We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extras, extras, extras”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extras, extras, extras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A perfectly adequate hotel, but all the extras that get added to the bill are not welcome. £5 for room service, £5 to park my car and £14.99 to get ont he internet. Will they be charging for air and electricity next?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Norfolknproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been noted and shared with our management team. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    510
    294
    146
    80
See reviews for
505
280
46
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked this hotel last November for a break to visit our son who is at uni in Leicester. We got a very good rate and I considered this to be excellent value for money.

The hotel was slightly tired but offered the usual range of facilities expected from a large hotel. My husband collected our son and we had a few drinks in the bar area before eating out in Leicester. The air conditioner in the bar was fierce and slightly too cold to linger for long.

our room was clean and warm, bit of a trek from reception but very quiet. No noise at all.

Breakfast was very good. However the coffee was cold, we told the coffee pots get filled at 6.30am . On request a fresh pot was quickly supplied. We both agreed the quality of the breakfast food was very good, nice sausages and bacon. My husband was taken with the veggie sausages and he is a confirmed meat eater.

Annoying to have to pay for parking .

Would defo visit a Hilton hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell100Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the relevant managers so that they may review them with their teams and ensure no future repetition.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break . Hiltons are a corporate brand and there is something comforting about knowing what you will get. Lovely rooms , good breakfast and pleasant staff. Job Done. The hotel is close to Fosse Park shopping park and about 15mins to the City Centre by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Satisfaction and Loyalty Tracking Survey after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opporutnity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed with two other couples for a family get together with the cousins. Spent loads of time in the pool and the restaurant was well organised. Food was delicious and service was always efficient and courteous. Great visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This Hilton unfortunately did not live up to its name.

The room was small, minimalist and cheaply decorated with little character. The phone must be from the 70s. No fridge or minibar...or...biscuits. WiFi cost is ridiculously extortionate and limited sessions.

Breakfast arrived cold two days in a row. Eggs were greasy and overdone. Lunch was cold as well. As if a £5 tray charge was not enough they take a random £6 supplement.

Service was slow and sloppy. Tea cups and spoons were not clean. Tray was left in the hall over four hours with room rubbish piled on top. Waited 15min for 3 people to sort the dinner bill, finally went to till.

The place is packed with kids on weekends so don't go for a quiet couple's getaway.

The fitness room was nice and pool but too busy with kids to enjoy.

I could not help feeling that we paid for the name but didn't get the experience. That's not good value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ralcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry that your expetations were not met on this occasion and apologise for the service shortfall. I have shared your feedback with the relevant managers to further review and take the necessary action to prevent reoccurrence. Thank you for bringing you feedback to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely room and great breakfast. For our friends hen party we were really happy with a great bargain we snapped up on lastminute. Brilliant Spa, and the beautician was lovely! Great experience, lovely pool and sauna. Definately would retutrn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. i was delighted to hear that you and your friends had had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in Leicester on business and turned it into a 4 day family holiday with stay play and explore. The hotel was lovely, rooms were clean and comfortable (best nights sleep I've had in a hotel room in years). Staff were friendly the breakfast was great. Staff were extra helpful to our children and there were lots of small child friendly touches such as peanut butter at breakfast. Unfortunately, this did not extend to the leisure club - for us this is an important part of a family holiday. Children only allowed into the leisure club Mon - Thu first thing till 7pm. We left our stay play and explore attraction early to use pool and be out by 7. There were a number of problems:- 1) reception staff were rude. 2) Lack of space in reception area due to the gym facilities being in the same room. (a child was knocked over by another customer using gym as pathway to changing room is only approx 20inches wide - not enough for a parent and toddler to get through) 3) Pool busy - 3 lanes, 1 for lessons (2 people in), 1 for lane swimming (2 people in), third one full of families some trying to play, others trying to swim, also slow lane swimmers trying to go up and down. Not enough space left. 4) staff were rude and asked families to stay out of way of club members including the slow lane swimmers who barged on through. 5) I asked the staff when the lane arrangement finished - was told 7.30 but all brats must be out by then as it is for the adults to relax. 6) Club members pushed my toddler out of way in the pool - he got ducked under the water and panicked. Member then complained to staff who told us off (without checking what the problem was) - went as far as shouting at us to keep the noise down. 7) There is one family changing room for lots of families - so when we left after 10 minutes we had to wait in a cold hallway waiting for 2 families in front of us to finish. Staff would not provide extra towels to keep children warm when we were waiting, our clothes and towels were in a locker inside the single family room. 8) Leisure club was not interested in our complaints. I was basically told to b****** off when I asked for the manager. As my children were cold and in tears I opted not to pursue matters further. The rest of the hotel and staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful, and were great with the kids, but due to the leisure club I would never bring my family back here. Since swimming is such a big deal in a family holiday we became day members at the leisure club of an adjacent hotel in the next 2 days - where we were welcomed. I would suggest that in school holidays and weekends there is an hour set aside in the evening where families are welcomed, without lanes etc. I would also suggest that this is a little later - most attractions shut at 5pm, and it takes until 6 / 6.30 to get back to the hotel. Perhaps 6.30 or 7pm start so families could make the most of the day. If this was well publicised then the impact on the other leisure club members would be minimal - they could choose to avoid this hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Whilst I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us, I was sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to our Health Club. Your feedback has been shared with the Club Manager to further review.

Thank you again for your feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing