We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A very average hotel, well below my expectations of a Hilton.

There were 2 doors in my room that led to the adjoining rooms on either side. They were locked of course but nonetheless it was disconcerting and very noisy.

The iron was dirty and stained my shirt. Shower was in the bath, without any anti-slip mat or surface which meant it was very dangerous.

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't have doors leading to the next room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was sorry to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations and have shared your comments with the relevant Heads of Department so that we can take the necessary action to prevent reoccurenace.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were staying in Leicester and it was hard to book 1 room for 3 adults and 1 child. In every other hotel we had to book 2 rooms for 3 adults but not in the Hilton. We booked a Double Doule Deuxe Room, it was a little more expensive but it is well worth it. The room itself is fairly big, with a big bathroom and the extras of bottles of water, wine and crisps all included in the price. When challenging the hotel staff I asked to change from red wine in the basket to white wine.....on ringing the reception they promptly changed the red for white wine.....very impressed. Anything I queried they had an adequate answer! After staying in alternate hotels in the area before I will not ever go back to these I think the Hilton is my choice of stay:)

Room Tip: Very good hotel will go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkavanagh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you and your family were very well catered for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and was not impressed and went back to using the Holiday Inn, in the city centre. My advice, stay at the Holiday Inn.

I was disappointed by the attitude of the staff, and the quality of the room. The hotel is a sprawl and you have a long walk to your room. I was on the first floor with a heavy case and was directed via the stairs, I later found a lift close to my room.

The staff did not engage and were not particularly friendly. I ate in the bar, the food was OK but the bar lacked ambience and had on TV showing a football match at a deafening volume with only about six people actually interested. Although the staff seemed more interested in that than they did in serving.

The room had an electric heater which had been left off, it was literally freezing outside and the heater had been left off.

Not a hotel worthy of the Hilton brand!

I have also stayed at the Marriott which is within the same locality as the Hilton, if you need to stay in that area of Leicester for easy access to the motorways, pay a little bit more and stay in the Marriott, it is a much better hotel.

Room Tip: Close to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to read that you stay did not meet your expectations. I have shared you feedback with our relevant Managers, so that they may investigate further and ensure no future repetitions. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, very good value rooms and a brilliant health club (I had the whole thing to myself for half an hour as well).

However, it is (as oyu would expect) very expensive place to eat - and that is a so-so experience as the food is nothing special and the menu limited. Drink also very pricey. But to charge you for parking your car is a real cheek. The hotel is by the motorway, way out of town and a very good walk from anything other than a McDonalds.

It has a Costa inside (great)...but to give you an idea, 2 coffees there were£1.50 more more than 3 sausage butties and 2 coffees at the cafe we stopped at later than day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the Food and Beverage costs have been shared with the Food and Beverage Manager to further review. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed on a special offer Friday to Sunday 10th March 2013.
Getting to the hotel on a Friday pm was rather hair-raising from the M69: better signage please.
Reception staff superb. Meal Friday night excellence; but spoiled by the silly prices in the bar and coffee lounge. Breakfast wonderful. Good nights sleep in comfortable beds; room overlooked the courtyard.
A lot of hotel groups could copy the attention given to guests by the well trained Hilton staff.
Great long corridors - please, a sign 'to reception'.
Stayed here before and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decamville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was well looked after by our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013


A lot of traffic noise from the A5460. my room was opposite the Fosse Park roundabout. Measured the noise level as 55-61dB with my iPhone. The window would only open about half an inch, so could be warm in summer. No a/c in room, just an electric heater on the wall. No heating in bathroom, and shower was almost cold.

No wifi signal in room. Checked on three devices.

Couldn't find a remote control for the TV.

There is no lift, so could be a problem if lots of luggage.

Had to ask for milk for the coffee at breakfast. Good breakfast selection.

£5 overnight charge for car park. The hotel is on a complex one-way gyratory system, so allow extra driving time when planning a journey.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvukwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay had not met your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the relevant Heads of Department to further investigate and ensure no future repetitions. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We arrived quite late. The reception was fine - usual Hilton. The corridors & room felt quite tired. The sofa was faded, the bathroom was old - all ok but not quite what I was expecting. As it was late we went straight down to the bar to get some food and a drink. Omelette & chips for my son £14!
The mattress on my bed had seen better days - much better days. It was sagging on both sides, lumpy and hard. No memory foam topper is going to hide that! I've had a better night's sleep in a £29 travel lodge. My husband mentioned it to reception but there was no response. Also £5 for parking is just a joke. I can't comment about the rest of the facilities as we didn't use them - we were only there for an overnight stay and as it turned out, thank goodness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YLAandIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the relevant managers to investigate further and take the neccessary remedial action to prevent reoccurence. Thank you agin for giving us your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
948 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £64 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing