We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely failed to deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Completely failed to deliver”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked a reception room and food for a Wake. At noon on the day before the funeral we were rung and informed that they could not honour the reservation. They stated that this was due to there failure to pay outstanding bills resulting in their electricity supply being cut off. No assistance was offered to us with regard to finding an alternative. Our deposit was returned via the Funeral Director without any apology. We have subsequently learned that this is not the first time that customers have been let down in this way. Needless-to-say, we will never darken their door again

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank harryburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    33
    27
    26
See reviews for
35
45
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Small family run hotel divided into 2 parts with an older section & a modern block across the entrance to the car park. I stayed in the newer block & had a large clean room with plenty of lamps, nice furniture & a very clean modern bathroom. Duvet cover was white cotton & spotless.
Restaurant food was fine & breakfast in the morning was a hot buffet which was kept topped up by very attentive waiters.
All the staff I met were very friendly & pleasant & went out of their to help me.
The empty swimming pool next to the reception is a bit unfortunate as it doesn't create a very good first impression.
My only concern with the hotel was that there wasn't a lift in either the main building or new block.This caused a bit of a problem even though the staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible.
Overall a nice cosy hotel which i would be happy to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulties with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iciejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

12th May was our Ruby Wedding anniversary so we arranged a Sunday Lunch at The Westfield House Hotel Blaby for ourselves and 26 family and guests in their Bosworth suite. Prior to the event the staff were extremely helpful in supplying a tailored menu (allowed us to organise pre-orders) and advice on table layout.
On the day the staff had laid the room out lovely, it looked as exactly as we wanted. The food was cooked to perfection (our compliments to the chef), all the meals were correct as ordered and brought out quickly.
Our thanks to everyone who helped, it made our special day extra special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernie1234186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here one night on a voucher deal which was good value. Hotel rooms are mainly in blocks not in main hotel,they were spacious and clean. Swimming pool was out of action and I think this maybe the case for some time. All the staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and service prompt. Only bad points only one large towel and one small towel in bathroom when we arrived and only one thin pillow each . It is a 1 minuet walk in to the town where there are plenty of shops,pubs and a couple of restaurants. There is a nice park 10mins walk if you want a stroll. It is close to Leicester and so all in all good for an overnight stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazydays981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Check in was quick and easy. Noticed the pool was closed as it was empty and had a cover over it. Wasn't there to swim so didn't really bother us. Given wrong room number or wrong card, had to go down to reception twice and then given a totally different room. The hotel itself could do with modernising, however the room was fairly clean but basic.
Breakfast wasn't up to much, no vegetarian sausages so ended up with a plate with a few beans a minimal amount of mushrooms and some scrambled egg. Expected a bit more than this. The full english didn't look great either.
The positives of this hotel are the gym looked very good and staff were very helpful. I would stay here again as it was very reasonable, you pay for what you get. Hardly spent any time at the hotel as was out with family. As my title says, average!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed the night a the hotel on May 4th for wedding. After reading some reviews. Its clear new management have taken it over and have done there best to improve things. Wedding went fine and staff did there best to make make it look nice and a good day. The Food was fine and red wine i had was great.
The front bar was clean and we all chilled in there at times.

The room we had 133 was clean, spacious and quiet. bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Reserved a room for 3 nights for relatives who travelled from overseas...........turned up on the day (26.4.13)and told "there's an electrical fault, it's closed". Unhelpful manageress said its an oversight they didn't alert us before despite having our contact details and we live 5 mins away. Told us to try Wigston stage as its only 10 mins away............any local knows its more like 20 mins drive at best.
this hotel needs the hotel inspector!!

Luckily got a room at narborough heritage who have been faultless.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Percy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester South (Oadby) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#31 of 40 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ramada Leicester Stage
#34 of 40 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester Fosse Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaby Westfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaby Westfield House Hotel

Property: Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Address: 15 Enderby Road | Blaby, Leicester LE8 4GD, England (Formerly Blaby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blaby Westfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is the ideal location for visiting Leicester and the surrounding areas for both the business and leisure traveller the Blaby Westfield House Hotel is situated in the old town of Blaby, only a short distance from the M1, M69 with easy access to all areas of Leicester and only 5 miles away from the city centre and close to Fosse park shopping centre and main business parks. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel is a great place for any event from Intimate Family Gatherings, Parties Weddings and Special Occasions with Banqueting Facilities. With all four of our conference rooms located on the ground floor these rooms are ideal for Business Conference Events, Business Meetings and Training Courses. We offer competitive packages, full catering and conference facilities to meet all requirements from 2 -80 persons. The Blaby Westfield House Hotel possesses 48 well-appointed En-suite bedrooms with Flat screen TVs, Tea and Coffee Making facilities and free WiFi. The Blaby Fitness Gym can be used for free for our residents. (Please note the gym is operated separately from the hotel and opening times vary). Guests can unwind and relax in The Hunters Bar lounge with flat screen TV the bar offers a wide range of Alcoholic beverages and soft drinks or alternatively try a taste meal in our Hunters Restaurant. The hotels bar lounge is open every day of the week for the general public and restaurant is open from Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 9pm offering a full range of Hot food, Coffees, Teas and Light Bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blaby Westfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westfield Hotel Leicester
Blaby Westfield House Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing