We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, bed enormous, staff so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Went for just one night, but have in fact booked again for next month. The room was on the seventh floor, and had an enormous bed, settee, and chairs. The bed was very comfy, we even had a choice of pillows! The restaurant was excellent, the food was excellent too. Parking was in public carpark right next to the hotel but was complimentary to hotel guests. Breakfast included, only cost £59 , bed and breakfast for two of us.Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonsgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavua, Secretary to General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us earlier this year and we were obviously very pleased to note the positive feedback regarding the service and the facilities provided; particularly appreciated are the points relating to the quality of food and value for money. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Leicester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

The Leicester Holiday Inn is located close to the High Street and almost next to the new High Cross shopping centre. Not a special setting but not a problem in a city centre. The car park is an NCP car park literally ten yards from the front door. Should have cost £12 for 24 hours but staying at the hotel it was complimentary. Maybe because we had upgraded to an Executive room.

All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The receptionists and the breakfast staff were all very efficient with a smile.

Our room on the 6th floor was spacious, clean and well appointed. Executive room with breakfast. £73. I thought this was excellant value for money.

Breakfast was a fairly standard buffet and is much cheaper (£5 for the full english) if you book it as a package. Buying it separately it is £8-95pp.

The bed was large and the linen clean and fresh. The towels were soft and fairly new as were the bathrobes. When we returned for the night we could hear the TV in the next bedroom from the corridor but once in the room we heard nothing.

Didn't use the pool or fitness centre but it looked attractive and well maintained.

Overall we found it difficult to find fault the hotel particularly for the price. It is one up from the more budget orientated hotels and worth the extra for the little comforts. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed here over Easter weekend (2 adults and 2 young kids) - have got family living in Leicester and I chose HI due to close location to their house in the city and the price. I was very pleasantly surprised - the room was huge compared with the "family room" we'd stayed in in London and the beds were very comfortable.

The best bit about this property is the amazingly friendly staff - there wasn't one person that we came across who wasn't incredibly friendly and super helpful. Even the ladies servicing the rooms would stop for a chat.

The only thing I could say I didn't like about this hotel was the mini bar was one of those electronic numbers where if you so much as breathe on it it charges you for removing something. I needed to store milk for the baby so had to squeeze it in and ended up getting charged for a whisky but the girl on the desk removed it from the bill without any issue at all when we checked out.

We were away from home (NZ) for over 3 weeks and stayed in 7 different hotels across Asia and Europe -this one was my favourite.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bricarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel last Friday and Saturday night. Check in was quick and staff was very polite and helpful when ask for direction to town. Our room, 804, has 2 double beds and is bigger than the normal holiday inn room. As it is on the 8th floor, we had a great view of the city and the canal. The pool was warm but on the small size. Parking in the NCP was free!!!
Ate at the Kayal, 153, Granby Street first night. Very delicious and unusual Southern Indian food. Noodle Bar, 1 St. Nicholas Pl the following night. Just across the road, cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Leicester.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your visit to Leicester.

I do hope that we have the oppertunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Michael Lyons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The HI was quiet, comfortable with a good breakfats. The lounge area was not good for kids - rather small and cramped.

We booked because of the pool however it was out of action. Apparently this has happened before and they do not have a weekend maintenance contract.

The worst was that the room rate included VAT but they had not put the VAT rate down. The company are pocketing the difference which was not the intention of the change in rate.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Leicester.

In relation to your comments regarding the Swimming pool. I have checked and the Pool was fully functional during your stay. I apoligise that you were informed otherwise. The Hotel does have service contracts for all our facilities which cover 7 days a week.

In relation to your comments regarding VAT, I can confirm that these have been communicated to our Head Office.

I was pleased to see that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed your Breakfast.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Michael Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

When you give them your card details they don't just keep the details in case you run off and don't pay, oh no, they actually TAKE money from your account. I've stayed here twice with my boyfriend and both times they took over £100 out of his account, the second time it was close to £200! He didn't find out about this missing money until he tried to pay with his debit card and it was refused. When he rang Holiday Inn up about this the first time they said it was a mistake, we're sorry, blah blah blah, here's a voucher for 10% off your next stay, but it took them TEN DAYS to put it back in his account. The second time it happened my boyfriend was livid, especially as the guy at reception had assured him they wouldn't take anything out of his account. The worst thing is, my boyfriend is a member of their gym and they chase you if your monthly membership fee is even 12 hours late!

Yes, the hotel is nice and it has a pool (which we got to go in free as my boyfriend is a gym user), and yes, the last time we ordered drinks in the hotel bar there was an incredible amount of alcohol in them even though we'd only paid for singles, but is it really worth having more than £100 taken out of your account and held for 10 days? I don't think so! If we ever go again, we'll be paying cash! So you heard it here! Be warned!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnackyCracky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Leicester.

I was disapointed to see that you were unhappy and inconvienienced regarding your Boyfriends debit card.

I can confirm that it is our policy to request pre authorisation for the payement of your room rate per day for your stay and an additional £50.00 per night deposit to enable you to charge items to your room account during your stay.

We communicate this to all our guest at check in and there is signage in place at the Front desk also advising all guests of the policy.

Please except my apoligies if this was not fully communicated to you at check in.

If a Debit card is used it is the Banks procedures to hold this pre authorisation against your account for up to 7 days.

If you retun to the hotel and pay by cash, please be advised that we will require payement for your Accommodation at the time of check in and also an additional £50.00 per night if you widh to charge items to your room.

I do hope that this clerifys the situation for you and I do hope that we have the oppertunity to wlcome you bcak to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Michael Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StinkyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_lyons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
902 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
0.5 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £64 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing