We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Leicester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Maiyango(Leicester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ibis Leicester(Leicester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
248
402
240
75
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
402
240
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrepancake machinecar parkbusy roundaboutexecutive roomleisure facilitiestwo double bedsswimming poolgood sizemulti storeysteam roomhotel guestshealth clubhigh streetreception staffroom was largea bit tired
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I've stayed at a few holiday inn's before and generally find them ok, but wasn't as impressed with this one. First of all there is car parking but it is an NCP car park next to the hotel which cost £12. Check in was quick and easy, the rooms are clean and a good size but dated and could do with updating. No iron bad ironing board but asked for one at reception and they brought it straight up. WI FI will cost you £16 for 24 hours, don't understand why holiday inn charge you for wi if when other hotels don't, so what ever you pay for your room be aware with parking and wi if you could add another £28 to you bill. Used the gym which was not a bad size for a hotel, also have a swimming pool, hot tub and sauna as well which is a plus. Eat in the restaurant and the waitresses were very friendly and the food was ok as well (£23 for started, main and a soft drink). My real issue was the sleep quality, the Air Con in my room was very noisy, effective but very noises and the mattress was very hard. Breakfast was ok but the sausage and bacon tasted like cheap meat, once again the waitresses were really friendly. Check out was quick and easy. V

I would stay again because I thought the facilities were ok, but would maybe ask about the air con.

Room Tip: My room was 402.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holmezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Holmezzi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value of the hotel prevented you from having a fully enjoyable experience. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for multiple nights and enjoyed the comforts of the HI standards, but the hotel can do with a refit. Colours are dated and areas like the bar and leisure club are in clear need for a refurb. Staff very friendly and keen to engage, in pleasant contrast with some hotels in the chain which are very formal. The restaurant promotion in the lobby works well and the staff manning this front post do an excellent job as the hotel is within 100 mtr of a major new shopping centre with an extensive range of modern and classic restaurants and eating out is tempting. The hotel is in the middle of a busy roundabout and access during the busy rush hours is difficult, but parking is ample and adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Fellow travellers suggest to avoid the 7th floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Danny B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here in January for a 2 day conference meeting.

First the plus points:

The a la carte food at dinner time was tasty and service was good.
The rooms are clean and comfortable albeit basic (what you would expect from a brand hotel)
The lunch and supplies (coffee, tea, biscuits, water) for the conference were restocked frequently and were good
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Water pressure on the shower was good (this is always something that is hit and miss on larger hotels)

Now the negatives:
The "buffet" that they do on the theme night (our night was italian) just looked absolutely unappealing and though it had been left out for a while.....
The air con in both the bedroom and in the conference room were unbelievably noisy - we had to turn it off in the conference room and open the doors and windows, which isn't great in January....
Getting into the car park off the island is difficult in rush hour to say the least - could do with improving signage
A few areas in the hotel look a bit tired. The lobby and restaurant/bar are nice but some of the hallways/stairwell look a bit grubby

In summary, it's a nice hotel but could do with a few touches here and there just to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mike H,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear you liked your room accommodations and found the rooms clean and comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the air conditioning unit and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked 1 night for a business. a little on the expensive side but the company was paying.

room was very spacious, with 2 very lage beds in the twin room, i received a complentary mars bar and bottle of water.
the room was very clean, with plenty of towels in the bathroom with toiletries included.. Room had TV and kettle with plenty of tea and coffee.
Breakfast and dinner was very nice with a good choice.
Overall a very nice stay.

the staff were all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a works nightout. Great location near the centre of town. Checked in at 3pm on a Friday, no waiting to check in, sorted out in a few minutes. Was a bit concerned to start with that my Executive Room was right outside the lifts. There was a bit of noise around midnight when the wedding guests turned in but overall it wasn't as bad as I thought. I use earplugs anyway! The bed was huge and very comfortable with a nice choice of pillows. The shower was excellent with fantastic water pressure. Overall very clean too.
Complimentary mineral water was nice as was the couple of chocolate bars too. Breakfast was pretty good quality for the self serve kind, all the hot food like eggs and sausages were nice and hot.

A very pleasant stay with good service. If I'm every in Leicester again for a night out then I'll be staying here again, but just asking for a room away from the lifts maybe.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor with the aircon units outside, although this didn't disturb me it may do to others. My Executive Room was right outside the lifts, Room 316 if you get it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews