We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for a treat”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value for a treat”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Wanted to surprise the wife & kids after having a overnight stay the night before at a Premier Inn. I never thought of looking at the Hilton chain as I thought it would be very expensive for one night. I found a room using the late rooms.com website and then visited the chain website direct.
We booked one night on a Saturday night for just slightly more than the Premier Inn had cost the night before. It was a great surpise for the family, check in was quick & easy from the front desk staff, the room was great, loads of room and two double beds that was great for kids rather than the normal pull out beds. We went swimming on the Saturday night and the kids though it was great to go swimming before their breakfast on the Sunday morning. Breakfast was good, a great choice & good attentive service from the restaurant staff. All the staff we meet were friendly & efficent in their roles. All in all, it was a great treat & excellent value for money. If we were to stay in the area again and could get the room deal I got again, I would definetly stay here again as it was worth paying that little bit more for the quality for the service & facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePottersYrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your response on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us, making full use of our leisure facilities. It was also pleasing to hear of the great customer care and service you expereinced through out your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    516
    297
    146
    83
See reviews for
512
282
47
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were welcomed with a clean sparking lobby, our room was ready, large and clean, the lovely pool and spa area was very refreshing. Excellent base for Market Bosworth and Battlefield site / also very near Twycross Zoo which was our reason for chosing the Hilton Leicester. Large shopping centre near by. Excellent bar and breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a Double Double Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review after your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to visit some of the many local attractions. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be very clean, very comfy beds, and all round good standard rooms. The basket of wine, fruit and chocolate was an extra bonus! Breakfast was included and was everything you would expect from a buffet breakfast. Excellent value for money

The only thing I would comment on is the price of extras. Car parking is £5, personally I would much rather the price be built into the room and car parking be free, it's a mindest thing but it is a gripe! Drinks were also expensive even on all night happy hour but I expect that in a Hilton. The food was massivley over priced, we wnt out to eat as from past experiences of Hilton it is not value for money. My suggestion would be to offer better value for money food so that more customers would eat in the restaurant. There was a group of 10 of us so was a bit annoying having to arrange transport to go out, however it still worked out cheaper and we had an excellent meal!

Overall the accomodation and service was excellent but extras were over priced!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and service provided. With reference to the car parking charge, it was a conscious decision by the management team at Hilton Leicester, to show honesty to our guests and not hide the car parking charge in our room rates. This is reviewed on a regular basis and your comments will be included in future discussions.
When you next stay please do dine with us and see if we can change your views on whether our menu is value for money!! Thank you again for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Everything you would expect from the Hilton chain. Good service, very comfortable beds. No complaints. Location means that you need a car but otherwise very good hotel. We got reasonable rates as well (compared to the usual Hilton rates). They have a nice bar and good decoration. Did not have any of the food.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaGo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our facilities. May be next time, you will get the chance to dine with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed as part of the Stay and Explore package for £99 with an additional night at £59. Very pleased with family room consisting of 2 double beds and a leather sofa, large TV, modern decor, overlooking courtyard. A little disappointed with the bathroom - it seemed quite dated in comparison though clean and plenty of toiletries supplied and replenished on second day.
Hotel staff excellent - reception very helpful as arrived early to collect attraction tickets before check -in.
Restaurant staff very friendly. One waiter saw my daughters Birthday girl badge and immediately organised a birthday card and a cake (well 2 pieces of choc fudge cake but the thought was there) with candle and sang happy birthday to her. Ate in the restaurant on the first night and had the 3 course meal. Did think this was a little expensive at £25 each but the children ate free. Breakfast excellent - everything and more that you could want.
Went swimming twice- on both occasions staff friendly. Was a little bewildered when 20 members of the Exeter Rugby team got in (the water got out!) but all members very well behaved and no trouble at all. The hotel accommodated their dining in a different area so there was no disturbance at all from them.

Downside: Bar very expensive - on average £9 for a 250ml glass of wine and £15 for food.
Advantages: retails parks close by for shopping and on second night we walked to the Pizza Hut to save our wallets a little where we ate and drank for £25 as a family of 4.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy12CambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for posting a comment on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of our facilities including the restaurant and pool. It is particularly lovely to hear your feedback of our staff and their efforts to make your stay memorable. We hopefully will have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A one night stop at the Hilton travelling down the M1. It is a usual Hilton hotel, modern with good amenities, though may be a little bland and corporate for some. The check-in staff were very friendly and efficient. The room on the ground floor was surprisingly large and well equiped, though with a slightly strange layout. The washbasin was actually outside the bathroom and the flat screen TV at right angles to the bed. The bed was rather soft and lumpy for my taste, but nontheless was fairly comfortable. My only real gripe about the room was the lack of wi-fi, in fact in-room internet through a cable link was £15.....ouch!!! Something for Hilton to look at given the increasing amount of hotels offering free wi-fi.
The bar was is adjacent to the main lobby was OK. It seemed well stocked and service was good, but again could be said to lack atmosphere despite being busy. I ate in the restaurant which was also off the main lobby. It was very busy as they were offereing an Indian buffet, plus a la carte. I chose the latter, which was fine and reasonably priced, but the wine, with the cheapest being £7 for a 250ml glass, with others well above £10, was too high in my opinion.
Breakfast was included in my price and again was reasonable so no real complaints.
I would use the hotel again for one or two nights if in the area, but I think they need to review their wi-fi offering, and the price of wine in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The cost of internet could deter business travellers as there are other hotels close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to make a posting to Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the management team, and are grateful for the feedback so that we can make ongoing improvements through out the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and hopefully show we have listened. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked a 2 night stay with the Stay and Play website. We received a family entry ticket into Drayton Manor as part of the deal. The room was large and it was a pleasant surprise to have a second double bed and not a pull out sofa bed in the room for our 2 daughters. The breakfast options were good and the staff in the restaurant pleasant.
The swimming pool was a excellent size but the jacuzzi seems to have been out of action for some time ( although we were lead to believe from the reception staff it had only just broken down ). Children are only allowed into the pool until 730pm during weekdays and if using the pool first thing in the morning watch out for a grumpy old man who seems to think he owns the pool and children playing and enjoying themselves are a hinderance and shouldn't be allowed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLYSANDDOWNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great that you enjoyed your stay, taking advantage of our Stay Play and Explore packacge. It is great that your expectations were exceeded with our bedroom configurement - it is great for a family of four. I was sorry to hear that the pool experience was marred by another guest, and your comments regarding this have been passed to our leisure team for awareness. Hopefully, this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing