We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, rude staff, rooms falling to pieces, DON'T STAY!”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here following playing a concert with the band, upon check in the staff were rude and unhelpful, and after travelling for hours and being very tired our rooms were dirty, each of our three rooms had decrepit bathrooms with tiles cracked, broken bath overflows hanging down, mould on all the shower handles, when we complained we were met with rudeness and offered no alternative, but as it was so late we all just went to bed. Breakfast was dire too, scrambled eggs were left so long they had congealed! staff rude AGAIN, none of the staff acted as if they wanted to be there at all and were very dismissive of customers,....and for £139 per room!!!, a Premier Inn would have seemed luxurious at half the price!...following this we stayed at The Hilton on Deansgate in Manchester,...and what a difference, amazing Hotel, amazing staff, amazing rooms,...nothing was too much trouble,...so please Hilton send someone from Manchester down to Leicester and read them the riot act as this hotel is a very very poor reflection on your brand, and for anyone else looking for a place to stay in the Leicester area, ess than a mile away is the Marriott and it makes the Hilton look like a prison.

Room Tip: Book the Marriott less than a mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear that your stay was not to our usual high level of service, and apologise for the obvious service shortfalls.

I have shared your feedback with both our Head Housekeeper and Front Office Manager to further investigate and review.

May I thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed in the Hilton on 20th & 21st January. A nice hotel and room was very spacious - my room was in the newer wing of the hotel and it was quite a distance to walk to the restaurant. I do however object to the fact that you have to pay to park the car- £5.00 per night, don't expect this from a top brand hotel and this needs to be reviewed. Wifi is also a rip off - £15.00 per night, totally unacceptable and I used my mobile phone to tether the signal to the ipad - worked a treat!

The traffic is a nightmare around fosse park as there are a lot of road works currently being carried out - even the satnav had difficulty finding the hotel.

Overall a good stay and would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank redspelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor after your recent stay.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

However, with regards to our parking charges, when we introduced them in 2005, it was a conscious decision by the management team at Hilton Leicester, to show honesty to our guests and not hide the car parking charge in our room rates. However, your comments have been passed onto our management team for future review.

With our wifi provision, our pricing of this service is set centrally and whilst we have no influence locally, we will share your feedback for inclusion in future reviews. However, to assist our guests we do provide complimentary wifi access in all our public areas.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed In August however the room had a flickering light and despite reporting the fault it remained unfixed. We were then offered a free nights stay, dinner and breakfast however they dont reply to emails!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

May I apologise for the lack of response to your e-mails, but unfortunately we have no record of you trying to contact us at the e-mail address provided, for making the return reservation.

The Hotel's Administrator will try contacting you, to make the neccessary arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great Hotel, great facilities but blown out over crazy bar prices, would not, indeed could not hold any more corporate events there due to bare prices, real shame. I have no idea why the Hotel would be so silly to put users off like this but it is a reall bad mark .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank your for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with our bar prices and have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager. Our prices are set centrally, and unfortunately canot be influenced at local level, but all feedbak we recieve we share with Head Office for future reviews.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was a good price for one night via late rooms and room 130, on the ground floor, was very quiet, no noise intruding from the very busy roads which run past this Hilton just off Jct21 of the M1. There was either a problem with the drains or the bathroom had been cleaned with a dirty cloth as the room smelled very musty. The carpet could have done with a good clean too. The room was very spacious and the shower was very efficient. Reception were very good at providing oodles of tea bags and milk when asked.

So I rated it as average as it was, for a Hilton....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Pullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with the Head Housekeeper to investigate further and take remedial action.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hotel itself was very nice, staff friendly & helpful etc but let down by food quality. Excellent range at breakfast but not very hot, bar snacks/lounge menu was 'ok' but issues with kids meals. Pool area was nice, though cold which meant the kids couldn't stay in long cos they were shivering. Changing room really cold & floor was wet, hairy (eurgh!) and FREEZING!! As for the beds - never slept so badly anywhere, ever! Beds really uncomfortable, mattresses not at all supportive - kids were OK but we both spent the weekend with aching backs & couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your feedback with the relevant Heads of Department to investigate further and take rmedial action. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at hotel 28th / 29th December 2013. Hotel foyer very welcoming looked impressive, however behind this the hotel looked tired. Corridors required repainting, stairway carpets looked in need of a good hoovering. Receptionist not the most friendliest, failed to ask if we required newspaper or wake up call. Leisure centre was good but attendants failed to display health and safety notice on wet floors. Good Breakfast. Lot of road noise in front bedrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion . I have shared your feedback with our relevant Heads of Department to investigate further and to take remedial action. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
951 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing