We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Sunday Lunch Venue.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We enjoyed a delightful three course Sunday lunch at Westfield today. We were welcomed immediately we entered, shown to seats in the bar and given menus. There was a nice varied choice for each course. The food was excellent, well presented and tasted good. The staff were very attentive and made our visit feel special. Definitely a return visit will be made.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChevyCaptiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for the kind review the staff who were on duty appreciate your positive comments.

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Blaby Westfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

I got a special offer on one of those websites that sends you daily offers by email. Right from the outset me and my partner were disappointed by the service in this restaurant. The woman who was working in the bar was not very friendly or welcoming although I wouldn't say she was rude but she kept saying to us that she would be with us in a minute. She was pouring drinks to take to the restaurant and was gone for several minutes. Another lady who had also been waiting rang the bell to get her back. She served us our drinks and then asked us to wait in the bar area and choose our food from the menu. It soon became apparent that there was absolutely no organisation whatsoever when she returned a few minutes later with the chef to ask who had ordered their starters and who hadn't!

We were then told there was no chicken which my partner had decided on so she had to choose something else. Another lady came in from outside to complain that they had booked a table for 2pm and they hadn't been seated yet and it was nearly 2:45. The restaurant wasn't even full in fact no more than 60% full. Our order was taken and then we were seated a few minutes later. The couple on the next table told us that the chef had been out organising tables and managing the staff as well as trying to cook. A waitress came out of the kitchen with 2 main courses of roast beef which we had ordered and she tried to put them on our table. We said that we hadn't had our starters yet so she turned to take them back to the kitchen and the couple on the next table had to attract her attention to tell her they were theirs. The waitress then went into the kitchen to get the vegetables came back and put them on our table! We pointed out they were for the other table.

Our starters arrived and I had the pate. It stated on the menu that it was served with warm toast but it was distinctly cold. The pate itself was of a poor quality. The main course was of an acceptable standard. The Yorkshire pudding was rather dry and we could have used a little more gravy but otherwise OK. The desert was quite nice for both of us. My partner had a wine glass with a very obvious lipstick mark on it which she wasn't impressed with and we asked for a jug of water. The jug was plastic with lots of crack marks on it, the bottom was discoloured and it was also slowly leaking.

To summarise I would say that the biggest issue here is with the quality of the staff. There was clearly no leadership whatsoever, they didn't have a clue what to do and there were none of those friendly touches like you get elsewhere like a welcome with a smile, a "Is everything OK with your meal" and a goodbye. It's as if it was everyone's first day and they've had no training whatsoever. The restaurant itself looks like it needs some maintenance as there were water marks on the ceiling and down one of the pillars and it just feels a bit tired. I can't imagine too many people who visited today will be going back and you can only see a place like this going down a slippery slope. Bad experiences lead to loss of revenue meaning there's less money to improve the standards. Hats off to the chef though who worked his bottom off trying to keep the place running. He must have felt very let down by the other staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your review, Unfortunately I am aware there were serious issues with our lunch service on Sunday 9th September. I can only apologise as it definitely fell extremely short of the usual high standard of service the hotel is renowned for.There were many factors leading up to this, including the manager having to go home before lunch service due to a family crisis and another manager on holiday which left the restaurant team with little guidance and 63 lunch covers to cope with. This is by no means an excuse but an explanation for the appalling service you experienced on Sunday. The emergency procedures in place did not on this occasion alleviate the situation as they should .The staff were extremely busy and with a manager absent they were under pressure and struggled to cope. I am sure you are aware that most of the previous trip advisor reviews compliments my staff for their polite, friendly and efficient. manner . Please be assured that last Sunday was an isolated incident and all the previous good reviews show that The Brook Westfield Hotel is an improving hotel Although I can appreciate your concerns given your recent experience. I will of course make every effort to ensure that this situation never arises again .

I would be grateful if you would contact me on 0116 2787898 or on claire.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk as I agree the whole idea of the promotion is to encourage local people to use the hotel.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have recently had my wedding here and from the minute we booked it was brilliant, the manager answered every question within the day. Any thing we wanted they accommodated for. All day we had the manager check that we were ok and even allowed for a last minute guest without a problem.Food was brilliant service was great and staff were really friendly. Swimming pool is lovely. Didn't use gym but it looked good. Would recommend this hotel as a wedding venue for anyone. Also nice little garden for pics.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Harrup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to look after you and your guests on your special day. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon perhaps using our leisure club and all the best for the future.

Kind regards

Claire Palmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Brook Westfield House Hotel is an excellent small hotel, with very friendly and professional staff and managers. The facilities are very good and include a gym, swimming pool and free wireless internet. Accommodation is good but soon rooms can be a little warm in the summer. The menu and food are of good standard, the hotel is clean and there is an excellent bar, which could only be improved by the addition of real ale (if only). Having lived for several nights a week at Westfield House for the last 4 months plus, I can thoroughly recommend it to anybody. So much better than the chains, and the excellent staff ensure the hotel has a great atmosphere. It's like a home from home.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are worth having if available.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I would like to say thankyou for our lovely stay at your Hotel recently.when arriving we thought the hotel looked very dated but that all changed when we enterd,the reception staff were very welcoming,the room we had was very spaciouse and very clean the meals were lush and the big bonus was the pool.And thanks to the lady manager for all the attension we were given from start to finish it made us feel very special,we will defo come back hopefully xmas,big thanks to all the friendly staff. Well done and keep up the good work.


A very happy customer

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review, myself and the team at Westfield House Hotel always try to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Well were do I start from the moment we checked we were made to feel special ,the staff were polite and seemed to no are requirements ,the room was large and clean ,we went to the bar and were made to feel most welcome,we had a lovely nights sleep and breakfast was cooked nicely what else can I say really ,a good hotel good food good staff a good stay ,we would stay there again no question

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevechef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I recently stayed at the Westfield House Hotel as my son and I visited the National Space Centre. On arrival, I was surprised how big the hotel was as it looks just like a house from the front, but it extends right back and includes a lovely swimming pool and gym which was a bonus. Check-in was friendly and efficient, with the receptionist informing us of the opening times of the swimming pool and restaurant and asking us if we needed help with our luggage etc. Our room was on the first floor towards the rear of the hotel and was really spacious and clean. We didn't use the gym but did use the pool on both days - lovely. we ate in the bar on the first night and the food was delicious and the staff were great. After a good nights sleep, our breakfast was hot and plentiful and set us up for a great day out at the Space Centre. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and again, the food was delicious and we really didn't know what to choose off the menu as it all sounded lovely.
After reading some reviews of this hotel, I was a bit nervous, but needn't have been, the staff were helpful and welcoming, the room was as it should be and the food was top notch. Will definitely stay here again when i am back in Leicester.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILBLeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookWestfieldHouse, Manager at Blaby Westfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for kind review I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
4.4 mi away
Mill on the Soar
Mill on the Soar
#35 of 40 in Leicester
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#32 of 40 in Leicester
220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ramada Leicester Stage
#33 of 40 in Leicester
475 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#15 of 40 in Leicester
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaby Westfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaby Westfield House Hotel

Address: 15 Enderby Road | Blaby, Leicester LE8 4GD, England (Formerly Blaby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £52 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blaby Westfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is the ideal location for visiting Leicester and the surrounding areas for both the business and leisure traveller the Blaby Westfield House Hotel is situated in the old town of Blaby, only a short distance from the M1, M69 with easy access to all areas of Leicester and only 5 miles away from the city centre and close to Fosse park shopping centre and main business parks. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is a great place for any event from Intimate Family Gatherings, Parties Weddings and Special Occasions with Banqueting Facilities. With all four of our conference rooms located on the ground floor these rooms are ideal for Business Conference Events, Business Meetings and Training Courses. We offer competitive packages, full catering and conference facilities to meet all requirements from 2 -80 persons. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel possesses 48 well-appointed En-suite bedrooms with Flat screen TVs, Tea and Coffee Making facilities and free WiFi. The Blaby Fitness Gym can be used for free for our residents. (Please note the gym is operated separately from the hotel and opening times vary). Guests can unwind and relax in The Hunters Bar lounge with flat screen TV the bar offers a wide range of Alcoholic beverages and soft drinks or alternatively try a taste meal in our Hunters Restaurant. The hotels bar lounge is open every day of the week for the general public and restaurant is open from Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 9pm offering a full range of Hot food, Coffees, Teas and Light Bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blaby Westfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westfield Hotel Leicester
Blaby Westfield House Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing