We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks TLC”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lacks TLC”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is our second stay and the hotel has definitely deteriorated. Our room layout was poorly designed with furniture that appeared to have come from MFI. The bath drain plug didn't work and the toilet flush had to be repeatedly pressed before it operated. We noticed somebody had spilt popcorn in one of the lifts when we checked in around 6pm and this remained uncleaned at 11am when we left the morning after! On a bright note, the breakfast is very good, with service to match, although we must criticise the hotel's apparent lack of trust with self service fruit juice. We didn't use the pool on this occasion. The hotel is well placed for the M1 and Leicester. The hotel makes a charge of £5 parking fee per night, which is disgraceful given its out of town location. Anybody who feels the fare on offer is expensive, have a great choice of food establishments within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piccasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback - good and bad, as it assists us to review our product and services. Your comments have been shared with all the relevant departments so improvements may be made. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast - it certainly is a great way to start the morning. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    522
    300
    147
    84
See reviews for
523
285
48
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Great hotel to stay at for a wedding near by. Brilliant pool/spa to relax in while in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new bit by the health spa, as you can park right outside the doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback, after your recent stay. I am glad you were able to take time out to enjoy our leisure facilities, whilst attending a wedding locally. Hopefully we will be able to host another stay for you soon, where you may enjoy the many attractions in our local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

2nd time at this hotel and the staff and amenities are second to none! First class, attentive and welcoming. Family rooms are large and close to the pool (included in the price). Breakfast choice is impressive - I noticed that haggis was also on the menu. Charlotte and Naraj in the restaurant were wonderfully attentive to my children. One thing to point out is that if you are on the Stay, Play and Explore package, you can eat in the hotel for £19.50 (children under 10 are free) on both occasions that we have stayed this was not offered to us and we had to go to Reception and request it. Maybe if the manager reads this, it should be something that is offered upon arrival - especially as the restaurant is very quiet on a weekend evening.
We will be back either later this year or in the first half term.

Room Tip: Family rooms are all on the same floor (I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le-Marchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback. It is great that you have stayed twice and enjoy our facilities so much. Your comments regarding our dinner voucher offer have been noted and have been shared with the Front Office Manager to encourage our reception team to positively promote this offer on check in, as it does offer great value and compliments the Stay Play and Explore package well. Thank you gain for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband has always wanted to visit the National Space Centre, so I decided to make it an extra special treat by booking through the Play, Stay Explore promotion. The phone booking system was a little frustrating, with about 5 selections before being able to book a room. I also got cut off whilst the reservation clerk made a query. An earlier review said that the hotel would post the tickets out, but they wouldnt do this for me. However, we arrived at the hotel at 11am and were given our tickets so we could go off to the Space Centre.
The room was lovely and clean with 2 double beds. We made use of the swimming pool, which our daughter loved. Breakfast the following morning was amazing and we were completely spoilt for choice. All the staff were very friendly and seemed to make an effort to talk to our daughter.

Although the charge for parking is steep, we were given a car park pass with our key, which was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear of the frustration you experienced on trying to book your reservation. Your comments have been shared with our reservations team so that we can review our processes and procedures. However, I was glad to hear that this did not stop yourselves from enjoying your stay and making use of our facilities. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, so that you can enjoy more of what ourselves and Leicester have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Wanted to surprise the wife & kids after having a overnight stay the night before at a Premier Inn. I never thought of looking at the Hilton chain as I thought it would be very expensive for one night. I found a room using the late rooms.com website and then visited the chain website direct.
We booked one night on a Saturday night for just slightly more than the Premier Inn had cost the night before. It was a great surpise for the family, check in was quick & easy from the front desk staff, the room was great, loads of room and two double beds that was great for kids rather than the normal pull out beds. We went swimming on the Saturday night and the kids though it was great to go swimming before their breakfast on the Sunday morning. Breakfast was good, a great choice & good attentive service from the restaurant staff. All the staff we meet were friendly & efficent in their roles. All in all, it was a great treat & excellent value for money. If we were to stay in the area again and could get the room deal I got again, I would definetly stay here again as it was worth paying that little bit more for the quality for the service & facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePottersYrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your response on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us, making full use of our leisure facilities. It was also pleasing to hear of the great customer care and service you expereinced through out your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were welcomed with a clean sparking lobby, our room was ready, large and clean, the lovely pool and spa area was very refreshing. Excellent base for Market Bosworth and Battlefield site / also very near Twycross Zoo which was our reason for chosing the Hilton Leicester. Large shopping centre near by. Excellent bar and breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a Double Double Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review after your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to visit some of the many local attractions. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be very clean, very comfy beds, and all round good standard rooms. The basket of wine, fruit and chocolate was an extra bonus! Breakfast was included and was everything you would expect from a buffet breakfast. Excellent value for money

The only thing I would comment on is the price of extras. Car parking is £5, personally I would much rather the price be built into the room and car parking be free, it's a mindest thing but it is a gripe! Drinks were also expensive even on all night happy hour but I expect that in a Hilton. The food was massivley over priced, we wnt out to eat as from past experiences of Hilton it is not value for money. My suggestion would be to offer better value for money food so that more customers would eat in the restaurant. There was a group of 10 of us so was a bit annoying having to arrange transport to go out, however it still worked out cheaper and we had an excellent meal!

Overall the accomodation and service was excellent but extras were over priced!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and service provided. With reference to the car parking charge, it was a conscious decision by the management team at Hilton Leicester, to show honesty to our guests and not hide the car parking charge in our room rates. This is reviewed on a regular basis and your comments will be included in future discussions.
When you next stay please do dine with us and see if we can change your views on whether our menu is value for money!! Thank you again for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
899 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing