to highlight the positive aspects of your stay. Thank you once again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Good location on the ring road in Leicester, with easy walking access to the city centre and restaurants should you not want to eat in.
Receptionists are very helpful, and welcome you with a smile when you walk in, and assisted with our booking quickly and satisfactorily when there was an issue with our booking (not IHG's fault).
Only downside I would say is that the bar is not 24 hours, and the outside security door is not locked over night, and your keycard was not required to get you into the building early in the morning or into the lift and selecting floors.
Comfortable rooms, and excellent breakfast.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: A double queen room is good with lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Your constructive feedback is noted and we appreciate the time you have taken to post your review. Certain points will be highlighted and copied to the relevant people - thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a group attending a conference at the hotel.

Check in was quick and efficient, receptionist was friendly and chatty.

Room was clean and standard for this type of hotel, I believe I was in an executive room so it was nice and roomy, my friends in normal rooms also said they were great.

One bonus was the aircon, fantastic on the hottest day of the year made the room really cool.

The food was all really nice, we had buffet style dinner and evening meal. Didn't have breakfast but friends said it was nice. Drinks prices were very high, but I think that is just the norm with hotels.

The only downside was the main room where the conference was was stupidly hot, I know they were trying everything to cool it down but I approximate the weather was extreme and they were on hand with iced water to try to compensate.

Overall a jolly good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your excellent feedback as we strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is gratifying to note we succeeded on this occasion. Thank you once again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

No information given whatsoever upon arrival (breakfast time, location), apart the different extra charges awaiting us. When in the room: stained towels, dirty glasses and no leaflet. Spent a difficult night as it is quite noisy (the hotel is in the middle of a roundabout). Won't stay there ever again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zlobizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Zlobizz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, cleanliness and housekeeping. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Air con was noisesy , although the room was a good size . Breakfast was 1st class and offered Buck's Fizz as well . Gym and pool was nice as well. Staff where very friendly also enjoyed the river festival that weekend . Parking was extra £10

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank rob_wales-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We acknowledge sight of your review and are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, particularly our breakfast offering. Thank you for your time and we hope we may welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £66 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing