We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a family room through booking.com as we needed to break our journey up. Unfortunately we read the reviews after doing this and were dreading our arrival. However, to be fair to the place it's really not that bad!
Our room was huge, very clean and reminded us of Alan Partridge's travel tavern. In fact had the staff been more comical and it been in Norwich I wouldn't have known the difference.
The children were meant to sleep on the pull out sofa bed, however this didn't look too appealing so they top and tailed in the single bed. No complaints. Beds were comfy enough and we had mattress toppers.
The pool was a nice temperature. The jacuzzi had an ever growing mountain of froth and I loved the sign which read 'please keep hands above water'. How anyone would find their hands under all that foam is beyond me!
Breakfast was served in the bar and was pretty standard. I wouldn't pay loads for it but we had it in the deal. The usual tinned fruit, cereal and yogurts were there to help yourself. My husband put some bread in toaster and about half an hour later he had some toast. His fry up looked ok, there were no complaints there. I wouldn't bother sneaking in a 12 inch plate though, the waitress looked quite scary.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ems999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Groupon overnight on the 31st March. We found the staff friendly and helpful, our room spacious (certainly compared with chain hotels), warm and with a comfortable bed. The TV was excellent and the bathroom again spacious and with copious hot water. Breakfast was fine - a choice of cereals and the cooked meal and drinks served at the table. There were croissants and fresh fruit for me as a non meateater but unfortunately the yogurt was not available. I used the pool and jacuzzi - the water was warm. I would agree with a previous reviewer that there was a slighly strange smell and I could not get the shower to run hot so went back to my room to shower. We ate at the nearby Toby Carvery and also walked into the small town centre - only 2 mins away. For what it was I would not find fault with this hotel and it was a good base for seeing family in Leicester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowcesterJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We upgraded to an executive room as we're on a groupon offer room was lovely and big very nicely furnished pool looked lovely although we didn't use,ate at an Indian in blaby although there is a Chinese next door.Breakfast was fast and very well presented ample of choice,all the staff were friendly and helpful....well done

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank alisontherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a coupon break, and definitley would not reccomend to anyone.

We got there earlier than we could check in because we wanted to use the spa facilities, what a waste of time that was. The ladies changing rooms were freezing!! The jacuzzi kept on foaming up and it smelt like a fish tank!!!!

When we got to our room the bed was in desperate need of a new mattress, unless that is you like a really bouncy bed with springs sticking in you!!!

The shower was a nice temperature bug unfortunately it seemed to spray everywhere but on me.

The breakfast the next morning, well what can I say, sweaty bacon and rubber sausage. Tea and coffee kept on the bar along with one pot of brown sauce and one pot of red. The chairs were too big for the table so if you try and tuck yourself in a little you knock the table and spill the drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninnie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having checked in the wife and I went to our room which looked dated but comfortable, ample tea & coffee facility and very clean. We did not eat on the evening but went to a Toby carvery up the road which was very nice indeed. Breakfast the following the following morning; WOW what a disappointment although the tables were laid out well, not into carrying cups to a counter for tea/coffee, what looked like the cook was dressed as though he should be working elsewhere rather than a kitchen. A choice of cereals but for those that required sugar (sweet tooth) there was none had to ask. Any sauce required i.e. tomato ketchup was on the bar one bowl for the whole room. Cooked food was brought through and tipped into warming pans but didn`t looked thoroughly cooked. I know we all have our certain levels heating food but I prefer it to looked cooked rather than sweated bacon and sausages not looking pink inside. Both toasters were in need of replacement and preferably not cheap ones from the local major store as these were people struggling to use them as not industrial units.
All you got was excuses from the staff..
Morning two; surprise surprise you got beans with breakfast but couldn`t eat the hot food, don`t know what training the cook had but he must have been bored because sausage, bacon not edible this time round and did notice people leaving it on plate once tasted. Toast it is then - oh no butter!!
It would seem some in house training required, dress codes and updating required.
We didn`t use the pool facilities as the smell wasn`t pleasant and hygiene not good although I did notice during our stay two adults and three children used the pool.
I think if the management were to have surprise stay they would be left feeling the same a pity really.
I am not a hotel inspector but would like to overhaul these premises.
Quite a disappointment really as we like weekends away in different towns but the locals are very friendly.
In future I will be paying more attention to reviews

Room Tip: the real problem isn`t the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stay in many budget hotels with work, we stayed in this hotel to celebrate friends birthday.
Room was dated, with wallpaper hanging off.
Bed springs pushing up in mattress and duvet was hilarious when lifted up you could see the light through as duvet filling had practically disappeared.
The shower head sprayed everywhere but at you and leaked a black substance down wall while on.
When we went for breakfast, we sat eating and staff started hoovering round us.
When we approached the hotel receptionist I asked her, is this hotel a good night guaranteed ? She looked at us and laughed and said no.
We couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone one sadly. Defiantly needs some work and staff training.
Party was brilliant though.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseBud197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I booked a weekend break away as a surprise anniversary for my wife and had a lovely relaxed stay at the westfield. The pool , jacuzzi and sauna were so relaxing and the members of the health spa were very friendly and made us feel welcome straight away. The room was clean, spacious and stocked with all the usual coffee and tea making facilities. We ventured into the village pubs and again were made very welcome. The only downside came was when we got back to the hotel bar for a last night cap and was charged £16.50 !!!! for a vodka and redbull and a glass of white wine ( the village pubs charged £8.20 for a double vodka redbull and wine!.) How can they justify these prices??? so beware !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landlocked_in_blaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.9 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mill on the Soar
Mill on the Soar
#34 of 41 in Leicester
206 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#18 of 41 in Leicester
523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ramada Leicester Stage
#33 of 41 in Leicester
480 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#21 of 41 in Leicester
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaby Westfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaby Westfield House Hotel

Address: 15 Enderby Road | Blaby, Leicester LE8 4GD, England (Formerly Blaby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £53 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blaby Westfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is the ideal location for visiting Leicester and the surrounding areas for both the business and leisure traveller the Blaby Westfield House Hotel is situated in the old town of Blaby, only a short distance from the M1, M69 with easy access to all areas of Leicester and only 5 miles away from the city centre and close to Fosse park shopping centre and main business parks. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is a great place for any event from Intimate Family Gatherings, Parties Weddings and Special Occasions with Banqueting Facilities. With all four of our conference rooms located on the ground floor these rooms are ideal for Business Conference Events, Business Meetings and Training Courses. We offer competitive packages, full catering and conference facilities to meet all requirements from 2 -80 persons. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel possesses 48 well-appointed En-suite bedrooms with Flat screen TVs, Tea and Coffee Making facilities and free WiFi. The Blaby Fitness Gym can be used for free for our residents. (Please note the gym is operated separately from the hotel and opening times vary). Guests can unwind and relax in The Hunters Bar lounge with flat screen TV the bar offers a wide range of Alcoholic beverages and soft drinks or alternatively try a taste meal in our Hunters Restaurant. The hotels bar lounge is open every day of the week for the general public and restaurant is open from Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 9pm offering a full range of Hot food, Coffees, Teas and Light Bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Blaby Westfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westfield Hotel Leicester
Blaby Westfield House Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing