We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good but they hang on to money that isn't theirs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 2 March 2009

When you give them your card details they don't just keep the details in case you run off and don't pay, oh no, they actually TAKE money from your account. I've stayed here twice with my boyfriend and both times they took over £100 out of his account, the second time it was close to £200! He didn't find out about this missing money until he tried to pay with his debit card and it was refused. When he rang Holiday Inn up about this the first time they said it was a mistake, we're sorry, blah blah blah, here's a voucher for 10% off your next stay, but it took them TEN DAYS to put it back in his account. The second time it happened my boyfriend was livid, especially as the guy at reception had assured him they wouldn't take anything out of his account. The worst thing is, my boyfriend is a member of their gym and they chase you if your monthly membership fee is even 12 hours late!

Yes, the hotel is nice and it has a pool (which we got to go in free as my boyfriend is a gym user), and yes, the last time we ordered drinks in the hotel bar there was an incredible amount of alcohol in them even though we'd only paid for singles, but is it really worth having more than £100 taken out of your account and held for 10 days? I don't think so! If we ever go again, we'll be paying cash! So you heard it here! Be warned!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnackyCracky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Leicester.

I was disapointed to see that you were unhappy and inconvienienced regarding your Boyfriends debit card.

I can confirm that it is our policy to request pre authorisation for the payement of your room rate per day for your stay and an additional £50.00 per night deposit to enable you to charge items to your room account during your stay.

We communicate this to all our guest at check in and there is signage in place at the Front desk also advising all guests of the policy.

Please except my apoligies if this was not fully communicated to you at check in.

If a Debit card is used it is the Banks procedures to hold this pre authorisation against your account for up to 7 days.

If you retun to the hotel and pay by cash, please be advised that we will require payement for your Accommodation at the time of check in and also an additional £50.00 per night if you widh to charge items to your room.

I do hope that this clerifys the situation for you and I do hope that we have the oppertunity to wlcome you bcak to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Michael Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StinkyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rootuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c80raigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 41 in Leicester
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing