We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton quality at Travelodge prices. Great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hilton quality at Travelodge prices. Great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I wasn't expecting much from the ex-Stakis motorway-adjacent lodge-style hotel, but was more than pleasantly surprised by the helpful and enthusiastic young team who work here. Every single request - extra room amenities, driving and parking information, late check-out was met with a smile and a positive response: even a middle-of-the-night internet issue solved by the prompt arrival of a night porter with a replacement access code.

It helps to have "status" (I am recently Hilton Gold member) but I saw many other customers also treated with kindness and helpfulness by the eager staff. Apart from one surly lad in the LivingWell Health Club (not a Hilton employee) it was perfect.

Breakfast was excellent, appreciated the extended choices of black pudding and haggis alongside the bacon and sausages, good breads, possibly the only almost-efficient hotel toaster in England, and apart from the fact there's not much actual fresh fruit (mostly canned or pre packed) a really good spread. Try to get it included in the price of your room.

Casual charges like £14.99 for internet are outrageous - I'm also deducting a 'star' till Hilton come to their senses on that - and again I can't understand why you pay a separate £5 for parking when no-one else would be using the car park for any purpose other than visiting the hotel but no doubt the anonymous staff member who monitors this site will tell me. On the approach ramp to the Hilton, there's also a huge empty car park attached to some office buildings which are empty and up for rent ... and a few yards of the roadway have no yellow lines.

There may be the odd crack in the plaster and the bathrooms are old-fashioned, there's no air-con and the rooms don't have fridges but I found the hotel excellent value, convenient and safe. Having been in to the centre of Leicester on Saturday night and emerged from the theatre into its mean streets, I was very pleased to be able to hightail it back to the calm and comfort of the HIlton.

Navigating the road systems around the hotel and in the town centre are both nightmares. Arm yourself with sat-nav or a very detailed map.

Room Tip: 'Double-doubles' are larger than 'King' rooms, 'King' rooms have a bigger de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments and feedback on to Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you received a high level of service from the hotel team. We certainly strive to deliver a welcoming and hospitable service to all our guests. I was pleased to hear that our breakfast met with your satisfaction - with the great choice we offer. Your comments regarding our parking charges and in- room internet charge have been noted, a policy which we review regularly and take in to consideration feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    510
    294
    146
    80
See reviews for
505
280
46
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

It's time we, the long-suffering chain hotel users, started protesting more strongly about ridiculous charges for internet in hotels. So I will be deducting stars from my regular reviews for this reason. The Hilton asks for an eye-watering £14.99 for a day of internet !! Connectivity is an essential that I expect to be part of the fabric of a chain hotel like clean sheets and quick check-out.
The internet rip-off aside this is a clean, comfortable and efficient Hilton. Out of town but OK if you have a car. Pool and steam room good.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room on the garden side and not on the motorway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raybagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Trip Advisor.
Whilst there is a charge for the internet service from your room , as highlighted in your review, we do however, also offer free wi-fi connectivity in all of our public areas, to assist our customers. Also those joining our Hhonors Loyalty programme also enjoy free access to the internet from their rooms, once they have reached the qualifying level.
Apart from this criticism, I am pleased to hear that you enjoy our facilities especially our steam and pool areas.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

As you can guess I have been staying at this hotel for years. Prior to the Stakis Group selling out to Hilton, parking was free. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, near junction 21 M1 and junction 1 M69. Fosse Park (retail park) is across the road, but complicated to get to, but worth a shoppers visit! These days Hilton charge residents £5 per night to park, why? It is not as if others may be using their car park for purposes other than visiting the hotel. Beware when you book, there is another £5 to pay. Wifi is free to residents in the foyer and lounge/bar (of course it is, they can then 'haunt' you to buy drinks, coffee etc..) unless you hold a Hilton gold card (I do) or higher, then WiFi is free in your room also. I think it is £12.50 for 24 hours in your room if you have to pay. We had 4 rooms for several nights, the first night was very noisy, the afters of a wedding. One of our chaps checked out @ 3am and drove home in snow! One receptionist agreed there would be no charge for the room and then at the end of the week when we were checking out - you guessed it, nobody knew about it! The hotel is a fine hotel, large bedrooms, very comfortable beds, nice swimming pool etc... breakfast is very good (especially if the chef who is an Irish lady is on at the counter). Beware of the dinner menu, it is very, very limited on choice. The Observatory Beefeater restaurant is 1 mile away, (ring and book for Friday's and Saturday's) and is very good, there are other restaurants near it. The hotel location is excellent and it is only 35 minutes from the NEC.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, there are only two levels, upper level not all accessible via lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and am pleased to note that you enjoy our facilities especially our breakfast service. Our evening menu choice changes on a regular basis, and is worth checking each time you stay. Thank you agin for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excellent value hotel with very good swimming and health suite facilities. Helpful staff. Not a character hotel and 15 minutes from the city centre . Our daughter is at University in Leicester and we would certainly visit again. If you have access to BTFON then you can get free wifi access. Decorations looked ok to us !

Room Tip: Quite a large hotel and If you want to use the health suite suggest you ask for a room close by. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoy our leisure facilities, and make the most of them during your stay. We are conveniently located for both Fosse Park and Highcross Shopping outlets, making us an ideal spot for shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiveratsea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pleasant all round experience with nothing particulaarly outstanding but certainly nothing at all wrong. I was surprised how quiet it was considering how close we were to the M1.
The pool is larger than average for an hotel of this standard and the health suite facilities are good.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor, inward facing and you will find it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor response. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in particular our leisure facillities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Enjoyed Half Term break, Children enjoyed pool. Breakfast very good , staff helpful.
Family room clean and tidy. Beds were good,went to The Vue, Bella Italia,Chiquitos at the close by Meridian Les Park,Enjoyable visit Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre.

Room Tip: Book the Room including Car Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duzzer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make a posting on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of our facilities. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked this hotel as part of the 3 day Flash Sale. The first impressions were good, check-in staff friendly and efficient. The hotel is in need of refurbishment, paint worn off doors and just generally shabby. The room was ok, not really what I would call Hilton standard, although we often stay in Doubletree hotels which are a cut above. My wife was turning down the bed when she noticed that there where dark hairs on the sheets and it didn't seem as if the bed had been changed after the last guest. Yuck!!.
We arranged for the bed to be changed and this was done promptly.

The bathroom in our room (174) was pretty dire with a very dated shower and chipped tiles. In common with the rest of the hotel, a refurb is needed.
We went out for a time after breakfast, noticing that the bathroom tissue dispenser was empty. When we returned, the housekeeper had simply pushed 2 sheets of toilet paper into the dispenser, as if we wouldn't notice! So another call to the Front Desk, to get the dispenser filled.
On the plus side, the food in the restaurant at dinner was first class. Breakfast was also very good and plentiful.

Overall, I don't think we'd stay here again or recommend the hotel to family or friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfletcher46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. We value all comments that are posted and thank you for your feedback regarding our decor within the hotel. We have a maintenance programme in place, that refurbishes our rooms, bathrooms and public areas on an ongoing basis. Your comments have been shared with both the maintenance and housekeeping departments for further investigation and future action.

Thank you again for giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing