We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Check-in was a little slow as a new member of staff was being trained, but staff were very friendly and helpful. Large room but, perhaps due to the age of the hotel, there is a bit of a tired feeling to the decor. I really liked the green dot system to encourage guests to turn off lights, etc when they leave the room. We ate in the bar, service was very friendly and the food good. Liked the fresh fruit available at breakfast, but found the cooked food a bit lacking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear JenK297,

Thank you for writing a candid review following your recent stay. We are very glad you found the staff helpful and that the size of the room was to your liking. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the food selections were limited. Despite this, I am glad that you were able to enjoy the fresh fruits.

As a valued guest, we appreciate all the feedback we receive, and most certainly welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to having you again on your next future visit.

Warm Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    361
    211
    71
    47
See reviews for
180
205
57
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the holiday inn my first thoughts were that it was in a pretty good location, easy to find and car park easy to access. The rooms were as I expected basic but reasonably clean. It was'nt massively expensive but I have stayed in much better hotels for a lot less money. The morning we were due to leave check out was at 12 but unfortunately housekeeping had other ideas there constant knocking on doors, vacuuming and high pitched whistles that led us to believe they wanted us to leave. So with that in mind my husband and I decided to get organised and leave firstly by having a shower. The bad news that followed was that the shower that wasn't the cleanest was also freezing cold, I did wonder if housekeeping had turned the hot water off to get everybody out!! When checking out we were asked on a scale of one to ten if we could rate our stay to which we proceeded to explain about the lack of hot water to which the replay was sorry about that did you validate your parking ticket? At that we thought there wasn't much point continuing and left and we both agreed we wouldn't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KStiv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear KStiv29,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay. It is nice to know that you found our location convenient, and the parking facility easily accessible. It is very troubling to read, though, that the bathroom quality and level of service you received was a let down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these aspects have caused.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like you is highly appreciated. We will certainly look into these issues to work on areas of improvement and achieve superior guest satisfaction. Should you be back here in Leicester in the future, we look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for quite a few months, staff were fantastic and always remembered you plus your requirements. Hotel public areas very good but corridors and bedrooms starting to show there age but always clean, food Good for a weeks stay but limited choice. Breakfast team always great and Alfie always ready to greet you, omelettes always very good. Shopping centre only short wall and of places to eat

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveisgplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Oh Holiday Inn. You never really know what you're going to get, it really does depend on the property, it's age and how much money it's had spent on it of late.

This one is big, it has a pool and has the usual scalable rates depending on how busy it is. Rooms are a good size, clean and fine. But the pool is fairly pointless unless you're taking kids in for a splash. Designed for lengths or a workout it is not. There is a hot tub, sauna and one of those rooms with exercise machines masquerading as a gym. You wouldn't pay to go in but if it's free, it doesn't hurt.

The check in lady on my visit was perturbed by the last minute booking and determined to ensure every detail of my address and bank card matched the booking, when at midnight, I desperately just wanted her to give me a key and forget the ceremony. She didn't take the hint.

'Leisure club' check in guy was very friendly and managed to wake me up with chit chat before I went through to be disappointed by the pool.

It's in an awkward place if you're not driving, but otherwise good for all the away-for-work-business-travellers in their BMWs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are delighted to know that you liked our room size and the friendly service received from our leisure club staff. However, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at check-in and if our pool facility did not meet your standards. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by the management of the hotel and will be used to target opportunity areas to avoid same incident in the future. We hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I keep returning to this hotel, largely due to its excellent central location and easy and ample parking. The staff are great and the rooms of familiar Holiday Inn standards. After a few visits it is nice to recognised and are welcome warmly. Staff confirm if you still have the same preferences and frequently seen management acknowledge your return. The free Wi-Fi with premium gold membership ensures I can easily stay in touch or use trip advisor for my reviews. For a frequent traveller the gym is essential, but the nearby river tow path provides a good alternative to the treatmill

Room Tip: avoid rooms opposite the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend both had a lovely weekend here at the holiday inn Leicester.
It was a surprise birthday weekend away for my boyfriend & we couldn't have asked for more of a relaxing break.
We made good use of the leisure facilities which are open all day till 9pm on the weekends & 10pm on weekdays. The swimming pool was very clean, as were the jacuzzi, steam room & sauna. The changing rooms both men & women were very clean & lockers were provided requiring a £1 deposit.
The hotel was around a 15 minute walk away from Leicester town centre & the train station which was very straight forward.
The reception staff were all very helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. They allowed us to hold our luggage in their store room before check in which was very helpful as we wanted to have a wander around the town & did not want to cart our bags around.
The staff at dinner were lovely & very helpful. The food was gorgeous, we had both starter, main & dessert which were all fabulous!
Although we were both a little disappointed with the service at breakfast.. The waiters, especially the men seemed reluctant to collect our plates from the table when we had finished with them & at least 3 times a waiter looked at the plates & walked away without collecting them. I was also a little disappointed that the waiters & waitresses did not offer tea & coffee regularly & I had to ask many times for a top up.
This is the only complaint I have of this hotel, everything else was perfect & made the weekend very special. The rooms were spotless & modern, with tea & coffee in the rooms, a hairdryer & plenty of plugs for charging your phones up (this was essential for us as 18/19 year olds!) the bathroom was also very clean & a non-slip bath mat was provided. The tv in the room was very big & had a variety of channels.
Overall, we both had a great stay at the holiday inn & we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank clw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel this one.

Delivers the high standard you expect from Holiday Inn, more upmarket than a Premier Inn.

Didn't have time to try out the fitness centre but by looks of it many other guests did.

The only let down is no complimentary wi-fi (not even in the bar!!!!) which is offered by so many hotels and almost becoming an essential to be provided for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Property: Holiday Inn Leicester
Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing