We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were bought an Activity Superstore voucher as a gift.
We had the afternoon tea at Brook Westfield House Hotel near Leicester. The hotel staff were very welcoming and showed us in to the restaurant where we were the only customers. We were told that the "chef" was preparing our afternoon tea and were asked which kind of tea we would like. We chose English Breakfast and this arrived in a teapot with cracked lid and chipped milk jug. From the taste of the tea it was obvious these were the cheapest catering teabags. The sandwiches were OK, fresh sliced bread with cheese and tomato, ham and prawn. Then everything went down hill. The scones were of the cheap long life supermarket variety which had been microwaved. These came with a pat of butter, cheap plastic packs of jam and "cream" that was very thin and tasted disgusting. We wondered if it was some sort of cheap imitation cream. Then the cakes. We each got a small slice cheap catering soggy lemon tart and a thin piece of cheap catering chocolate gateaux. We are not natural compainers but when asked if everything was OK we had to tell the truth! The waitress was very apologetic and after speaking to the manager, returned our voucher. Perhaps the "chef" (head defroster and microwaver would be more appropriate) should go somewhere to have a proper cream tea or perhaps it was the best he could do on a budget of about 30p per head.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honileycourthotel, General Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

I am sorry that you had a bad experience for afternoon tea at the Brook Westfield House Hotel. I have only recently joined the hotel and I agree the afternoon teas have fallen short of what customers expect. The changes made to the afternoon tea experience is that scones are homemade, selection of sandwiches are what you would expect on an afternoon tea and also the variety of teas available are communicated to the guests. This will hopefully make an afternoon tea at the Westfield House Hotel a pleasent experience. Once agian accept my appologies for sub standard experience you recieved.

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We did not know what to expect from a hotel in Leicester but we need not have worried. The welcome we got from the manager was second to none. He was very concerned for our comfort and pleasure. We had a very decent sized room and bed and were very comfortable. The food was very good as was the breakfast. Very nice check out too, also by the manager. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honileycourthotel, General Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review be sure to visit soon

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel offered facilites such as indoor swimming pool and gym but the rooms were tired and dated, although clean enough. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but the hotel could do with some modernising to bring it up to date. Blaby itself was a nice area to visit with a good choice of pubs available, the Bakers Arms being my favourite. I would visit this area again but would consider staying elsewhere if an alternative was available.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a good location but needs bringing up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honileycourthotel, General Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review unfortunatley it sounds as if you may have stayed in one of the few rooms that are still to be updated. If you vist the area again please contact myself directly and will ensure you are put in one of the many refurbed rooms we have. I have also introduced a ongoing maintenance plan to try and keep the hotel looking fresh and modern.

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed over for a family wedding, the room was excellent, we had everything we required. The food for the wedding was very good. unfortunately someone has to be served last and there were a few moans about that but on the whole the staff did a good job. The staff seemed to go about organising things so that we the family did not have to stress - to the point of collecting cards and putting them in a safe so the 'happy couple' could enjoy opening them at their leisure. I was told by the staff the hotel had bad reviews that is why I have taken he trouble to post on this site. everybody has off days, we often notice the bad and do not praise the good.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you need it, and if you need two rooms and one in party needs to be downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honileycourthotel, General Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you very much for the review we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

From the minute we arrived for sunday dinner we knew the visit wasnt going to be pleasant!! The barmaid / waitress was rude and extremely ignorant. Our starters were bought out before we had even sat at the table and we were made to feel like we were in the way of the staff. When the main course was thrown on our table almost an hour later it was cold, bland and looked like something you could get out the microwave!!
Other diners were also complaining and the overall experience was awful. We certainly would not recommend this hotel and think it would benefit from appearing on Gordon Ramsays Kitchen Nightmares!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honileycourthotel, General Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review as I have recently taken over I would like to inform you that my main aim is to ensure all guests are looked after by a friendly and professional team and the food is to the highest quality. We have recently taken on a new head chef who's food is excellent and we now recieve many good comments.

Once again I am sorry we fell short on service and food standards during your stay and if you are visiting the area agian please contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed overnight here for a friends wedding, after booking the room and reading previous reviews on here i was lightly concerned; not just for us but for the bride and groom too. With regard to the food, it was of reasonable quality, and te function suite was nice and clean. moving through to the room where the reception was held and the main bar (where the selection of drinks was extremely poor), i can't help but echo previous reviews in so much that the whole place needed decorating.
Or room was at the back of the building and again, although comfortable needed sprucing up. The kingsize bed was 2 singles pushed together and a large piece of wallpaper missing off the wall; the heating was on full whack and we seemed unable to turn it down as it was already on its lowest setting so opened a window. The bathroom again, although as clean as it could be needed the sealant replacing round the bath and the shower was more of a fast dribble.
With regards the staff, although not rude or arrogant, they seemed a little disinterested at times.
This could be a really great hotel if a bit of money was invested in a refit as the leisure club part looks lovely from what i could see.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyandDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

30 odd of us gathered at this hotel for our annual meeting and discussion on various things concerning cricket within the organisation that we are members of. This hotel was chosen as it is central for most people who travel from all over the Uk. What a poor and run down place with the whole building badly in need of a refurbish. The meal at night was just passable although the beef was exremely rare and by the time the vegetables arrived the main course was cold. Two people waited on and it took an age to serve us-some two hours for a three course meal. At the bar no bottles of wine were available and the Caffreys beer seemed to have been lying around in the pumps for sometime not helped when the bar manager came in and wanted to know when the pumps had last been cleaned. The bar person was surley to say the least and all she seemed to do was to get off home with the shutters slamming shut at 11pm prompt whether you were a resident or not. The walls of the bedroom are extremely thin and the paintwork poor and dated. This is not helped when at 6.50 the next morning our next door neighbours could easily be heard having an animated conversation. The breakfast can only be described as unthinkable!! We had to ask for cereal bowls and three were brought. One lad waited on to serve all of us. Toast came and went and still no cooked breakfast. Only place I know with no marmalade on the table. We arrived for breakfast at 8.10 and left the table at 9.40. On the only plus side the small conference room was excellent but this appeared to be in the newest part of the hotel. It was noticeable that no locals were at the bar. Badly in need of spending some money on and I hope that we do not come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: See your room and the hotel before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
4 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
8.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
536 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#26 of 41 in Leicester
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#32 of 41 in Leicester
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ramada Leicester Stage
#34 of 41 in Leicester
492 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mill on the Soar
Mill on the Soar
#35 of 41 in Leicester
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaby Westfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaby Westfield House Hotel

Address: 15 Enderby Road | Blaby, Leicester LE8 4GD, England (Formerly Blaby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blaby Westfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is the ideal location for visiting Leicester and the surrounding areas for both the business and leisure traveller the Blaby Westfield House Hotel is situated in the old town of Blaby, only a short distance from the M1, M69 with easy access to all areas of Leicester and only 5 miles away from the city centre and close to Fosse park shopping centre and main business parks. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is a great place for any event from Intimate Family Gatherings, Parties Weddings and Special Occasions with Banqueting Facilities. With all four of our conference rooms located on the ground floor these rooms are ideal for Business Conference Events, Business Meetings and Training Courses. We offer competitive packages, full catering and conference facilities to meet all requirements from 2 -80 persons. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel possesses 48 well-appointed En-suite bedrooms with Flat screen TVs, Tea and Coffee Making facilities and free WiFi. The Blaby Fitness Gym can be used for free for our residents. (Please note the gym is operated separately from the hotel and opening times vary). Guests can unwind and relax in The Hunters Bar lounge with flat screen TV the bar offers a wide range of Alcoholic beverages and soft drinks or alternatively try a taste meal in our Hunters Restaurant. The hotels bar lounge is open every day of the week for the general public and restaurant is open from Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 9pm offering a full range of Hot food, Coffees, Teas and Light Bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Blaby Westfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westfield Hotel Leicester
Blaby Westfield House Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing