We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but.....”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in Leicester for 4 nights on a mini break as a base from which to explore Leicester..., 3 children and 1 adult. The good points - there is a fab pool and jacuzzi which the children loved and didn't want to get out of; the breakfast was excellent - lots of choice every day and the waiting staff were attentive and helpful and would quickly replenish any items which run out and the chef was happy to cook off menu items if requested; the room was a good size and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very near the junction with the M1 and well signposted. Fosse Park shopping centre is nearby and offers a good range of shops and a food court. The not so good points - parking at £5 per night for hotel guests (although you can avoid this by parking across the road from the hotel or in the car park of the empty office block opposite the hotel); no free internet in bedrooms, limited TV channels - and, bizarrely, no programme guide on the tv - so you had no way to knowing what program was on or coming next! We had 2 double beds in the room - one of the beds has definitely seen better days and was not very comfortable at all - the mattress was too soft and the bed creaked horribly at the slightest movement. The most disappointing part of the stay was the cleanliness of the room - when we arrived we found half eaten muffins in one of the drawers, and a bottle top and discarded hair band under one of the beds - and not very far under the bed either, so it should have been spotted by the cleaning staff! We complained about the muffins in the drawer and one of the housekeepers came up promptly to clean the drawer, but it was still disappointing to find leftover food in the room - not the standard I would expect from a Hilton. There were also water marks on the ceiling - not a major issue but again, not what you would expect to see in a 4 star hotel. Other little annoyances - the alarm clock in the room also decided to start beeping randomly one evening and wouldn't switch off - again, housekeeping responded swiftly - someone came up and, after also failing to stop the annoying beeping, took away the clock and returned later with a replacement clock (set to the wrong time...). Housekeeping in terms of daily cleaning was inconsistent - after our first night none of the toiletries / refreshments we had used were replaced, but for the remaining 3 nights the toiletries and refreshments were topped up each day. Our room was on the 1st floor of the south side of the hotel and there is no lift (although you can request help from a porter if needed). Also, the layout of the hotel meant that in order to get from our room to the pool we had to walk through the main lobby - so if you plan on using the pool a lot and want to do so without putting on a pre and post pool catwalk through the main lobby you should ask for a room in the north side of the hotel... Overall though, a good stay in a pleasant hotel - we got a really good rate for our room and the children were made to feel very welcome. Just not a true 4 star experience....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side if you want to be close to the gym / spa / pool, and ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momma1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us, here at Hilton Leicester. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and that your family enjoyed the hotels facilities. I am sorry to hear of the various housekeeping and maintenance issues encountered during your stay. I have shared this feedback with the relevant managers and have asked them to review and action accordingly. Please be assured this is not our usual standard. I hope these minor faults do not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    533
    305
    151
    87
See reviews for
533
289
49
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here on business. Room looked a bit dated but was comfortable. Buffet menu at dinner was excellent value and food of a good standard. Met the needs for a business trip, wouldn't want to stay there for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_K_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Your feedback regarding the decor of the room has been passed to our Head of Maintenance, to assist with future planning of refurbishment and redecorating. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked up with the Hilton Hotel Leicester using their "Go Leicester, Stay, Play & Explore" Promotion. For £109 per night you get 4 star double, double bed room with breakfast and full use of the hotels gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna.

We were very impressed with the hotel, our room was ground floor, just around the corner from Reception and the restaurant and coffee bar. The even bigger plus was that the swimming pool/gym etc was literally 20 metres at the end of the corridor from our room. Most of the time we were only one of a few in the pool.

Everything was very straight forward, child friendly and easy resulting in an excellent family weekend away. The bonus is that part of the package gives you entry into 3 out of 5 local attractions; National Space Museum, Twycross Zoo, Sniberston Museum, Conkers or a Battlefield attraction.

We used our vouchers for the National Space Museum on the first day - the extra planetarium show which I thought we'd have to pay for as extra came free within the package a saving of £12. On the second day we visited Twycross Zoo - again to our delight express entry using the promotional voucher.

Overall a fantastic weekend on such a great budget amount. Our room was one of the largest that we've stayed in, very clean and with queen sized beds fantastic.

Breakfast was a vast selection from buffett with superb service.

Just a stones throw over the road a massive shopping & food retail park - open till 8 pm so went there for dinner.

The only hiccup was the hotel have charged for parking of £5 where the terms said this would be included as well as the reception staff on check in. The parking is a bit of a nightmare as you need to take a ticket each time you go in but the hotel give you a ticket for going out.

Room Tip: Room 131 - ground floor, around the corner from reception and restaurant but so near the pool and gy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at Hilton Leicester. The Stay, Play and Explore package is exceptional value, and I am glad that you were able to make the most from it. Your comments regarding the car park arrangements have been shared with our Front of House Manager to review and take necessary action accordingly. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Showing it's age, the Hilton is located by the side of M1/M69 junction and so is handy as a stop off point on M1, or between Leicester & Coventry.

Breakfast was good quality and value. Parking charges were reasonable. On site swimming pool is good. The room was OK.

On the down side, wi-fi is very expensive at £15/day (and I couldn't get a 3G signal in my room) and the rooms do not have air-conditioning, which means that you need to sleep with the windows open, by the side of a busy main road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethesuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at Hilton Leicester. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding our wi-fi provision has been shared with the relavant manager for review and assists us with our future planning. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Clean hotel with good sized double double room for all 5 of us (4 plus cot). Excellent breakfast service- staff here very friendly - and a good choice of breakfast food is available. We did not try other hotel dining so cannot comment on that. Good location near to family dining establishments, bowling, cinema and supermarkets/retail park etc It is nice that the Hotel has a pool but sadly we didnt get to use it as last entry in the evening is 7pm for children, if children were allowed in until closing we would have used it every evening so they were disappointed about this. Check in was ok although details about car parking for more than a 1 day stay were a bit vague at first. (£5 per 24hr period or FREE on Stay, Play, Explore) Check out was a real worry as I was nearly charged twice for our stay! I had a bill delivered to my hotel room. Thankfully I had bought all paperwork to say I had paid in full as we were on a Stay, play, Explore break. Staff member was quite patronising in tone and I nearly had to call my bank to prove payment had gone out, she checked with Hilton Honours clerk and they advised her of correct procedure. However, I was surprised that she didnt really apologise for the error. Other than this had a great break visiting Space Centre, Twycross Zoo and Conkers included in the offer plus we paid a visit to Alton Towers too! I would visit this hotel again and based on this experience would visit other Hilton hotels too.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor north side near end of the building, quite a walk to reception/breakfast from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof5-030510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback after your recent stay at Hilton Leicester. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had time to use the leisure facilities. Certainly our breakfast choice gives a full range of items to choose from and sets you up for a busy day ahead. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Ideally located for the Leicestershire area. Staff are pleasant. I was disappointed on a number of points. Charging parking for a guest. Really! Asked for a king size bed and given a queen. As with another supposedly 4 star Hilton (Blackpool) the food choice was surprisingly limited. Still it meant I got to try a local restaurant which was superb (Mem Sab - see review). Doubt if I would stay here again given the number of negatives outweighing the positives.

Room Tip: They only offer Queen size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnM9693YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the timne to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback as it helps us plan for the future. taking into account what our guests have previously said. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant Head of Departments for consideration and reflection. Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights as I was away with work. I had a lovely double double room with 2 huge double beds which were so comfortable that I had trouble getting out of them each morning!
The room was spacious, cool and had lots of storage along with a good sized bathroom.
I made use of the gym, pool and steam room and sauna and thoroughly enjoyed them.
Breakfasts are to die for- plenty of tasty choices and very friendly breakfast staff who would sit you down and pour you freshly squeezed juice.
All in all an excellent hotel for a very comfortbale stay and I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for posting your commetns on Trip Advisor. As always it is great to hear that you had a relaxing weekend break, and had a chance to enjoy all the hotels facilities. Certainly the breakfast sets you up for the day - especially if heading to Alton Towers!!! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing