We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was a good price for one night via late rooms and room 130, on the ground floor, was very quiet, no noise intruding from the very busy roads which run past this Hilton just off Jct21 of the M1. There was either a problem with the drains or the bathroom had been cleaned with a dirty cloth as the room smelled very musty. The carpet could have done with a good clean too. The room was very spacious and the shower was very efficient. Reception were very good at providing oodles of tea bags and milk when asked.

So I rated it as average as it was, for a Hilton....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Pullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with the Head Housekeeper to investigate further and take remedial action.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    503
    288
    146
    79
See reviews for
485
277
46
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hotel itself was very nice, staff friendly & helpful etc but let down by food quality. Excellent range at breakfast but not very hot, bar snacks/lounge menu was 'ok' but issues with kids meals. Pool area was nice, though cold which meant the kids couldn't stay in long cos they were shivering. Changing room really cold & floor was wet, hairy (eurgh!) and FREEZING!! As for the beds - never slept so badly anywhere, ever! Beds really uncomfortable, mattresses not at all supportive - kids were OK but we both spent the weekend with aching backs & couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your feedback with the relevant Heads of Department to investigate further and take rmedial action. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at hotel 28th / 29th December 2013. Hotel foyer very welcoming looked impressive, however behind this the hotel looked tired. Corridors required repainting, stairway carpets looked in need of a good hoovering. Receptionist not the most friendliest, failed to ask if we required newspaper or wake up call. Leisure centre was good but attendants failed to display health and safety notice on wet floors. Good Breakfast. Lot of road noise in front bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion . I have shared your feedback with our relevant Heads of Department to investigate further and to take remedial action. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Good hotel with balance of stay relaxing and pleasurable. Being an out of town hotel the £5 per night parking seems 'wrong' but I suppose they would add it to room charge otherwise? Useful stop with good pool and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hereward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Came to this hotel for a special 2 year anniversary with my partner. Was happy with my arrival and check in. We paid for the room and breakfast.

When we arrived at the room we were happy to find a double bed/flat screen/sofa and the usual. However we were disheartened to find that the sofa had been made into a double bed. We were unsure what was going on. The double bed was very comfy though and the TV worked.

When I went for a shower, I found that the handle didn't turn and therefore could not have a shower. Not wanting a bath as the bath did not look clean. I had to pass. The sink was not in the bathroom but just outside of it. A very good idea in my opinion. However we could only just open the door in the bathroom..

Breakfast was yummy. A lot to choose from and catered for special dietary requirements.

Didn't have an evening meal in the hotel so cannot comment on that food. However, they were happy with us bringing our own food into the hotel. So if it is a little bit expensive, there is a pizza hut down the road!

Shopping close by, Sainsbury across the road and a cinema/bowling just down the road. Found it confusing at first to get back to the hotel from Sainsbury has there was a lot of traffic work going on. One of the journeys on the way back another couple from the hotel asked which way it was!!

Overall, we enjoyed the stay, but it was nothing special and probably wouldn't recommend unless you just want the basic shelter and breakfast.

Must admit though, after our stay, I filled in a survey and explained our problems that we encountered and we got an apology and they said they would fix the shower.

Maybe it was just the room we were put in...

Room Tip: Specify well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyOnElmStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and again apologise for the maintenance issue encountered during your stay. Thank you again for your comments, I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had a great time here we used the hotel to stop in after my daughters hen night in Leicester in 2012. The rooms were very spacious the beds were super and the pillows were fantasticly soft. The breakfast in the morning was also first class everything you could wish for.Maz Nuneaton

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel as one would expect was to a high standard and the Food, Service and Organisation the same, This was a busuiness trip with an organised conference and a few days before, an Email popped up wchich offered

Double Hilton Deluxe, 28m²/301sq.ft
•This room has enhanced toiletries, dual power shower, a 32" flat panel TV for sitting back and watching, with fruit, chocolate, and a bottle of wine to unwind to during your stay.
•Keep connected with available high speed internet.

All for £10 what a bargain, or so I thought?

Big Room, check,excellent and the office space to work was worth it alone.
Dual Power Shower, NO
Big TV, check excellent
Chocolate and Wine NO
Internet, now I stupidly thought that the above meant it was incuded, reception informed me with a superior smirk that it was not so I thought bugger the wine if she is going to laugh at me again.

Now it did not really detract from a good stay and a well organised Conference and Dinner, but why make these offers if they are not available or misleading? I could justify the upgrade if it saved on Internet for instance.

If it just for a bigger room which was in my case a bonus and well used then say so....

Room Tip: A room to the back of the hotel may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with the team to review and ensure no future repetitions. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing