We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to your usual Hilton standard”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
'oop north near lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not up to your usual Hilton standard”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for the weekend recently. Hotel quite busy as Hilton winter offers on at the moment. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and the room was reasonable although a bit of a trek from reception. The hotel is located off the motorway and a bit complicated to find but plenty of parking (even though i was asked to pay). Hotel noisy at night with bar revellers but sleep quality was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolwhenimsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I am please to hear although the hotel was busy, this did not prevent you from enjoying your stay or having a good night's sleep. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    531
    305
    151
    87
See reviews for
533
288
49
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Took advantage of the 'Stay, Play, Explore' in Leicester.
Upon arrival at the hotel, early on the Saturday morning, I registered my details with the friendly and helpful staff, and received our attraction tickets and carpark pass.
Off we went to the National Space Centre, which was fantastic for the kids (Age 6 & 3). The panoramic cinema and the 3D simulator ride were particularly good.
When we returned to the hotel, we were issued with room keys, and a fuss was made of the children, including Happy Birthday being sung to my 6yr old, who's birthday was on the Saturday.
The room itself was a Double Double, and was very large and spacious. Very clean, and everything worked as it should.
Also, there were two birthday presents, and 2 birthday cards in the room for the kids. A very nice touch. We ate at the restaurant that evening, and the food was excellent. Childrens menu is Annabel Karmel, so is no/low salt and sugar, and all good ingredients. Son was especially pleased with his Salmon and Cod pie.
The night passed without interruption, and a sound sleep was had by all, including our fussy 3yr old who slept through.
Sunday morning, Breakfast (after present opening and looking at the snow out of the window!)
Breakfast was excellent. Large and plentiful selection. Cooked breakfast, fruit, cereals, pastries and dairy products.
After breakfast we checked out, and headed off to Twycross Zoo. Due to the snowy cold weather, there were very few visitors, so we were able to see everything we wanted to.

The Hotel was clean and spacious.
The Staff were friendly and professional. (Sorry we didn't get your names)
Breakfast was yummy.
The Birthday weekend was a success.

A big "thank you" to the reception staff in particular, and to all in general at the hotel.

Mark, Tina, Izzy & Henry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a posting on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that the whole family enjoyed their stay , especially the birthday boy and girl. It certainly seems that you were able to make the most of the Stay, Play and Explore package, enjoying the local attaractions and enjoying the comfort and provision provided by the hotel. I am glad to hear the snow did not prevent you from exploring the Zoo and having lots of fun. Hopefully you will be able to visit again later in the year and explore some more of our local attractions - in warmer weather!! Thank you agin for your kind comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was the second visit to the Leicester Hilton. This time it was chosen due to it's location midway between the Yorkshire and london branches of the family.

The service was excellent, making all the ages of the family, 4 to 70 welcome.

Pool & gym was an excellent facility and was used by all during the weekend.

Food again was good, aimed at all age groups and could be taken in the bar or restaurant. The breakfast was probably the best ever.

Couldn't fault the rooms and would recommend an upgrade to fluffy dressing gowns, wine & fruit - well worth the few pounds extra.

We would all (10 of us) stay again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggtandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a posting on Trip Advisor. It is great that the whole family enjoys their break with us, making the most of all our hotel facilities including the gym and pool. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberystwyth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

It cost me £5 to park in the carpark - is this really optional? Its miles from anywhere but the motorway.
Internet was offered at £15.
The corridor to my room smelt like a swimming pool.
The Sauna was not a proper sauna as it did not have ability to make steam in the proper Finnish way.
The noise from the roads was unpleasant from room 181 but not intolerable.
The shower was only just hot enough - not much above luke warm.

Other than that, service was reasonable, the bed was comfortable, I had haddock and potatoes with fries for a meal which although expensive was very tasty. There was a good desk for working on in my room and also a decent iron with board.

Overall - comfortable, clean and functional but overpriced unless you get a deal and without any charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback to the Trip Advisor Site. Thank you for your feedback from your stay. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments, so that we can review and resolve the issues raised. May I apologise that your stay was marred by these issues. We welcome all feedback as it assists us with identifying where we can make further improvements to enhance the guests stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I couldnt believe that this was the Hilton. The room itself was ok but that's about it. The bed didn't have a sheet on it, Internet access came at a cost of £15 (rip off) and the food was ridiculously overpriced and was appauling. The staffs attitude wasn't much better. I would never stay here again. I'd rather sleep in my car

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make a posting to Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the management team, and are grateful for the feedback so that we can investigate further the comments you have raised. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future to show we have listened. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

this hotel has a pool, which is why we stay there with our children. rooms are adequate and breakfast can be included at a reasonable price. good shopping nearby. free car park. there is an indian meal at the restaurant, but better to go to the many indian restaurants on Leicesters Belgrave Road!

Room Tip: book early for good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrowman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoy and make use of the facilities and amenities within the hotel and surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Staff polite and efficient. Room clean and confortable. Large television, tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board, hairdryer but no fridge. Heating on too high with no visible means of turning it down. Most impressed by the breakfast, huge variety, well presented, though my companion found the cooked breakfast lacking in taste (apart from teh bacon). Restaurant staff kept the tables cleared and cleaned in timely unobtrusive fashion.
Well situated for shopping and access to city centre.
I did not appreciate the £5.00 parking fee for residents when the room prices was over £100.00. Lack of a real ale was a downside.It would be nice to have at least one local ale on tap. There was no bottled ale either.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MistressWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Comment. Your feedback is appreciated and your comments regarding real ale have been shared with our Food and Beverage manager for review and consideration. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing