We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not deserving of the Hilton brand name...think old-fashioned guest house”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not deserving of the Hilton brand name...think old-fashioned guest house”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We've stayed in many Hiltons worldwide and this is the worst ever (2nd "prize" goes to Milton Keynes").

If you're staying on a "mega-deal" then fine, enjoy. Otherwise beware. The public rooms have been renovated but (as of May 2012) NOT the guest rooms or the corridors and they are VERY tatty...reminded us of the old Crowne Plazas. The washbasins are even located outside of the tiny bathrooms! Safes are only available in a few rooms! The rooms are badly maintained and you may find...constantly running water in the overhead tank....broken outside vent...etc. You may also be disturbed by the noise from the car park...or the busy roundabout....or the leisure centre...or the inner courtyard (though they do lock the door at 11pm). You may also find inside your room the stench of chlorine coming from the pool is overwhelming.

Also if you wish to have laundry done be aware that this service is NOT available at the weekend, although there is no mention of this.

Furthermore THERE IS NO EXECUTIVE LOUNGE and the restaurant area reserved for Hilton "Hhonors" customers is not always available at breakfast.

I chose this hotel in preference to the Marriott as wi-fi is available in the rooms. However I had daily problems and became well acquainted with the operative at Openzone.

Parking is charged at GBP 5 per night (as with the Leicester Marriott though they reduce it to GBP 2.50 on Fri, Sat & Sun).

On a more positive note...the rooms are a reasonable size, it is close to the motorway, the breakfast is okay and "Susan" who helps out at reception is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank By_She_Travel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay. May I apologise for the disatisfaction felt, of which I have shared with the relevant Head Of Departments for further review and improvement.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, to show we have listened and have actioned upon your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    534
    305
    151
    87
See reviews for
542
291
49
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stopped here (2 adults, 2 young children) for one night on 15/07/12 using the Drayton Manor/Room & Breakfast deal. Good stuff: The excellent service, the very pleasant & friendly staff , nice reception area, nice pool & gym, the cleanliness, great road links. The breakfast was absolutely out of this world!
Bad stuff: Our room (110) was a bit shabby & dated (grubby looking sofa, handle missing from drawers), not what we would expect from a Hilton. The prices in the restaurant were astronomical, we decided to eat elsewhere.
Overall, an enjoyable experience, we will return if staying in the area again, but will ask for a nicer room!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourfather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. i am glad you enjoyed your stay, and your feedback regarding your room has been shared with our Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager for further review. I am glad this did not spoil your stay and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

My two rooms were airy, bright and spacious overlooking a central courtyard, providing a picturesque yet intimate setting. The furnishings are Hilton quality and the rooms though dated have been refurbished to a good standard. If wifi is necessary for your survival ensure that you can get adequate coverage from inside the room with the door closed. In my case the signal was spotty at best and I had to relocate my ipad and reconnect several times. The staff are some of the finest I have met always going out of their way and providing excellent hospitality. In my case management went beyond the extra mile to accommodate extenuating circumstances. Do not miss breakfast. My favorite is the gammon and black sausage! Finally the hotel is situated next to a shopping centre. Ask for directions at the front desk...it's a 5 minute walk...worth a visit.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. it is great that you enjoyed your stay especially our Hilton breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Nice setting for a hotel with a court yard & small gardens to enjoy

Typical Hilton hotel with excellent service from friendly staff, high quality food/drink & generous rooms

There's a well equipped gym & small pool available, & the hotel is located <1 mile from the M1

Bar prices are pretty high (£10 for a large glass of wine), but quality/choice/selection is pretty good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had time to appreciate our facilities and service we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a weekend stay at the Hilton and was very impressed with this hotel from the lovely clean reception to the large rooms and lovely swimming pool the breakfasts were absolutely amazing real quality aswell no cheap produce, the only downside was the price of drinks in there which we couldn't afford sadly :( but overall brill place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirisweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the hotels amenities. It is always great to hear when a guest has had a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stopped here one night on our way down to the south coast. We were travelling with our handicapped son and stopped in a double double deluxe room. The room was very large and recently redecorated it was first class. Check in was very good and we were offered all the help we needed. The breakfast was first class and lots to choose from, helped and assisted by excellent staff,

Room Tip: Book on hilton uk in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you found the hotel met your needs and expectations and you had time to enjoy our breakfast offerings during your stay. It certainly has a wide choice accommodating all tastes and preferences.

We look forward to welcoing you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

this hotel was everything you would expect from a hilton hotel. very clean, large rooms, large beds, great facilities. very close to the M1 which is good for travellers. also adjasent to a business park with asda, mcdonalds and plenty food and clothes stores etc...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmstrong86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for taking the tie to complete your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the shops etc close to our location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing