We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family break”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Family break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel room was lovely. Dinner menu was restricted - not very inspiring and would not eat there again. Heinz soup offered on the children's menu. Breakfast was excellent though. Pool was nice but a real jobsworth policing it who wouldn't let flip flops in the area and confiscated an inflatable ball even though it was causing no trouble. We did not feel welcome. Hotel difficult to access from the road - signage unclear. Didn't realise it would sit in the middle of busy roads.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I have shared your feedback with our team so that we may learn from your experience.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    510
    294
    146
    81
See reviews for
505
280
46
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The design and layout of this Hilton is not as guest friendly as more recent builds particularly in terms of soundproofing and absence of areas such as an executive lounge. The corridor traffic is noisy too. Someone's tv was blaring away until nearly 1 am and there were sounds like elephants traipsing around until 2 am.(Sorry elephants)

There were other issues related to the room facilities. The room classed as deluxe did not have slippers or towelling robe either in the bathroom or wardrobe. The wake up call never materialised. Reception had to be reminded in person about the bottles of water. Apparently as a gold member there was to be a goody bag?

Individually the staff are very pleasant and friendly but seem to lack forethought, responding to situations rather than anticipating them. I did wonder about the quality of their management team as I have stayed in other Hiltons where management albeit very discreet were more visible and the staff work as effective teams calmly and effectively.

Room Tip: Do not bother with deluxe as it not worth the extra £20 offered. As a gold member I had a free upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion, and apologise for the obvious service shortfall.

Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments to address the issues you have raised and to ensure we learn from your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Ok this is a reasonable value hotel with a big but. The room I had 145 is a deluxe, so room ok, the goody basket, being gold card member also good, the dinner also good. Would I stay in this room again? no chance. The adjoining door made it silly loud, no really, if I want someone else's tv program all night I will sit in their lounge! I may as well have. While I'm on it.. Oh! the heat. No air con - manual window only - ok normally, but the blast of delicious kitchen vent makes this also a no go. Sorry hilton, I have tons of points and paid top whack, you really must have known these tiny details - this is not 'deluxe' even at the price, if not you do now, and so does everyone else. Rethink needed, sort the kitchen vents, we really don't want rump steak smells at 2am, air con? Expensive, but really an expectation these days, limit tv volume in adjoining rooms and finally if u offer 'deluxe' ensure no one can level these critique again. For you ladies and gents - take the basic room and ask for one on the opposite side of the hotel to 145 - alternative? Crowne plaza.... Sorry hilton

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bear12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with our team, so that we may learn from your experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night, the rooms were ok but tired. There is no executive lounge and the parking costs £5 even though there are only limited public transport nearby. The staff were good, however the breakfast was very poor. I would try the Marriott nearby next time, it looked newer.

However it was convenient from the motorway (M1)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion and your feedback has been shared with our team to learn from your experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Although I wasn't told when checking-in, there is now an upgrade package that includes wi-fi, parking, water and wine which I discovered on the following morning. After stripping back some of the previous plusses such as shortbread in your room and if you are a silver member, daily water as well as cushions and bed cover in the bedrooms it was heartening to discover this. On the first day water and wine didn't appear and a small black mark goes to the receptionist who explained it away by saying they were very busy because of a previous day electricity black-out. I pointed out that was an excuse and she was quite unhappy with me. Other than that all the resident staff are excellent and show great care and attention to their guests. As a note to the corporate managers of the Hilton brand I have just returned from a weekend break at the small and private Fourseasons Hotel in St Fillans in Perthshire and am pleased to report that they provide home made shortbread for the arrival of guests. Time management services committee whether in the UK or the US start considering how to improve the experience of guests using Hilton Hotels.

Room Tip: Corridor on opposite side to main road is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_the_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you welcome the new addition of our business upgrade, to the arrange of facilties we are able to offer and provide for our guests. It is proofing to be very popular and offers great value to our business guest. I was however, disappointed to hear that the package in its entirety had not been delivered on this occasion, a matter that I have raised with the Front Office Manager to investigate further. May I thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. It looks old.
Rooms are very dated. No frills. Has everything I would expect from a budget hotel.
No water in room. No WIFI, unless you pay £15 per night!
Food in the restaurant was poor enough. Asked for a medium rib eye steak, got a sirloin, was changed to rib eye but was very well done.
Could not be bothered to wait any longer so I ate it.
Would not come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion and apologise for the service shortfall. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments so that we may learn from your experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Nice clean spacious room Excellent food, breakfast very good and lots of choice. Friendly staff Internet access in room very expensive at £15/day Drinks and bar food expensive Selection of drinks in room limited-no decaf tea Plenty of parking spaces

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for tkaing the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay especailly our Hilton breakfast. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing